Autopsy Round 3, 2018: St.Kilda v Adelaide

I actually think our back 6 have held up pretty well given our lack of clearances & contested ball, but especially our turnovers & skill errors. Much bigger problems in midfield and forwards. I agree our team defence is poor, but that is not as much to do with the back 6 in my opinion

Agree with your post, so until we get our midfield & forward settled do we rotate them with a couple of young guys, to not only ease their burden but get experience into others?
Going by the stats both White & Coffield had reasonable games, so would especially like to see Clavarino have a run (is a bigger boy than Coff.) as well as seeing Austin & Goddard.
The more players getting games into them right across the park, could benefit us if we want to offload anyone at seasons end, so as to help purchase that elusive star.

Hi Richo

Yes I know it’s not ask the coach time, but nevertheless....
I do not believe that the players are lazy, lack effort and are just not interested. That is rubbish.
What they do lack , is confidence and whose fault is that? Constantly second guessing themselves, passing off when they should take the shot themselves and taking the shot when they should pass it off. How is it that a first timer has the most composure in the team? How long before he too becomes hesitant and tentative ?? How do they just forget how to kick??

When Billings and Gresh are not touching the ball, why not help them? Put them on the ball, just see what happens? ( have a sneak at what Essendon do?) Actually, with less than two mins to go , helluluya, Gresh is on the ball. Billings? Left to flounder... Armo. Having a mare. No change.
Blake needs to play on the ball!! Most of the time!!!
Sinc, please leave on the wing.
Dunstan, please leave him in or is there some intangible we don’t know about that you want to either knock into or out of him???
Please allow the players to play in their best positions , unless they’re struggling, then try help them out, and play to their strengths . Surely that’s not such a difficult concept???!!!

It's extremely worrying tim_saints......there were heaps and heaps of empty seats around us last night.....have so many thought "why bother" and flown the white flag already?

As I said last night...I felt like I was back in 2013/2014.......and further back....2001/2002.

Definitely felt like early 00s yesterday. For a while there i was picturing Jason Traianidis (Wright), Joe Mclaren (Newnes), Brett Moyle (Webster) and others out there.

Long post coming..

Watched the game yesterday and having been reading this thread and will give my 2c on the game. First of all the people that are say Drop McCartin have no idea then amount of times he got burnt and ignored was ridiculous not to mention the kicking by our team.

Now let's start with the forwards:

Wright: I'm sorry but just not up to AFL standards. Was a mistake in selecting him and for all the speed had 1 tackle inside 50 which just isn't good enough to go with his 5 disposals.
Gresham/Billings: 2 tackles between them and they go to billings with 0 inside 50. They are fornt runners especially Gresham and simply don't work hard enough run/chase when the going gets tough. Great video online about who the biggest skiier is at the club and no surprise 80% of people said gresham. Needs a real kick up the ass workrate wise. Also too many time their half backs would arrive first into the square with them trialling behind.
Long: Ran chased harassed and couldn't have done more from a pressure point of view. Cracked in hard for the whole game and can hold his head high from that point of view. More possessions that Gresham and same amount of tackles as Billings/Gresh with also 1 being inside 50.
Bruce/Paddy: Both dropped some marks that they should take but the delivery never helps them. Both Tried hard and had more tackles then Bliings/Gresham which tells you everything you need to know. With better delivery they will play better. Your only a by product in the forward line of what the mids/halfback do.

Onto the Defenders.

Webster: Played a very good game and his kicking was one of best. Needs to keep this level of kicking for the rest of the season.
Brown: People saying he should be dropped have no idea. Was solid and impacted numerous other contest. Good game.
Carlisle: Was an okay game and held tex to pretty much nothing with his 2 goals being our own fumbles that he converted. Took some good intercept marks around the ground
Geary: Was solid and looker to be playing higher up the ground a bit.
Coffield: composure and class beyond his years. Was a good debut game.
White: Didn't get much of it but played on an AA lynch and I thought done pretty well. Just need to find a way to get involved and run off more. Should keep his spot.
Roberton/Savage: Well below their best with their kicking in particular being shocking. Need to bust a gut more and actually overlap instead of looking for the handball next to the player. Hardly any run provided by both.

