Review Round 2 versus Richmond, the autopsy

It appears because we have so many midfielders we think that's where the game should be played.
Many times we didn't have anyone at either end of the field.
This created issues when we had possession and didn't have anyone to kick to - Fas got pinged in one instance and then bombed it to them on another.
We all know what happens up the other end!

It appears because we have so many midfielders we think that's where the game should be played.
Many times we didn't have anyone at either end of the field.
This created issues when we had possession and didn't have anyone to kick to - Fas got pinged in one instance and then bombed it to them on another.
We all know what happens up the other end!

Fas had options and if he took them we were out the back into space and then likely open goal.

Broomhead was about 15m in space away from Rance towards our goal on the wing, Faz looked at him and then ignored the option.

Instead went the "im a star and will do it all myself route" and got nailed by Rance when he tried back pedalling to draw him in then failed to step him.

If he pops a simple handball over the top, Broomhead had space to run into. Also had a another pie that had got goal side of his opponent at the edge of the centre square, who no doubt would of been an option for Broomhead had he received it.

Faz butchered a couple of entries into the f50, some occasions it looked like he was actually kicking to Rance. He even had time, looked then still kicked a nice looking low pass into the f50 to yep Rance.

Who was standing there guarding space when Faz first looked. /facepalm

I have been a pretty harsh critic last few weeks but there is also a lot to like about our games its not all negative.

I just feel a couple of adjustments/moves/selections would of seen us win those games.

This is what sh its me most. we aren't far away.

It's not bucks way to change the set up. Moore needs help. Reid forward is a no brainer. it won't happen.

The problem in my opinion is that our mids don't take risks. They kick down the line and don't move the ball fast enough. I think if we move Reid into the forward line it would give the mids confidence to take the game on more.
I have been a pretty harsh critic last few weeks but there is also a lot to like about our games its not all negative.

I just feel a couple of adjustments/moves/selections would of seen us win those games.
i see a lot of posters asking for Reid to benmoved forward...as long as it doesn't cause him injury I would be in favour providing Keefe has a few weeks in the two's to show he can slot into CHB

This post is two or three years too late and you know what I don't feel sorry for posters like you because you've had too much blindness towards the club. Finally people are pulling their head out of the sand but its just too late. It's another year of footy and money down the drain.
I prefer to say I had faith in the club and people leading it, not "blindness". We're not all as pessimistic as you.

The problem in my opinion is that our mids don't take risks. They kick down the line and don't move the ball fast enough. I think if we move Reid into the forward line it would give the mids confidence to take the game on more.
Spot on, like they lost confidence in Cloke the past few years.
We seem to control play and then almost become stagnant about 60 out, whether it is because they have no confidence in forward structure I am unsure. I feel Reid would straighten us up and also assist with reducing the pressure on Moore.

White could play up the ground more to create some extra space for Reid and Moore to lead up to.

We certainly play better when taking the game on it is when we overuse the ball or aren't sure that we seem to have the opposition making scoring against us look easy.

Bucks has often said we sometimes get 1-2 metres out of team defensive position and the system breaks down and the opposition are able to waltz in.

We also seem much better when we go one on one so why do we persist with this rolling zone.

We should play to our own strengths more and stop trying to implement other teams strategies when they clearly don't work for our team.

Anybody trying to put any sort of positive spin on where we are at as a club is absolutely deluded.

Ever since Buckley took over as senior coach the club has been trending gradually downwards. At the start of the year I was hoping that the low point was last season but it's becoming very apparent that it's more likely to be this season.

Key position stocks are thin at either end. Recruiting has generally been poor and the cattle that we have don't have the skills required to carry out the gameplan that Buckley would like to implement.

My only hope is that the club have the common sense to send him on his way when the time comes.

This is what sh its me most. we aren't far away.

It's not bucks way to change the set up. Moore needs help. Reid forward is a no brainer. it won't happen.
With Reid kicking 6 and Franklin being the freak he is.. I don't think moving Reid forward against the Swans is a good idea. (to say the least)
If we move Dunn in and continue to use Goldsack as a stopper for opposition talls then Reid will get his chance at some stage to be swung forward hopefully.

