Round 5: Changes Vs Giants

Reckon Wilson is playing sore an Hamling won’t make it for the flight.

Out: Wilson(inj.), Hamling, Switkowski
In : Fyfe, Darcy, Cox

Conca moves half back, Cox to backline. Lobb forward.

Can't see it myself Danny but I hope you're right otherwise if Schultz doesn't make it it's another waisted pick
Have a chat about Schulz to the people who have been watching games live and training scratch matches and match sims. Have a chat to Trevor and his dad Howard as they are good judges as against the keyboard warriors on here who only watch videos and don't see the game live which shows up so much more.

I saw the game live on Saturday, he was poor

That statement flies in the face of the recruiting that has happened during the rebuild. Even players who have struggled to gain a foothold like Crowden or Bewley were recruited because of their kicking skills.

Funny cause I thought I read somewhere that Lyon has no say in recruitment and the reason he won't deliver us a promised flag by 2020 is the list managers keep cocking it up. But maybe I just dreamt that

Reckon Wilson is playing sore an Hamling won’t make it for the flight.

Out: Wilson(inj.), Hamling, Switkowski
In : Fyfe, Darcy, Cox

Conca moves half back, Cox to backline. Lobb forward.

wtf! Switkowski impressed me, was elusive and showed skills i did not know he had. Schultz looks a goer but lacks speed and tbh I preferred brady grey. But Schultz is young and may develop. Ballantyne is still the quickest and best pressure small forward on this current list despite his injuries. I like that they gave Schultz some early blooding but Switkowski deserves to hold his spot based on his last outing. Schultz is vulnerable. Fyfe is a certain in and I can see the argument for Darcy but Lobb played well in his role so they may wait to see what the balance of the team is like before Darcy comes back.

That statement flies in the face of the recruiting that has happened during the rebuild. Even players who have struggled to gain a foothold like Crowden or Bewley were recruited because of their kicking skills.

Through the rebuild there hasn't been a definitive focus on highly skilled players. Sure, we have added guys like Ryan and Wilson. But we have brought in plenty of guys that aren't great kicks and are in the mix to be selected every week ... Brayshaw, Banfield, Conca, Colyer, Schulz, Switkovski, Matera, Giro, etc. It is clearly not a requirement/priority like Hawthorn had.

Hey IC... firstly Sherro is 6 weeks I think I heard today. Agree with the ruck too. Although mummy might squash a few accidental heads, I think Lobb and Darcy would probably win that battle

In terms if the crowd I didn't know about the free tickets. When I bought mine yesterday all the seated areas (not the hill) said "Single seats only"

Going to be a good game I think
Sad to hear about Wilson's lack of form. New dad syndrome? Hope he gets over it quickly anyway.

Hopefully Fyfe is back this week, I like watching him play.

I'm a little surprised about your concern in the ruck. I've seen a lot of both of them and would rate Lobb's tapwork over Mummy. Mummy has come back fine though and helps us a lot to control the space around the clearances.

For us Toby Greene is 50-50 and seems likely to replace Buntine if he plays.

Assuming Sheridan isn't fit then Hatley seems favourite to replace Ward. Leon seems to want outside run and although an inside mid at junior/SANFL level we've been playing Hately on a wing.
I think we want to move Kelly inside as he gets match fitness.

Club apparently not confident in the crowd with members being offered two additional GA tkts. Surprising as we usually fill Manuka in good weather. There's not much spectator civer.

On SM-N960F using BigFooty.com mobile app

Hey IC... firstly Sherro is 6 weeks I think I heard today. Agree with the ruck too. Although mummy might squash a few accidental heads, I think Lobb and Darcy would probably win that battle

In terms if the crowd I didn't know about the free tickets. When I bought mine yesterday all the seated areas (not the hill) said "Single seats only"

Going to be a good game I think

On SM-N960F using BigFooty.com mobile app

I think it might be more competitive than the bookies think.

The offer was wierd for me too. I wonder if the club is placating ACT members cos they frequently make the offer at Spotless. I havent redeemed them but I assume they are GA.

I have an ultimate membership so it may just be I was included in an ACT members only offer. Let me know if you want them.

Members Bring Mates
GIANTS Members can redeem two additional tickets to the big round five game between the GIANTS and Fremantle coming up at UNSW Canberra Oval.

Can you two giants fans get a room on your own board?

My views on the weekend
Get Darcy in - he was very good yesterday for peel and Lobb (who had a pretty good game around the ground) was poor in the centre square. There were several occassions where either vardy or hickey was the player to get the clearance. Our mids were concerned with making sure that their player didn't get the pill that Lobb needed to nullify the ruckman. He didn't do this. Darcy is a heap better when the ball hits the deck - he hunts it.

