Preview Round 6, 2022: Hawthorn v Sydney Swans, 25 April 2022, 12.30pm @ York Park

Looking at the Swans lineup last week against the Eagles, looks like Blakey is playing at the back (normally a forward).
And a 197cm tall Hayden McLean, which I'm unfamiliar with. Apologies for my lack of knowledge, is he any good?

Looking at the Swans lineup last week against the Eagles, looks like Blakey is playing at the back (normally a forward).
And a 197cm tall Hayden McLean, which I'm unfamiliar with. Apologies for my lack of knowledge, is he any good?

Blakey is a full time defender these days, started around 2 months before the end of the 2021 season. We played him in every position known to man before we found his perfect position as a running half back. He likes to run and take the game on and he is a very good kick. Swans fans are very happy with him there.

McLean has been a solid player too. Usually stays reasonably close to goals but loves to take a pack mark and is a reasonably reliable shot for goal. Can usually be relied upon to kick a goal or two a match.

Blakey is a full time defender these days, started around 2 months before the end of the 2021 season. We played him in every position known to man before we found his perfect position as a running half back. He likes to run and take the game on and he is a very good kick. Swans fans are very happy with him there.

McLean has been a solid player too. Usually stays reasonably close to goals but loves to take a pack mark and is a reasonably reliable shot for goal. Can usually be relied upon to kick a goal or two a match.
McLean is a poor man’s Mitch Lewis

So are you saying, Sicily can handle him (assuming Frost handle Reid/resting ruckman and DGB handles McDonald). Am I missing any forward tall to account for?

From your side, who will account for our talls assuming Lewis, Gunston , Kosi and Lynch are in.

So are you saying, Sicily can handle him (assuming Frost handle Reid/resting ruckman and DGB handles McDonald). Am I missing any forward tall to account for?

From your side, who will account for our talls assuming Lewis, Gunston , Kosi and Lynch are in.

Buddy may be playing, it is 50/50 at this stage.

As for defence, bear in my I am no expert but I imagine

Gunston - Rampe
Lewis - T.McCartin
Kosi - P.McCartin

For Lynch well it feels unlikely you guys will have all of Gunston, Lewis, Kosi and Lynch in the forward line at the same time so I am not so worried there, but if they are all down there at one time perhaps Reid can spend time with him.

Justin McInerney is one to watch - hear his named called a fair bit when I watch the Swans but is pretty unheralded

I think the Swans match up pretty well for our forwards, and we have options for their forwards. Should be a great battle.

Ladhams isn't a world beater, so Lynch coming in makes it pretty even.

Swans play a good brand of footy, and could trouble us like the Saints did with kicking, spread and speed. My worry is the players will be a bit battered and sore from Easter Monday and there will a general decline, like the Saints game.

Spent a few hours at training today.

Great noise and ball movement from end to end. Hickmott is a ripper. Loud and heaps of energy at training with the players .

Wingard ✅ and will play this week.
Day heavily bandaged right knee might be a question mark .
Impey and Flipper both did handball drills off to the side.
No sign of Mitch Lewis was about the only one I couldn’t find .
Bramble moving really well is a massive plus.
Brocky looked good.
Lynch trained really well and did a lot of work with the mids.

Anymore questions fire away….

Spent a few hours at training today.

Great noise and ball movement from end to end. Hickmott is a ripper. Loud and heaps of energy at training with the players .

Wingard ✅ and will play this week.
Day heavily bandaged right knee might be a question mark .
Impey and Flipper both did handball drills off to the side.
No sign of Mitch Lewis was about the only one I couldn’t find .
Bramble moving really well is a massive plus.
Brocky looked good.
Lynch trained really well and did a lot of work with the mids.

Anymore questions fire away….
Just generally, they didn't look sore or laboured?

I feel like Heeney might be a bit big for
Dimma, and far too strong overhead.

Think I’d give Scrimshaw first crack, and let Dimma play on Ronke as the small defender (he’d usually get Papley I think?)
I think from memory and i might be wrong Dimma played on him last year and did a great job