With Reid kicking 6 and Franklin being the freak he is.. I don't think moving Reid forward against the Swans is a good idea. (to say the least)
If we move Dunn in and continue to use Goldsack as a stopper for opposition talls then Reid will get his chance at some stage to be swung forward hopefully.

reid cant play on buddy. his brother yes.

tbh, we don't have anyone to keep buddy under 6-7 shots at goal.

I find your lack of faith in Schade disturbing:straining:

I'm happy with schade. I think there is a lot of ill directed criticism of him. he's learning and I think he can be a consistent afl player. My initial thought was schade upfield and dunne deep for buddy. I could also see goldy on him upfield. setting a task but not many options.

was keeffe injured pre season? if not why didn't he play every JLT game? if he's not pushing schade/dunne I dunno why we kept him.

I'm happy with schade. I think there is a lot of ill directed criticism of him. he's learning and I think he can be a consistent afl player. My initial thought was schade upfield and dunne deep for buddy. I could also see goldy on him upfield. setting a task but not many options.

was keeffe injured pre season? if not why didn't he play every JLT game? if he's not pushing schade/dunne I dunno why we kept him.
No not injured that I'm aware. I'm guessing they want to give him a run in the VFL first after missing the 12 months.

He had one last season and Ed sacked him.

Ben Dixon played a big part in turning our poor DE around last year then was sacked for his troubles. Much like how Hudson was helping our young rucks and was a good sounding board was then let go after year 1.
Most of it comes back to being to cheap to pay the AFL tax which was designed to pull the big spenders (Pies Hawks Ess Geel Swans WC Adel) inline with the penny pinchers (Dogs Roos Saints). Some of the big spenders just paid the tax to keep the advantage of having a decent footy department others like us flat out refuse to pay it so have cut back footy dep expenditure.

Cut back our scouting network. Only have 3 full timers now. Just about worse place to be under resourced imo.

Cut back development coaches Ruck and skills coach, another poor place to make "cut backs".

Oh but luckily we now have extra dollars to fund our Netball and Womans AFL teams...

Hudson was on our list for two years but I didn't know he was let go. I thought he just got a better offer from Brisbane.

Not here to hang shit on Pies supporters or any of that, I have a genuine query.

In the first quarter Houli went to pick the ball up from the gutter in front of the Collingwood cheer sqaud as he was kicking out from full back, and as he was running back between the goals I'm positive I saw him swing his head around and slightly shake his head. After the game Michael Wilson posted photo below on Instagram of Houli chatting to (presumably) the same fans as earlier in the match. Have any of you heard anything or know if anything occurred? I would've expected the media to run with something by now if anything took place. Cheers.

Frustrating game on so many levels. Hard to get a proper feel for the game watching on TV but the following stood out to me:

1. After Half Time seemed like Richmond were happy to kick long and high to targets in the goal square and there small forwards rushed forwards to hit the contest at ground level. By the looks of it they thought we were exposed for the high ball and at ground level. Conceding 76 in the second half hard to disagree. Pretty basic stuff really, kick long to a forward they mark and goal, if they don't ground level players crumb and goal. Although to be fair in that 3rd quarter any forward line tactic would have worked against us as the whole team downed tools and took a smoko. Had a bad 3rd against the dogs as well.

2. Just me or did we look a lot more potent when we were 20 points down in the last and started to attack with some flair and dash and actually looked dangerous. The Maynard torp was a ripper and then didn't happen again, couple of long kicks out to flank from kick ins but not long to the centre.

3. Our lack of small forward recruiting has been very puzzling. Finally addressed it this year with Kirby and Daicos but they're not ready to go, well maybe daicos is but we just don't have any dangerous players at ground level, you watch a team like Adelaide play and they have so many dangerous small forwards.

4. I loved it when Grundy was late on Martin and crunched him into the ground in a tackle after he got rid of it. Lucky not to be a free kick but it was good to see. Maybe a few more might like to put their hands up and be a bit more physical.

I finally got around to watching Bucks' press conference after being left so disappointed and pissed off about what we dished up on Thursday night.

Buckley's Post-Match Comments:

On the missed chances in the 2nd quarter:
"We had our struggles before the ball again. We held up ok and we just ground out. We were never looking like we were top of the ground or able to get much momentum. It was a bit of a grind in that regard. We had a bit of a gap and we let it go in the third quarter and got run over".

