Autopsy Round 13 = Melbourne 66-62 Collingwood

You're always bound to have these games. Nothing went right. Handpasses weren't hitting properly affecting our running game.
Poor decison making. No flow between midfield and forwards. Forwards not retaining the footy. Too many players down.

I would have played Carmichael ahead of Lipinski. I think he needed a run in the VFL.

Lipinski's performance today was infinitely better than anyone from the seconds would have been, and he now has a game in the seniors under his belt.

"Infinitely better than anyone"?

Hard to discuss with people who can't accept that life isn't black/white or on/off./ I get what you mean -- it was a better bet.
It's not an issue at all. We don't have anyone in the VFL who deserves a spot ahead of Lipinski, who played pretty well today, better than McInnes and Harrison who have been brought in ahead of our other VFL players.

It is an issue otherwise we wouldn't be discussing it. And it's not just me who has suggested this.

You're always bound to have these games. Nothing went right. Handpasses weren't hitting properly affecting our running game.
Poor decison making. No flow between midfield and forwards. Forwards not retaining the footy. Too many players down.

I would have played Carmichael ahead of Lipinski. I think he needed a run in the VFL.
Carmy is barely vfl level. Can’t kick or handball at vfl level.

Lipinsky was one of our more effective players and will be even better for the run after such an intense game.

Can’t believe Salims rib punch on HH was not commented on, and missed.
Silvagni copped a similar hit and missed with broken ribs, but culprit, who I can’t recall got cited and suspended.
Yep, if it's not cited it will prove the influence of media and commentators in highlighting incidents to the detriment of equality. Can absolutely guarantee that if that was someone like DeGoey punching it would be on every feed in the AFL universe.

Mate did you watch the VFL yesterday? Carmichael was horrible, his disposal by both hand and foot is sub par even at the lower level.
He’s no good, regardless of what his overall numbers might say.

We're discussing it because you think it's an issue. I disagree.

I'm not sure that's what issue means. Let me check. Ah here's the dictionary. You think it's an issue, you just don't think it's important, which is exactly what I said in my comment before. Thanks from agreeing with me then.

issue | an important topic or problem for debate or discussion: the issue of racism | raising awareness of environmental issues.

I'd be playing him back pocket. I don't think he's the footy smarts for anywhere else at this stage of his career.
Not a fan? Leading up to his draft, he was hyped as an exciting prospect by the club and this online community.

Full credit to the Dees, defensively they crushed us around the ground and played the game on their terms. Our smalls had no impact while May, Lever and Salem rejected the majority of our forward entries.

I think we, along with them are clearly the best 2 sides in it going into the bye. When we are back to full strength as are they, it'll be a hell of a final.
They were very tough and physical and were the better team today, but a loss had to come and today was a "good loss" as we were still in it with 30 seconds to go and had a number of tired. flat looking boys out there, partly due to the Dee's enormous pressure. But how many times can you be up for yet another blockbuster when you have been up for a year or more? It was Melbourne's grand final as it so often is when they play us. They had a point to prove after recent losses and for them anything over 50 k will set their adrenalin flowing.

We were missing better quality and we learned a bit about a player or two. AJ got exposed again in the heat of a very intense, physical game. I think McStay is an automatic in as soon as he is ready to play. We are in desperate need of a second tall forward to help Checkers as well as having Coxy push forward. McStay will provide more of a physical presence.

I'm not sure that's what issue means. Let me check. Ah here's the dictionary. You think it's an issue, you just don't think it's important, which is exactly what I said in my comment before. Thanks from agreeing with me then.

issue | an important topic or problem for debate or discussion: the issue of racism | raising awareness of environmental issues.
Nope. I disagree it's an issue at all, don't think we should be talking about it and would not be if you hadn't brought it up. Not an issue.

Mate did you watch the VFL yesterday? Carmichael was horrible, his disposal by both hand and foot is sub par even at the lower level.
He’s no good, regardless of what his overall numbers might say.
Yeah I know. I do think there are some players who just play better in the seniors. He was handy last season, and with added fitness, I think he may have something to offer. But, I'm probably just clutching.

We hadn’t had this issue of being unable to find an outlet from D50 since the Brisbane game. That time it made sense; we didn’t have any talls… well Frampton but he was still playing in defence and not ruck at the time, and McStay was rucking.

Ominous that we couldn’t take a mark against Melbourne. Surely you kick to the wing that Gawn isn’t on. But even then, our talls didn’t seem very tall.

We actually looked like we were all duck or no dinner today. There was no possession game, no second gear to drop back to.

Never like to see the black & white lose a game but I'll cop this one.

The Dees played out of their skins. They were so desperate today, more desperate than we probably expected. Jack Viney played the game of his life just to prove the point. They set themselves for this and delivered the effort. Congrats to them, I reckon they just had to do it this time for Neil. Happy for him today, the man just needs a win, such a gutsy bloke going through what he is going through in the public light. Keep fighting the fight mate!

To our boys, they just looked a bit tired, not quite up for the fight today to be honest. The Dees should have put us away but left the door open and we ALMOST walked through. But to have stolen that game would have been an injustice.

I'm ok with dropping this one. We needed a loss and going into the bye off that will be good for the group, Keep us grounded!

We live to fight another day. We are 11-2 on top of the ladder. Who would have taken that at the start of the season? I would have locked that in.

All roads to a flag are bumpy and this was a pot hole in the road we ran in to. We will recover, we will get better and we will win the flag this season. We are the best team, we just need to get to September in good health and the rest of the comp can fight for the bridesmaid bouquet.

Floreat Pica!

Some talk that Melbourne’s goal kicking played a part in the close margin. While that’s true our field kicking was also off and similarly impacted on the outcome/margin.

You forgot to mention every single bounce took a Melbourne break and fell straight into their arms. Arse beats class

Autopsy Round 13 = Melbourne 66-62 Collingwood