Votes: 14 7.6%
  • Tylar Young

Votes: 8 4.3%
  • Marlion Pickett

Votes: 16 8.7%

Baker is seriously stamping himself as captain in waiting, just does all the things a leader should and keeps at it all night, was our best imo.

Rioli keeping up the form he’s had all last season and beginning of this, another great game.

Thought Balta was very good also, still made a few errors but with how much ball Collingwood had in there he stood up well.

Thought our mids were pretty well beaten, Prestia really looked like he was struggling to keep up with the pace and graham had a stinker.

Clarke and Cumberland have to stay in, hopefully get hopper and duz back next week, and really wanna see sonsie back in.

Mansell has to go, bloke has a crack but experiment needs to end, ralphsmith was ok but he should make way, reckon one of Ross or graham will make way too but it’s tough, graham so important to our structure and Ross was probably 2nd best mid tonight

Lynchy kicks those 2 in the 3rd qtr. And Mansells easy miss in the last. And 4 to 6 our our potential best 22 missing. I think we take more out of the game to work on then the Pies do IMHO
Don't forget McIntosh just before half time. Had our chances.

I'm not upset with that end result. We were shocking in the first half. Reckon we win that with Hopper and Dusty. Our f50 entries were shocking again. Taranto, Baker, Cotchin, Balta very good. Jack and Tom got belted.

Pies killed us around the contest, their ground ball work is exceptional. They are playing richmond style footy of a few years ago.

Reckon We take more out of that than pies do.

Positives:

• Much more competitive in the second half.
  • Noah Cumberland NEEDS to play.
  • Jack Ross. Was fantastic. 23 disposals, 3 clearances, a goal and 79% DE in sloppy conditions.
  • Baker. Absolute ripper. His defensive efforts were phenomenal. Captain from next year.
  • McIntosh. Thought he tried hard all game and set up a lot of our drive in defensive transition.
  • Balta. Immense down back. Again.
  • Bolton. Apart from a quiet 3rd quarter. Much more influential as a midfielder. Needs to play as a midfielder for most of the match.
  • Cotchin. Made a few mistakes, but his attack on the ball is second only to Baker now and he is still setting the example.

Negatives:

• Lynch. Just a dreadful game. His accuracy in front of goal early in the season is diabolical.
  • D. Rioli. Got a lot of the ball but continued to slip time and time again at crucial moments.
  • MRJ. His short kicking is atrocious. Just flights them and they get spoilt far too easily. Needs to kick them lower and harder. Also needs to gain some match awareness.
  • Pickett. Just a dirty game.
  • Hugo. Hurts me, but in a wet game, was ineffective.
  • Grimes. Fumbly, beaten often, looked slow.
  • Taranto's kicking. Needs to tidy it up.
  • Nankervis. Just an ineffective ruckman. 17 hitouts to 5 in the last quarter but we got smashed in clearances. Playing against part timers and still can't put a hitout to advantage. Our ruck and midfield work was so much better tonight when Ryan was in there.
  • Kick out strategy. Kicking long to the right hand side of the ground is silly. Pies would not commit to the contest as they knew the ball was coming to the ground and would be able to counter for repeat entries. We looked much better in the second half when we started going the other side with less numbers and more space.
  • Game plan. Seeing how effective retaining possession was, when we hit up the short options and worked up the ground, only to revert back to playing fast, frenzied football that played into Collingwood's turnover game. We know retaining possession is effective against this type of game plan as teams have routinely used it to beat us. The pies play an almost identical game plan we do, so surely that should have been a plan worth sticking with to see where it got us.
  • Umpires interpretation of deliberate. Just disgusting.
  • Our hesitancy to use the corridor. There must be a reason that we don't switch or use the corridor. It's either a directive from the coaches to go long down the line, or that we don't trust our players to be able to execute, but my good it is frustrating seeing 2 free players in the corridor and we opt to go long down the line to a contest that gets killed or turned over.

Pies the better side but we battled on until the end. Four big outs (Broad, Hopper, Martin, Short) certainly did not help.

We were rarely clean with the ball all night. Cumberland provided spark. Missing set shots really killed any chance we had in the third quarter.

Is Samson Ryan going to make it? Looks massively lost at times, and still underweight for a modern ruckman. Was a poor selection given the conditions.

Yeah, wasn’t all doom and gloom.
Broad, Hopper, Martin, Short, Tarrant.
That’s alphabetical…But it’s an elite goal to goal line, in any order…I’m glass half full on this…Yeah Collingwood kicked bad, but it felt like we were right with them…We’ll catch them next time…

The tone was set by our Captains in the first quarter. Turnovers by foot under 0 pressure and missed spoils that led to scores for the Pies.

Crap disposal then became endemic amongst the team.

Very poor decision making and disposal/hands under pressure.

Positive was the fight they showed all night. Amazing endeavour.

Ryan shouldn't have played. Harsh on the kid but blind Freddie could see it wasn't the right structure for tonight.

Clarke and Ralphsmith disappointing coming in. Will both go straight out. Ross solid enough but was another Ross game.. neither here nor there.

Pies the better side but we battled on until the end. Four big outs (Broad, Hopper, Martin, Short) certainly did not help.

We were rarely clean with the ball all night. Cumberland provided spark. Missing set shots really killed any chance we had in the third quarter.

Is Samson Ryan going to make it? Looks massively lost at times, and still underweight for a modern ruckman. Was a poor selection given the conditions.
Poor man’s coleman jones and Coleman jones is an uncoordinated hack.

Autopsy Round 3 Roast & Toast v Collingwood and changes for Footscray