Now the Mids:
Armo: Sorry bud, but 2 clearances to go with 13 odd disposals at 47% for a fulltime mid is just not on. Looked slow and lazy to spread. Gut burnt from every contest on the exit. Out for next week.
Dunstan: Has said this time and time again our real leader in the guts. No idea why he didn't play from the beginning and was probably our best mid. True leader.
Steven: Tried hard but just couldn't get any separation and use his break away speed.
Newnes: Couldn't hit a barn door. Has had an ordinary start to the year and should have a spell in the seconds.
Ross: got plenty of it but needs to be more damaging with it. Too many short kicks and not enough disposals that really open up the play.
Sinclair/Acres: Both started off really well in the middle. Both faded badly but will go into that later on as to why.
Marshall: He needs to play every game. Period. Offered way more around the ground and is just a natural footballer. Came up against an AA Ruckman and he did lose a few hitouts, it's not like they won due to that. Longer should never be played again over him.

Coaching: let's just start with the selection of Wright. Don't need to go too much into that. People reported that Membrey wasn't going to get up on Thursday so why not include Battle/Hickey or even Lonie for that matter?? Anyways just a shocking selection to make.

At half time two of your better players were Sinclair and Acres around the ball. So what does he do? Stick them in the forward pocket! Bloody he'll Wtf is going on with that.

Our structures all over the ground are off. The half forwards are certainly not working hard enough to open space but rather jogging (Gresham and Billings) and I would hate to be our defence. No wonder why none are running past to receive a handball cause when they look up everyone is marked up or just stagnant besides the big guys leading to the wings. If I was a half back I wouldn't run past either.

Kicking around the ground was a bit better than last week, but still not good enough. Dixon needs to go as even last year we looked better kicking for goal. Players look too confused to play their natural game and are worried about screwing up some sort of non existent game plan

Anyways that's enough from me. Next week changes.
Out: Armo, Wright
In: Steele, Weller/Lonie or Membrey if fit.
agree with basically everything here, bar Savage who had a good game imo. spot on about the service to paddy - would be disheartening for the fella.

What’s with the hate in here on Webster? Christ has anyone watched Newnes game? He’s embarrassing. His first 5 disposals were out on the full, 3 kicks smothered and a handball smothered. He is dishing up absolute garbage and should be the first one shown the door. I agree the delivery to the forward line is garbage but when Paddy and Bruce drop marks and miss goals they are paid to get then I’m not surprised some supporters go to town on them. Battle needs to be given a chance. Also, what happened to Billings getting a run in the middle? Why can’t richo try something? Carlisle forward, Gresham, Billings in the middle. Webster to a wing. Change it up man!!!
Webster Newnes and Armo should all be shown the door

Bruce has kicked 134 goals in three years so he's not that bad. Paddy hasn't really performed yet. He might but we can't persist with the two tall marking forwards and membrey so we might have to accept losses then.

Sorry, I should have said 2016-2018 inclusive
4 so far in 2018
36 in 2017
38 in 2016 for a total of 78.
A lot of the other forwards in the comp are almost able to kick that many in 1 year.

McCartin was only slight behind him for goals per game in 2016 when dealing with health issues, injuries, concussions etc. Bruce got the chance to play alongside and learn from Rooey (and has shown no improvement), which is something McCartin should have been able to do at every possible opportunity.

He isn't necessarily bad, but he isn't good. As such, he is one of many barriers in the way of development.

Hi Richo

Yes I know it’s not ask the coach time, but nevertheless....
I do not believe that the players are lazy, lack effort and are just not interested. That is rubbish.
What they do lack , is confidence and whose fault is that? Constantly second guessing themselves, passing off when they should take the shot themselves and taking the shot when they should pass it off. How is it that a first timer has the most composure in the team? How long before he too becomes hesitant and tentative ?? How do they just forget how to kick??

