Preview Round 7, 2020: Adelaide v St.Kilda - Adelaide Oval, Monday 20th July, 7:40PM AEST *BYRNES DEBUT*

Who Wins?

• Crows

Votes: 41 53.9%
  • Saints

Votes: 35 46.1%

Jones named at HBF on the AFL site.

Hopefully that's not the way it really goes. He's been our best inside mid and the only one with speed. He's also a goal kicker.

Byrnes is obviously in and I'll be surprised if Battle is dropped. Likewise Paton.

I reckon Lonie might be a bit nervous, have a feeling Sinclair will play.
Why would Lonie be nervous the guy must be pissing himself laughing every day thinking about how long can he keep bluffing this club that he can play football

But rucking was the problem with Marshall last week. He lost in the ruck to Darcy/Lobb when Darcy was out for half the game.
Yep and he lost in every quarter but it was around the ground not the hit outs. Ryder does not help around the ground. And with only one ruck you haven’t got a guy wasting time in the forward line. Less and less clubs are playing 2 rucks. It shouldn’t matter this week but it’s not the way to go against good sides.

Not thrilled with Ryder back in but happy to see Byrnes get his chance. Hoping he can be the next Jack Steven. Need another one of him for the next 10 years.

Would’ve dropped Ross for a game but he gets one more chance. Needs to lift big time, so do others. Kent definitely last chance saloon.

Please just win Saints.

Yep and he lost in every quarter but it was around the ground not the hit outs. Ryder does not help around the ground. And with only one ruck you haven’t got a guy wasting time in the forward line. Less and less clubs are playing 2 rucks. It shouldn’t matter this week but it’s not the way to go against good sides.
Big game for club on monday , need the win to get confidence back
Marshall played his worst game in the ruck last week , I'm hoping he just had a bad day because he is better than that.
I'm with you we only need one ruck however I suppose having a fit Ryder would be better than some of the guys who played last week.
Hope Marshall and Ryder can hurt them on the scoreboard.

Where have u been?

I'm in Ireland. The lockdown lasted a fair bit longer over here than in Australia and was a bit more tight than Oz as well. The last few weeks have seen things lift a bit, and now we can go to other parts of the country. We had planned on Slovenia, but had it cancelled due to the virus, so we've been camping in the mountains in Co.Waterford for the last week. Very enjoyable...but minging after a week of it.

Long - Savage

Ryder - Marsh
But rucking was the problem with Marshall last week. He lost in the ruck to Darcy/Lobb when Darcy was out for half the game.
No the problem last week was that along with the rucking (ie winning taps to advantage) which is not Marshall's strength he also then had a shocker around the ground. He actually got more hitouts but did nothing with them.

Ryder will replace Marsh as the second ruck/forward and we hope that collectively Marshall and Ryder provide more forward than Marsh - he's been a disappointing so that shouldn't be an issue. Battle will probably continue with his swingman role - looks like something he can really grow into. People might say he could be better value forward but I'm beginning to see a lot of B Goddard in Battle and thats a real positive.

As for the other changes - not sure how it will work. Savage for Long looks likely and then I think they need to drop at least one more possibly two.

Obviously Byrnes will be in and I think they will add Sinclair as well. So unless they drop one of Geary or Ross, I think it will be Paton and Lonie who will miss out.

The message for Paton will be team balance but stick with it because we see you filling Gears role long term and for Lonie it will be as always - living on the knife edge of goals = selection.

Dropping blokes is one of many ways of eliciting a response/lift in performance. I’d rather have Hill’s quality in the side than out of it for a “statement” at this point, particularly for what is a legitimate must-win game.
Looks as though we’re respecting ROB and feel the need to hammer him all game with two rucks, but what the other is doing is still a big question mark. Hope it’s not wet Monday night.

Long - Savage

Ryder - Marsh

No the problem last week was that along with the rucking (ie winning taps to advantage) which is not Marshall's strength he also then had a shocker around the ground. He actually got more hitouts but did nothing with them.

Ryder will replace Marsh as the second ruck/forward and we hope that collectively Marshall and Ryder provide more forward than Marsh - he's been a disappointing so that shouldn't be an issue. Battle will probably continue with his swingman role - looks like something he can really grow into. People might say he could be better value forward but I'm beginning to see a lot of B Goddard in Battle and thats a real positive.