What frustrated him most apart from the inaccuracy:
"Our ball use was not what we trained. We were far more up and down the line than we would like to be, and to be honest, our structure forward of the ball relies on that and we have mechanisms that are there if we are forced to go down the line. We just didn't play with the dare we like to and it invited a really dour game. We were happy to be in an arm wrestle and we thought that we would struggle for legs. We felt like we really rolled out of the Bulldogs game and looked after the players as well as we could and introduced some fresh legs in Aish and Broomhead and went in a little bit smaller, but in the end, we were not able to maintain the rage for long enough"

Thoughts on the way the third man up rule was umpired and the poor decision of Maynard being penalised for obstructing Grigg in the final quarter:
"Maynard is a young player and he's still learning. At the very least, he should still be watching the ball. You shouldn't have your back to the ball and that might have been enough. I'll have to have a look at it on the tape, but it was costly"

His thoughts on the effort:
"Early on was ok, but we just let it go. I thought our effort was ok. Our back six did an amazing job in the first half. I think we lost the centre bounce 8-0 at half time and we couldn't get field position, so we put our back six under a lot of pressure and whilst we were able to keep Richmond to eight scoring shots (3.5) and we were 4.9. So 3.5 for a half is a fairly dour game, so it's not an offensive spectacle, but I think that probably told as those boys needed to do a fair bit of work and then eventually the dam wall busted"

Has the poor execution around the field in regards to foot skills become contagious within inside:
"It can. We didn't show the normal aggression that we trained through pre-season. It wasn't what we planned for and it wasn't what we went into the game trying to achieve. You have to give Richmond some credit for being able to defend that. The Bulldogs are a really good defensive side to, and six nights ago we moved the ball far differently and far more dynamic. It's one phase of the game, but it's a pretty important part because it just opens things up and provides possibility for your offence and if you provide possibility then you'll probably going to find an extra couple percent in the contest and you're going to defend a little bit better"

How are the frustration levels of being 0-2:
"It is what it is. There I said it. We would have loved to have won both games, but we didn't deserve to win either of them. We did a lot of things right last week and we were not happy with our performance tonight. There were a lot of areas that we didn't do that we rate, so we had a lot of players that were down. There was too much left to too few tonight and it wasn't as strong a team performance. We knew it was going to be a grind and we felt like we would have to grind this one out and we were going to have take every opportunity, and three goals up and having a shot at goal from 40m and say if you finish that one off and you put that margin on, and even Mayne being able to make it a three goal game 10 minutes later it might have been enough of spark for us to grind it out, but it wasn't to be, and we allowed them to score too easily, 21 scores from 29 entries in the second half"

Status on Adams' supposed injury:
"I think he's fine. I haven't heard anything"

Does he regret the comments about finals or bust from last year when it comes to his own coaching position:
"We're two rounds in mate. Let's take a breath"

Thoughts on whether the plan to nullify Dustin Martin was effective or not:
"Yeah, and he had 15 [disposals] at the half. It was that type of game where it was pretty hard for people to break out into space. We wanted to put body on him in stoppage. Crisp was taking care of that and Pendlebury was chopping in at times, but it was mainly Crisp. We thought that was largely effective, but ultimately, there were so many other areas of the game where we were not able to execute and that a class player like that with a couple of finishes at the end is going to make a little bit of a difference. I thought on a whole, he didn't have as damaging game as he did last week, but I think there's too much focus on the individuals, and he's not going to be able to play like that every week, and I don't think Richmond will rely on him and they need to play as a team and so do we. I thought that one thing that did work for us was Will Hoskin-Elliott going forward in the last quarter. He kicked three goals, and we were scratching our head up there about our forward play and getting on the end of our ball use and why isn't it coming into effect. When you put a kid in there who provides a little bit of speed and little bit of zip and playing the way we want to play and he kicks three goals, it just reminds us we can do it with a little bit of effort".