When Billings and Gresh are not touching the ball, why not help them? Put them on the ball, just see what happens? ( have a sneak at what Essendon do?) Actually, with less than two mins to go , helluluya, Gresh is on the ball. Billings? Left to flounder... Armo. Having a mare. No change.
Blake needs to play on the ball!! Most of the time!!!
Sinc, please leave on the wing.
Dunstan, please leave him in or is there some intangible we don’t know about that you want to either knock into or out of him???
Please allow the players to play in their best positions , unless they’re struggling, then try help them out, and play to their strengths . Surely that’s not such a difficult concept???!!!

Isn’t their best position usually their strength

Sorry, I should have said 2016-2018 inclusive
4 so far in 2018
36 in 2017
38 in 2016 for a total of 78.
A lot of the other forwards in the comp are almost able to kick that many in 1 year.

McCartin was only slight behind him for goals per game in 2016 when dealing with health issues, injuries, concussions etc. Bruce got the chance to play alongside and learn from Rooey (and has shown no improvement), which is something McCartin should have been able to do at every possible opportunity.

He isn't necessarily bad, but he isn't good. As such, he is one of many barriers in the way of development.
Josh Bruce is pretty much Levi casboult who can’t mark

Agree with your post, so until we get our midfield & forward settled do we rotate them with a couple of young guys, to not only ease their burden but get experience into others?
Going by the stats both White & Coffield had reasonable games, so would especially like to see Clavarino have a run (is a bigger boy than Coff.) as well as seeing Austin & Goddard.
The more players getting games into them right across the park, could benefit us if we want to offload anyone at seasons end, so as to help purchase that elusive star.

I think only if they are performing at VFL. Certainly once our season is officially shot then we need to look at our young KPD other than Brown. I actually think Geelong are gettable next week. Hopefully they have a hard game today. Apparently players have been pulling up very sore after playing at the new Perth ground.

I have to say, newnes has plateaued hard. not a good player for us. I have webster ahead of him, i go up and down with webster, but I think his kicking the last two weeks has been a lot better. Longer and finding the free player more often. I don't think our rebounding is that bad, we were basically even on inside fifties, and we weren't getting many from clearances, so our rebound must have been ok. forward of the centre we were absolute trash

After the way we played against the North, the players where meant to stand up. Well who did? It was 3 players that stood up
Dunstan, Marshall and Coffield.
All 3 didn’t play against north.
Bloody joke

Brent Harvey was saying Victorian forwards are hard to select accurately because they can't zone in defence in TAC. He singled Paddy out as being very good one on one and can easily beat his man at that level. He said it doesn't always tell you how they will go at AFL level. I reckon he's more likely to get one on ones there and might get his confidence up playing VFL.
Yesterday the game was played in a qtr of the oval.
Which qtr was determined by who had the ball in their attacking 50, and on which flank they had entered or which flank the defenders were exiting.
Don’t think there’s that much one on one stuff at VFL anymore (mores the pity: at all levels), a much missed attraction.
TAC obviously different given your comments.

Just because hes been racking up a few touches doesn’t mean he’s been one of our best players his decision making and ball use is not afl standard same as Newnes players like him Newnes and Armitage are holding us back and should be replaced
Webster butchers far too many as he tries to thread the needle almost every time.
Newnes was sub VFL standard and Armo done

-pAtsDh7Ll75asZ4h-BhaU_lH2lgYyCwTDNe7CVo7F6gETQxmjICw3TsuFuTFoL9CA8YqIyWJ0rIZm2OaJVoVWrfGWavx58h0ssz_sg=w500-h214-nc
Nah mate accounting 101. Unfortunately my profession so know a little bit about it.

On [device_name] using BigFooty.com mobile app

Pretty sure you don’t need to have played AFL to have an opinion mate. Paddy has been poor, not our worst but I think the most important thing is that he’s getting some continuity.
Getting a bit sick of agreeing with you joop.

Where are those good old days when you talked absolute shite and I was always right

On [device_name] using BigFooty.com mobile app

Autopsy Round 3, 2018: St.Kilda v Adelaide