Cerra - Thought he attacked it well and he looked composed with ball in had. Needs to get more of it but still pretty solid. I think you can excuse a 13 possession game to someone in their second season.
Tucker - worst game for the season - along with Cerra he didnt have a tackle for the game - was he meant to be tagging someone?
Brayshaw - disposal still the issue but seemed to be better positioned this week.
Wilson - looked ordinary, heard he may have come off at the end of the game with tightness in his hammy. might be a good excuse to rest before making him work his way into form through the wafl
Conca - other than the major stuff up he was ok - gives us a mature midfield body that we do not really have outside of Fyfe and Mundy. Clangers when under pressure I can take. but not those when he has none. Persist with him for a little while longer.
Colyer - bog ordinary - 3 out of 13 possessions were clangers. The worst bit about that stat is that he only got 13 possessions. For someone as quick as he is meant to be why is he not getting to space to receive uncontested possessions more often. Only 2 marks for the games. This guy is 27 years old and coming up on 100 games. On top of this he had the least amount of time on the ground. If we had a full list to pick from he would be depth only. Would rather that we had kept deboer or tommy.
Hughes - I'm not a huge fan but he can keep this spot until a fit Logue takes it with WAFL form. Persisted through the day but gave up a couple of useless frees in the contest that resulted in goals. The one that looked like he stumbled in the marking contest that gifted a shot on goals is too often part of his game. Trys hard but not quite there. I also panic everytime the ball is in his hands. Same feeling I used to get when Shane Parker had the ball.
Tabs - for me he is the forward to go if we feel we are too tall. This may be a bit harsh but I think he lost the game for us. While he played ok and got the ball a fair bit. His delivery into the forward line was crap and his ability to convert shots on goal was deplorable. The shot in the pocket did my head in. Hogan and McCarthy look a lot better when they get the ball. You feel that they will leave the team in a better position after they have disposed of it. You can not say this about Tabs.

From the WAFL I was also impressed with Carter. Looked pretty good one on one and hunted the ball well. He was involved in my highlight of the day when he went in hard to a one on one contest on the wing. Came out of it ball in hand and back to his feet in an instance before delivering the ball to a team mate.
Valente looked ok but not ready for afl with that effort.
Cox not overly involved but will be needed if Hamling is an out.

Changes for me:
Ins - Fyfe, Darcy, Cox
Outs - Hamling, Schultz, Wilson

Am a bit worried that we go in overly tall but we do not have enough midfield cover to bring in until we get Hill and Blakley back in

Agree with all that
If I was writing an assessment of the game it would sound like this except I’d have more grammatical and spelling errors
All except for the bit about Shane Parker, he was a legend

wtf! Switkowski impressed me, was elusive and showed skills i did not know he had. Schultz looks a goer but lacks speed and tbh I preferred brady grey. But Schultz is young and may develop. Ballantyne is still the quickest and best pressure small forward on this current list despite his injuries. I like that they gave Schultz some early blooding but Switkowski deserves to hold his spot based on his last outing. Schultz is vulnerable. Fyfe is a certain in and I can see the argument for Darcy but Lobb played well in his role so they may wait to see what the balance of the team is like before Darcy comes back.

Don’t WtF my opinion.

I was at the game neither were overly impressive. Think Schultz has shown more over his multiple games Than Swit in the Derby.

Mummy will destroy Lobb, Swit goes out so Lobb can go forward.

Just checking. Does that mean Trevor and Howard rate Schultz or not? Im not even remotely getting the harshness for a player just starting their career. He was known for his high marking, footy smarts and pressure at VFL level. At least give him a while to see what he can do. On the weekend he led us in pressure acts,His speed is definitely better than advertised on here. I thought he was free more than a few times, but the ball was kicked over his head. Id drop him this weekend, but still think its too early to pass judgement either way in terms of a long-term prospect.

You are a keyboard warrior yourself

You kept posting to me about how your knowledge was superior about footy to me and when I told you I don't care then you told a mod I was bullying you.

I wouldn't be throwing stones

So just to clarify, a bloke called Trevor, and Lachies own dad think he is good?

Hughes seems to have become a bit like Ibbotson. He kind of reminds me of him (as has been previously noted) and seems to polarise people in the same way.
I think he's a terrific reader of the play and particularly the ball in flight much like Ibbo was. He takes the game on and tends to be noticed because he's involved a lot. Contrast this with say Duman who gets less off the ball but is generally tidy(without ever really attacking the game) so people don't notice him.
I like the way Hughes has a crack and backs himself to take marks and isn't afraid to kick the ball into attack.
He's athletic and strong. I think he has the potential to have a career like Ibbo (who was still polarising people right to the end).
I'm generally one for agitating to bring kids in from the WAFL but after watching last weeks game there was no-one who screamed pick me.
Carter is a way off yet but he definitely has something.
North wouldn't be out of his depth but I'm not sure he's going to make more than a cameo at this stage.
Valente needs to build up to it more too but looks to have excellent potential.

We have to be patient with a number of our younger players , efficient ball use comes with experience
90% is reading the play and getting the ball
Players like Brayshaw , Hughes , C-Langdon will frustrate with thier use of the ball but they are reading the game well and it will click into place

Experienced players with no composure and who keep turning it over however need to go straight back to the magoos

Just checking. Does that mean Trevor and Howard rate Schultz or not? Im not even remotely getting the harshness for a player just starting their career. He was known for his high marking, footy smarts and pressure at VFL level. At least give him a while to see what he can do. On the weekend he led us in pressure acts,His speed is definitely better than advertised on here. I thought he was free more than a few times, but the ball was kicked over his head. Id drop him this weekend, but still think its too early to pass judgement either way in terms of a long-term prospect.
Trevor, Howard and I rate him and that main Intraclub just before the JLT series showed that he can play and he isn't slow in my opinion. As you said he led us in the pressure acts on the weekend and with that "great effort" I am sure Ross and his line coaches had something to be pleased about hopefully for his sake it was and he gets picked against GWS.

Round 5: Changes Vs Giants