As for the other changes - not sure how it will work. Savage for Long looks likely and then I think they need to drop at least one more possibly two.

Obviously Byrnes will be in and I think they will add Sinclair as well. So unless they drop one of Geary or Ross, I think it will be Paton and Lonie who will miss out.

The message for Paton will be team balance but stick with it because we see you filling Gears role long term and for Lonie it will be as always - living on the knife edge of goals = selection.
Out of interest, what were the hit out to advantage stats?

We did win the hit outs and clearances so I can't imagine he was embarrassed in that department

jesus.

they don't mind throwing their players under the bus.

surprised they dont have them wearing dog collars hooked up so some wireless system, so they can electric shock them whenever they make a mistake

A movie remake to be on the cards of the infamous Crows preseason camp in the style of Picnic At Hanging Rock.

Long - Savage

Ryder - Marsh

Why can’t geary just go back and replace long. Seems logical to me. And Ryder replaces marsh.

Out of interest, what were the hit out to advantage stats?

We did win the hit outs and clearances so I can't imagine he was embarrassed in that department
I think it was something like 10 - 6 Freo's way. Stats Pro clears the previous week so you can't go back and look once the new round starts.

Jones is named as a rover on the saints site.
SjRukdR.jpg

I'm in Ireland. The lockdown lasted a fair bit longer over here than in Australia and was a bit more tight than Oz as well. The last few weeks have seen things lift a bit, and now we can go to other parts of the country. We had planned on Slovenia, but had it cancelled due to the virus, so we've been camping in the mountains in Co.Waterford for the last week. Very enjoyable...but minging after a week of it.
Hi mate
How about this - mayo man in Melbourne and after years of pain following Mayo I go for the saints!! #mayoforsam

They might want to play Geary on Laird up forward

I’d rather have Geary play on Hamill than Laird. Hamill is a new kid but is the only one in the backline with dare and dash at the moment.

Laird’s kicking is atrocious and we wouldn’t have to worry about him breaking the game open.

Whoever comes in for Lonie and/or Kent. I hope they get afforded the same extended run at it to make the spot their own.
It’s rarely a position that you can adjust to in two weeks and start playing super footy.
I expect them to contribute straight away. But let’s give them a really opportunity to find out whether they can add to our 22 or not.

Hi mate
How about this - mayo man in Melbourne and after years of pain following Mayo I go for the saints!! #mayoforsam

You are clearly a sucker for punishment. But I both admire and respect your courage to face endless heartache. I bloody love Mayo, one of the most most underrated county in Eire.

Rucking isn’t the problem with either of them. They are both very ordinary forwArds and that’s probably generous. Byrnes for long makes sense if geary goes back.

I’d rather Marshall in the forward line than Marsh. Would have him beat in nearly everything other than Marsh’s speed that we never really saw anyway.

Didn’t kick a goal as a forward in 3 tries. Neither are any good. Marsh at least has some pace and can defend. It also means that battle really can’t play forward. To me that’s a real waste.

I think Savage will get a run- need a strong experienced HBF in the mix as Paton's inexperience got him a bit lost when the pressure went on last week, but he will be a good player for us. Ratts was not impressed with the defensive work of the forwards last week- didn't do enough to keep the ball in there, so Lonie and Marsh will pay the price.

My pick for the starting bench is: Ryder, Byrnes, Sinclair and Savage. Out goes Marsh, Lonie, Paton, Long(susp)

I'll be disappointed if Savage gets a game ahead of Paton.

Paton has been solid all year and uses the footy well.

He's a better defender than Savage, he uses the ball well and lowers his eyes to hit a target rather than bomb everything long.

Could understand Robbo or Webster taking his place, but not Savage.

I'll be disappointed if Savage gets a game ahead of Paton.

Paton has been solid all year and uses the footy well.

He's a better defender than Savage, he uses the ball well and lowers his eyes to hit a target rather than bomb everything long.

Could understand Robbo or Webster taking his place, but not Savage.
Seems a backwards move if it happens.