Autopsy Round 3, 2018: St.Kilda v Adelaide

Battle must be looked at this week after our effort this week , might as well keep McCartin in but play him as Full Forward and keep him there.
Billings stays in due to the fact he is one of our best players and will turn it around,
Bring in Rice , Steele , Weller if fit and bring in Hickey.
Brown is another who has had his day , for a backman who never had a kick in a back line that was hammered is just not good enough just being a stopper, time to blood one of Austin or Goddard.

Rice - Goddard - Roberton
White - Carlisle - Coffield
Sinclair - Steele - Acres
Battle - Marshall - Billings
Long - McCartin - Lonie

Hickey - Ross - Steven

Geary / Webster / Dunstan / Savage

out
Brown
Gresham
Bruce
Armitage
Wright
Newnes

Gresh should play ahead of one of the I/C players.

I think the hardest part for us supporters is to just accept where we are at (myself included).

Can't recall exactly when but I said at the time it was great that we young talent, but was it good enough to compete when GWS are at their prime.

Our whole plan relies on us bailing every single pick and trade... Which is impossible.

Dmac and Paddy aside, we seem to have done OK with our high picks.

Have also said that our X game when we played the kids loomed exciting.

Of course these kids aren't hardened or fit enough but they seem to bring more to the table in terms of what's required in the modern game... Very dynamic players.

As you say we would t sack Richo, as much as he may well deserve to be.

So the way I see it is...

Get some string tactical assistants.

Accept that some of kids we pinned our hopes on won't be good enough such as Newnes and Webster.

If you do the above then the logical step is blood our better kids and phase out stodgy players.

Frankly we don't have anything to lose so why wait until next year?

Yeah our high picks have ben acceptable. I reckon we burn a lot of later ones others seem to nail and get good B graders from. The Crows are an example of that, they keep having shit picks but still find the kind of players we get with first rounders late. I think there is some of that that is kids can come in and be the 22nd best player in the team and play like they don't need to carry the weight of expectation and are surrounded with composure.

The coaching staff are squarely to blame no th players, no structures our forward line push up to far leaving 5 Adelaide defenders able to roll back.

Skill level is part of development, players are frustrated by our lack of movement & we need to play 2 talls in forward too many time Paddy on bench leaving Bruce 1 out dumb coaching considering they had 3 talks down there.

Coaching staff have 6 months to redevelop a game plan we failed again coaching staff.

Lack of desire goes when confidence in what is implemented doesn’t work.

Good coaches turn it around within a season not let it drag out.

Is it worth trying Paddy as the intercept mark in defence and moving Carlisle fwd?

I would send Paddy back, he's not great at reading the play and it's much easier back than up forward. He was a good one on one forward but doesn't get to do that in AFL, as a defender that is what you need to do. If it worked for Liam Jones it could work for Paddy.

Acres and sinclair were very good until the genius coach moved them both to deep in forward line for the second half.

That was a huge clanger- took two creative players out of the play. The forward line was too crowded from the start, and desperation moves like that didn't fix a structural problem when the game was slipping away.

I have noticed that Carlisle seems to have transitioned into an intercept defender and Robbo is being forced to play as an accountable defender which doesn't suit him. We tend to get the ball to Savage at all cost so that he can kick over the press. Last year Roberton would have used his run and carry to try to break the lines and then use someone like Gilbert as a link to run through the press.

The lack of a strong marking option up the ground hasn't helped either with Longer a virtual Statue from the Easter Islands.

And Richo says it's the forward line that didn't work.. :drunk:

We were up the top and you could se we were cracking under the perceived pressure. Adelaide are an outstanding defence and made us make stupid decisions. I remember under Ross Lyon that was our go too. So many stupid entries that were rushed instead of considered. At least that can be worked on.

I think all the positive comments and vibe in players social media from supporters is really helping them regain that confidence.

I know your heart is in the right place here mate & im guilty of melting (not directly at players on social medial but on here) quite often but all sporting clubs & players are scrutinised by their fans over the internet. It’s just something players & clubs have to put up with. If they choose to utilise social media then they should expect to cop a hammering when performance is down & when they are playing well, their egos get a nice little stroke. They have to take the good with the bad or not use social media at all. Simples.

This is a big part of our problem IMO, accepting average performances from senior players because they are trying hard

Working hard isn't enough.

I'd rather a hard worker than nothing. He's just the best of what we have.... not ideal.

Paddy should be given time in the VFL kicking bags, it will build him up. I see nothing him or the team get out of pushing him out to slaughter.

I'd rather a hard worker than nothing. He's just the best of what we have.... not ideal.

Paddy should be given time in the VFL kicking bags, it will build him up. I see nothing him or the team get out of pushing him out to slaughter.
But do you think Bruce is performing better than paddy at the moment?

I mentioned a few pages back we need to draw a line in the sand & start focusing on next year, we ain’t playing finals in 2018.

- focus on youth & development
- no room for sentiment, Armo is taking up a spot in the midfield that should be used to develop our next gen
- Acres in the guts, along with the next gen mids
- the remained of the season should primarily be focused on analysis & trouble shooting. Try a few things, if they don’t work, try something different. Try a few different players, they excel or we put a line through them

Agree 200%.