Thoughts on Tim Broomhead:
"Broomhead just needs a run at it. He will be better with the more football he gets under his belt. He's got some class and you can see he's some real go in him. He doesn't mind putting his head over it, he's got some class with the way he uses it and he's generally tough. He's put on some size, so we're looking forward to seeing he what can do over the course of this year, but he needs more game time"

Chances of Jamie Elliott playing against Sydney:
"He did some running today. I think he was ok, but I don't think he knocked it out of the park. We're clearly missing a bit of grunt in front of the ball and a bit of speed, and we've got our speeds out. Elliott, Varcoe (for different reasons), De Goey and Greenwood who have got real grunt and toe to break the space or to win the contested ball in the front half. We're a little bit dour down there at the moment. We're whacking away, but like to do better than that".

On the benefit of Wells coming back eventually:
"It's plain as day that we've got some guys that add a little bit of x-factor that are not in the side at the moment, but at the same time Broomhead has got that capacity, Hoskin-Elliott has that capacity, we know that Fasolo has, but he was a bit quieter today. Moore has it, but he's started slowly this year, but we just have to understand, especially with Moore that he's still a young kid learning how to play the game. We could help him with the ball use there, because he's not a prop and stop forward. We need to shift the ball and we need to give him some space to move to and he can help himself as well, but we still have some work to do"

Thoughts on going smaller after dropping Mason Cox:
"It was important for us to go in with more legs. We were looking to get more pressure in the front half. We found it very hard to get the ball in the front half in the first half. When we started to get a little bit more supply late in the 2nd quarter and early in the 3rd quarter I thought that was working for us. If you've got the big fella there, he's going to have take 4, 5 or 6 marks and kick three or four for you because he's not going to help us at ground level and I think the early season asks you for a little bit more run and that's what we were looking for tonight"

http://www.collingwoodfc.com.au/video/2017-03-30/buckley-reviews-thursdays-loss

Yeah thanks PonsfordMagpie love reading your transcripts.

Disappointed to hear from Bucks that we only sent WHE forward in the fourth quarter. I thought he should have been sent there last week already and much earlier in this game. He provides a different mix and on the rebound his speed without the ball to get to a good position is invaluable. When your quality forwards are down (Fas, Moore) he feels like the logical player to send to get a goal out of nowhere.

Yeah, looks like Collingwood will be going further down the ladder under Buckley. Interesting, how under "club legend" Nathan Buckley Collingwood performance has deteriorated and gone further down the ladder each year.... Lets face it, Buckley is and was always going to be there for the long term, for his own career, not necessarily for the continued on field success of the Collingwood Football Club - Buckley inherited a Premiership team and has done nothing but take Collingwood further down the ladder each year. What happened to the backline ? Got rid of Heath Shaw, Harry O and now Nathan Brown is gone - who replaced these A grade backline players? No one !! What about the forward line?? Cloke goes and looks better at the Western Bulldogs. Jesse White - No consistency, undisciplined and solely responsible for at least one loss. White should have be given a minimal contract and after his first year at Collingwood - he showed maybe showed one good game - not good enough. .. Alex Fasolo? Always been a selfish player who has never be a consistent team oriented player - he is lucky he is still playing at Collingwood and I don't know why Buckley has got rid of good players and kept duds. Moore - could be a good player, but inexperienced and needs an experienced forward playing along side him - which Collingwood now does not have. Travis Varcoe - seems busy getting suspended or out with injury, another recruit who has strung a few good games together since coming to the club. Daniel Wells - lets recruit a player who's career is all but over and take him to the 250 game milestone - Wells will be lucky to play a handful of games with his hamstring problems. Chris Mayne is 28, sure recruiting him might have made sense, if Collingwood was in the Premiership window - but Collingwood looks like a team several forwards short of even making the finals... So, Nathan - lets not worry about a forward line, or a back line. Lets just be a mid field team and recruit high profile players, not to succeed, but to extend their careers....

YE sheath Shaw was good - but disruptive, Nathan Brown was shyte and still is couldn't kick a ball to hit side of barn accurately from 10 feet. Harry O was a one trick pony which all layers knew in the end and where is he now. Cloke, also couldn't hit side of a barn consistently and would make no differnece. Simply put if a few more of the players out there had followed Goldsack's commitment and desparaton we would have won both games by 6 goals... just a few players and NOT backline players dragging us down.

Review Round 2 versus Richmond, the autopsy