Preview Round 20, 2023: Hawthorn v St.Kilda - Marvel Stadium, Sunday 30th July, 1:10PM AEST

Who Wins?

• Hawks

Votes: 42 60.0%
  • Saints

Votes: 28 40.0%

Total intercept marks = 14 x 3.4 = 48 ( must be another decimal at play somewhere ).
Intercept marks against StKilda = 8
Average without StKilda = 40/13 = 3.1

Wilkie's average = 2.8

But what's an intercept mark, isn't it when the ball is heading towards a Saint, and Sicily gets wetween it and marks it before it gets to the team mate.

What is it when StKilda spot Sicily standing on his own and land it on his chest?

Marking an opposition kick would be my guess

Who is this big bad Sicily everyone speaks of?

Does he have teammates? or does he enter the arena to slaughter alone?

But seriously how good are we going, playing the 2nd bottom team and we are fearful of one of their hacks that plays in the backline.

Reckon the players looked confused. Not playing with much swagger as they're too in their own heads. It was good to see Hammer take it on and kick that goal the way he did.

Our forward line structure needs fixing. It's true the entries have been bad but I'm not seeing players getting separation and leading at the ball.

Obviously our skills and decision making remain our biggest problem.

If we don't get a bit of mojo back this week we'll get flogged.
I wonder if we’re all unnecessarily losing our brains though. A big reason we didn’t expect much this year was because Ross Lyon teams do tend to take a while to learn and re-jig the system. Maybe early season form was more a new coach and energetic kids bounce than actually clicking with the game plan.

But seriously how good are we going, playing the 2nd bottom team and we are fearful of one of their hacks that plays in the backline.
Another swing and a miss with this one, Shooter McGavin

If we hadn't struggled so hard against the bottom team....... he says to the man with "Now Panic" on his avatar.

Not sure about the solution, but "IF" fit, he is a big body to help the kids in there as well as providing a target that may help the Caminiti's and Sharmans of the world get their hands on the ball a bit more freely.
He 'aint no solution, but he is a good sized piece of the puzzle.
Not sure he's fit anyway.... it'll most likely be Cordy.
Agree with all that re Hayes but in reality is coming back from an ACL and a broken foot and hasn’t played an AFL game for maybe 15 months? Unrealistic to expect anything more than a bit of a contest unfortunately.

I wonder if we’re all unnecessarily losing our brains though. A big reason we didn’t expect much this year was because Ross Lyon teams do tend to take a while to learn and re-jig the system. Maybe early season form was more a new coach and energetic kids bounce than actually clicking with the game plan.

We seem to have stuffed that up. We started well and then turned to shit the longer we went on.

Sicily will basically sit off his man and try to play loose especially if the ball is in the air. If we can use his man as a target and kick it well to him that is the key to stopping him dominating. We can't bomb it in his direction or he will eat it up.

His opponent needs to get on his bike and try to run him around.

Sicily will basically sit off his man and try to play loose especially if the ball is in the air. If we can use his man as a target and kick it well to him that is the key to stopping him dominating. We can't bomb it in his direction or he will eat it up.

We've been bombing into the forward line every game for 15 years. Won't change again this week.

Maybe

It’s kind of what I mean by the players look lost. It doesn’t feel like they’re playing instinctive footy which may well be overthinking a game plan they haven’t quite gelled with yet.

Sicily was dominating against Richmond when he played on Jack Riewoldt who even this late in his career is a better key forward than any key forwards that we have at present with King and Membrey unavailable. If Sicily was dominating against Jack Riewoldt than he will likely dominate against Cordy.

Richmond had more success against Sicily in the last quarter when they put a smaller, faster and more mobile player on him in Liam Baker who ended up kicking the winning goal for them.

Putting Owens on Sicily could be the best match up for us, like Baker he is faster and more mobile than Sicily but still big enough to provide a marking contest against him. He is also a dangerous goal scoring threat so Sicily wouldn't be able to zone off him and leave him unmarked on his own.

Sicily was dominating against Richmond when he played on Jack Riewoldt who even this late in his career is a better key forward than any key forwards that we have at present with King and Membrey unavailable. If Sicily was dominating against Jack Riewoldt than he will likely dominate against Cordy.

Richmond had more success against Sicily in the last quarter when they put a smaller, faster and more mobile player on him in Liam Baker who ended up kicking the winning goal for them.

Putting Owens on Sicily could be the best match up for us, like Baker he is faster and more mobile than Sicily but still big enough to provide a marking contest against him. He is also a dangerous goal scoring threat so Sicily wouldn't be able to zone off him and leave him unmarked on his own.

How do you put a forward on a defender.
What if the defender ignores you and goes to another forward? Who is this other defender following you around?

We've been bombing into the forward line every game for 15 years. Won't change again this week.
Yep, I feel people haven’t processed yet and are heading to a real kick in the guts in the next few weeks. But that’s coupled with wanting to trade 40 guys. If they’re all awful how can we make the 8? We should be investigating why the same club can blow up nearly every year after showing patches where it’s certainly not the list that’s the real problem.

Tim Membrey will play for Sandy this week, per the coach.
And despite what others have implied about Ross giving him a whack in previous pressers, he was absolutely supportive in what he said about Tim.

With Howard out it looks like both Cordy & Hayes will get games this week? It will be interesting to see how Zaine goes matching up on Lewis. I hope we give Phillipou a week off, otherwise Hayes will possibly come in for Sharman.

Dougal is going to miss some games coming up so plenty on here are going to get their wish to see someone like Highmore playing on Curnow, Hawkins and Daniher...
And watch them whinge like a Pommy bazballer.

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app