Our biggest threat to our future IMO is if the club still thinks that a few tweaks and natural improvement will somehow put us in the finals. they have to accept where we are at and do so asap.

Politically it may be too early to do so.

I would send Paddy back, he's not great at reading the play and it's much easier back than up forward. He was a good one on one forward but doesn't get to do that in AFL, as a defender that is what you need to do. If it worked for Liam Jones it could work for Paddy.

I apologise in advance, this post will hurt a few but it’s simply my opinion on the subject.

The sooner people realise Paddy isn’t going to make it the better they’ll feel. It’s a sense of relief removing expectations regarding Paddy. There’s nothing he does that screams out to me he’s gonna be a longterm afl footballer. As you said, he can’t read the footy, he doesn’t know how to use his body in contests, he’s as slow as a wet week, he can’t mark, he can’t kick & he can’t run. I feel embarrassed for the bloke tbh. There has been many occasions this year where he just stands still in the forward 50 with his arms up in he air saying kick it to me. Too gassed to lead & no footy iq to no where to lead to. I would seriously trade/delist at the end of the year & focus development on Marshall & Battle. Paddy is a broken biscuit.

OUT: Armitage Bruce Wright Newnes Webster Brown
IN: Steele Membrey Battle Weller Rice Austin

FB: Rice - Austin - Geary
HB: White - Carlisle - Roberton
RK: Marshall - Dunstan - Steven
CR: Acres - Steele - Sinclair
HF: Billings - Battle - Weller
FF: Gresham - McCartin - Membrey
IC: Ross Coffield Savage Long

Frankly I’d drop more - Roberton, Ross, Geary, Billings, #MyBoy, etc. - but the above won’t even happen.

2018 is bordering on a write-off already.
I feel your pain, Barrels but I'm curious as to why you'd choose Logan Austin over Hugh Goddard at this point?

I'm assuming you maybe haven't seen them play this year, but regardless I'd just like to know what you've gleaned about them and what your intuition tells you about them as potential full-backs.

Ok, I might be scratching around for a positive to start with, but here is one for me.

Two 50 point losses - the first one against North a complete shocker according to where the Roo's are slated to finish this season.

Pretty much the same margin last night playing against the team that were minor premiers and grand finalists - the second most experienced team against the second least experienced - could well have been a 100 pt margin.
We were in control for large portions of the first half and I thought the overall effort was good....

...however, here's the rub -
Execution, skill errors, marking inside 50 and goal kicking - the SAME issues that have plagued us for years. Not assisted at all by players being played out of their premier positions.

Sorry Armo, but it's time to go. Three very ordinary games, we now need to give games to the players who are our future. We saw a bit of that in Coffield and Marshall last night. Probably the only real highlights of the night. (The poor kid will probably miss out on what should be a rising star nomination because of this result.)

We are going to have to dig ourselves out of this hole because no free agents are going to want to come. Like it or not, the writing is on the wall and the focus of this season has to change away from finals (very unlikely anyway) to blooding more youth. Let's see what Battle, Goddard, Austin, Clavarino etc can offer and if we cop a few more hidings along the way, so be it. Having said that I am concerned with the development of our young players. They look like all spontaneity has been knocked out of them...just let them play.

As far as I'm concerned it's not worth all the angst about Richo because for better or worse we have him and I can't see him getting sacked in the near future. Lets hope he's learning big lessons from this.

As frustrating as it is for us, I still believe we need to turn up at games, because that's what supporters do - support.

I apologise in advance, this post will hurt a few but it’s simply my opinion on the subject.

The sooner people realise Paddy isn’t going to make it the better they’ll feel. It’s a sense of relief removing expectations regarding Paddy. There’s nothing he does that screams out to me he’s gonna be a longterm afl footballer. As you said, he can’t read the footy, he doesn’t know how to use his body in contests, he’s as slow as a wet week, he can’t mark, he can’t kick & he can’t run. I feel embarrassed for the bloke tbh. There has been many occasions this year where he just stands still in the forward 50 with his arms up in he air saying kick it to me. Too gassed to lead & no footy iq to no where to lead to. I would seriously trade/delist at the end of the year & focus development on Marshall & Battle. Paddy is a broken biscuit.
Yes I've also leapfrogged him and put the burden of expectation on Battle.

Throw him back to Sandy and develop him there. Will find out sooner if he will make it.

Honestly I’d drop Bruce before Paddy. I’d also consider bringing in one of Longer or Hickey and keeping Marshal up forward. He’s proven in the VFL he has a genuine forward capability. I’d consider Membrey, McCartin, Battle and Marshal.. Battle and Membrey are agile and can play high forward and McCartin and Marshal can go deeper with Marshal also playing ruck minutes for a decent chunk. I know our forward pressure hasn’t been great but I think Membrey, Battle, Gresh and Billings could provide good pressure and McCartin has shown even though he’s not agile he still works hard and lays tackles. Bruce has been given a lot of game time and has experience with a lot of the regular AFL 22, he should be doing more.

Autopsy Round 3, 2018: St.Kilda v Adelaide