Preview Round 16, 2023: West Coast v St.Kilda - Optus Stadium, Sunday 2nd July, 4:40PM AEST *WILKIE 100TH*

Who Wins?

• Eagles

Votes: 16 29.6%
  • Saints

Votes: 38 70.4%

Dunno about that mate. 3 out of 10 in a side that wasn't playing finals.

He's probably worth half of that. I'd keep him as depth on 300 odd a year, otherwise ship him off. Billings and Gresham probably over a mill between them free up some space for actual talent.
Mowman was arguing that he wasnt/isnt worth anything due to no having takers in free agency back in 2021. I pointed out he was wrong due to the extenuating circumstances of the time and that his salary demands to move would have been too high for other clubs to fit him in so he stayed. He would still be on 500k a year roughly which is about right for a player who isnt in that true A grade bracket but still plays good football when fit, which a LOT of people here are purposely ignoring to follow an echo chamber.

Steely came back 4 weeks after his broken bone, Jeremy Howe has no right to be on an AFL football field after his broken bone injury. So many examples of players, especially very experienced and seasoned high DP picks coming straight back into the seniors after serious injury, especially when their team is in finals contention.

Jack is gone.
Billings is contracted until 2025, I don't think he's gone at all, more likely they're trying to get his body right as he has barely played for two years.

I checked the player stats for all of Sandy's games, it turns out Billings has played 6 games at Sandy this season, Rounds 5,7,8,9,10 and 14.
I thought i'd seen him play more than once this season.
I meant one game after his last hamstring

Mowman was arguing that he wasnt/isnt worth anything due to no having takers in free agency back in 2021. I pointed out he was wrong due to the extenuating circumstances of the time and that his salary demands to move would have been too high for other clubs to fit him in so he stayed. He would still be on 500k a year roughly which is about right for a player who isnt in that true A grade bracket but still plays good football when fit, which a LOT of people here are purposely ignoring to follow an echo chamber.
Played zero games this year and 8 games last year when was he last fit and when was the last time he played good football?

Couple of good games early 2021 ?

Yeah yeah it’s an echo chamber because people have different opinions then yours

The team has been stale for months. Need to mix it up

Out: Byrnes, Steele, Philipou, Paton
In: Billings, Bytel, Sharman, Heath

B: Stocker, Howard, Wilkie
HB: NWM, Battle, Sinclair
C: Hill, Owens, Wood
HF: Billings, Sharman, Higgins
F: Butler, King, Caminiti

Foll: Marshall, Crouch, Gresham
Int: Windhager, Webster, Bytel, Heath
Sub: Peris

Of course we'll probably just get Seb back in for Paton as the only change.

The team has been stale for months. Need to mix it up

Out: Byrnes, Steele, Philipou, Paton
In: Billings, Bytel, Sharman, Heath

B: Stocker, Howard, Wilkie
HB: NWM, Battle, Sinclair
C: Hill, Owens, Wood
HF: Billings, Sharman, Higgins
F: Butler, King, Caminiti

Foll: Marshall, Crouch, Gresham
Int: Windhager, Webster, Bytel, Heath
Sub: Peris

Of course we'll probably just get Seb back in for Paton as the only change.
1905149559iris-dilating-gif.gif

Steely came back 4 weeks after his broken bone, Jeremy Howe has no right to be on an AFL football field after his broken bone injury. So many examples of players, especially very experienced and seasoned high DP picks coming straight back into the seniors after serious injury, especially when their team is in finals contention.

Jack is gone.
1687812740000.jpeg

Contracted.

Dunno about that mate. 3 out of 10 in a side that wasn't playing finals.

He's probably worth half of that. I'd keep him as depth on 300 odd a year, otherwise ship him off. Billings and Gresham probably over a mill between them free up some space for actual talent.
If only it was that easy, how’s that worked out for us so far. Gresham is out the door, gets us a pick and will free up cap space, let see how we use it.

How's what worked for us? Letting those two go would net us over a mill in cap space. If we get a couple of picks from it then great. Enough money to bring over a quality mid at another club and continue building through the draft

Jack is gone.

I didn't realise that Howe was in our squad. Lyon has been saying he wants players to do a mini preseason before coming back in after long lay-offs. If it makes you feel better to say he's gone, go for it. You said the same thing about Sharman though.

I'm getting biggggg North Melbourne game vibes here haha
Expected win by some margin = shite the bed saints footy style

I reckon we'll be disappointed no matter what happens. Our midfield looks worse than theirs, they are at home and all their effort, courage and pride has been questioned. They are not going to roll over as easy this week. I think we should win but anyone hoping for a 100 point plus win might be disappointed.

How's what worked for us? Letting those two go would net us over a mill in cap space. If we get a couple of picks from it then great. Enough money to bring over a quality mid at another club and continue building through the draft

That's so cute, I love how you think we can find and attract talent. We'd just over-pay a new bunch of kids who get lazy being the okay players in a shit side and the same shit will be on repeat....but some old half arsed HBF that needs a retirement package now that their knees are shot will come in to use all the salary cap but provide leadership and we had to use the money anyway....

We need to keep sprinkling glitter on this turd and hope that enough of a crust builds up that the smell gets contained. At the moment our only plan out is Tom DeKoning who would be like buying a jar of pickled fish to drown out the smell.

Seriously though if your depth is Jack Billings quality you are going okay. I'd love to see what he can do under Rossy. He is a class player as frustrating as he's been.
should be HFF
Remember that year he was getting shots on goal and kicked 2 goal 9 or something along those lines

I’d trade him but prob worth minimal
Had a bad run with the body too
Hopefully we see him in the back half of the year, who comes out for him though I have no idea

should be HFF
Remember that year he was getting shots on goal and kicked 2 goal 9 or something along those lines

I’d trade him but prob worth minimal
Had a bad run with the body too
Hopefully we see him in the back half of the year, who comes out for him though I have no idea

My feeling is his value is zero so might as well try to get him in and see what he can do. He either steps up under Lyon or he flops and gets delisted. At the moment he's probably not getting anything a trade.

Billings is best 22 and contracted on decent money, I doubt we’re getting anything other than cap space out of moving him on maybe we even end up paying part of his contract. Then of course you have to replace his value with a chump change pick, wins against replacement ? What are the chances of bringing in a better player on the same or less coin or drafting one with a late pick?

Gresham is a different case because he’s on plenty, out of contract and due to being a restricted free agent will more than likely earn us decent compensation. It’s questionable if it makes us a better side depending on who we can attract to the club etc but at least there’s a chance and if he wants out it’s out of our control unless we match any offer.

We haven’t done very well out of moving on guys in the past with the free up cap space and get a pick logic. It’s sound enough if you move the right player for the right price and have a target that improves you already over the line. I’m sure someone will remind me but I can’t think of st Kilda managing to do that.

That’s the most important thing if we move Gresh and say Billing’s

How we use it , the picks and the money

If we move on those 2 and bring in Flanders and another similar type player

List needs a shake up imo

We just have to take our 1st round pick to the draft