Preview Round 7, 2020: Adelaide v St.Kilda - Adelaide Oval, Monday 20th July, 7:40PM AEST *BYRNES DEBUT*

Who Wins?

• Crows

Votes: 41 53.9%
  • Saints

Votes: 35 46.1%

I will say it before the game because after the game is hindsight. I know marshall was terrible last week but the week before he was second best on the ground. Nearly everyone I heard in the unbiased media said that might be the last time we see Ryder after Marshall performance. Now after one bad loss we are back to the 2 rucks whilst nearly every other club is playing one ruck. And ours are genuine 2 rucks. They aren’t forwards as one goal between them when playing forward shows. Marshall has kicked 4 whilst rucking. He is better forward as a ruck. I think it’s stupid and a bit old fashioned. And the really stupid thing about it was that Marshall was beaten around the ground which Ryder does not help. Anyway the coach certainly has me covered so here is hoping 2 rucks is the reason we win. I’m secretly hoping we win but the 2 rucks doesn’t work because I think we are a better side with Marshall being the main man. Actually I’m not secretly hoping I’m just hoping.

If we put Sav and Gears back again, we'll have a sh1t backline again and a bunch of noobs in the midfield. Disaster.
That group is the shining light so far too. No way should we mess with it.

Only thing we can do is pump games into kids and try to remedy this mental issue that continues to persist.

The team has shown they can play when switched on.
It's just the switch is dicky..

The idea of moving Savage into Long's spot makes sense from a like for like. Otherwise you could try an unproven kid out of position like Dingley or Byrnes. If we lose and it's because we had no drive off the backline we'll hate them anyway. Might as well put Sav in as a filler until Long has done his time. Webster the other possibility.

Good decision not to put sav back there. It’s not like long gives us huge run anyway. His numbers aren’t great. Gives us hardness which geary can give us and none of the others mentioned can either. It was the right move not to bring in a back. We really had one to many anyway. Half the reason geary was forward

Ross is out of form yeah , but to say he is substandard for ages is not really right.

disposal average
2020 - 18.7
2019 - 26 / best and fairest
2018 - 30.1
2017 - 29.9 / best and fairest
2016 - 26.4

He's definitely dropped off without Stuv feeding him. The shorter quarters are seeing top mids averaging around 24 disposals in 2020. He hasn't been looking very urgent this year and has to be getting a lot of touches to make himself valuable. He looks lazy when it comes to defending or with his work off the ball.

I wanted him dropped for that last game. It was unforgivable to roll over like he did when we needed a leader. I'm happy for us to give him another go at redemption, I've had time to get over the punitive feeling I had for the whole side last week.

I'm not confident we haven't ruptured our confidence and Adelaide back at home won't be as bad as they were hubbing.

I will say it before the game because after the game is hindsight. I know marshall was terrible last week but the week before he was second best on the ground. Nearly everyone I heard in the unbiased media said that might be the last time we see Ryder after Marshall performance. Now after one bad loss we are back to the 2 rucks whilst nearly every other club is playing one ruck. And ours are genuine 2 rucks. They aren’t forwards as one goal between them when playing forward shows. Marshall has kicked 4 whilst rucking. He is better forward as a ruck. I think it’s stupid and a bit old fashioned. And the really stupid thing about it was that Marshall was beaten around the ground which Ryder does not help. Anyway the coach certainly has me covered so here is hoping 2 rucks is the reason we win. I’m secretly hoping we win but the 2 rucks doesn’t work because I think we are a better side with Marshall being the main man. Actually I’m not secretly hoping I’m just hoping.
While I agree, I guess the other way you can look at it is that Ryder won't be a downgrade on Marsh's 3 disposals… and Ryder may be able to take an extra tall defender away from King.

We really do need 2+ goals from a Marshall / Ryder combo to make it worthwhile.

While I agree, I guess the other way you can look at it is that Ryder won't be a downgrade on Marsh's 3 disposals… and Ryder may be able to take an extra tall defender away from King.

We really do need 2+ goals from a Marshall / Ryder combo to make it worthwhile.
I’m not a marsh fan at all but whilst he doesn’t touch the ball much he does provide better pressure than either of those 2. I think the better option was battle playing as a full time forward instead of putting him all over the place. We are a bloody tall side. Not sure we need to be that tall

Ross is out of form yeah , but to say he is substandard for ages is not really right.

disposal average
2020 - 18.7
2018 - 30.1
2016 - 26.4
Appreciate that you brought evidence to support your argument - it is very compelling.
The lower average this year probably reflects the different role that Ross is playing more than reduced form.
My argument (and i'm sure many other pundits) is that Ross is sloppy with his disposal. His turnovers demoralise me watching the game, so I'm sure they have a similar effect on the players after all their hard work only to watch get it turned over once it gets to Ross.

Last week Ross had 5 kicks for 4 turnovers

His seniority should command some accountability for his performances, I look at disposal efficiency as one measure I would consider important

This year his DE has been quite variable but on average below that of what I would expect

Rd1 72.7% L

Rd2 62.5% W
Rd3 88.2% L
Rd4 62.5% W
Rd5 76.2% W
Rd6 58.3% L

Will certainly be an interesting week in Adelaide. We’ll know a fair bit more about our team come Saturday night when we’ve completed the 2 rounds. I’m wondering if we will play the balance in the ruck role slightly different this time.
Will enjoy watching Ronnie’s debut

Reckon the changes were pretty good.
With Long out, Geary back into defense makes sense. Savage, Webster or Roberton could have been back in, but getting an in form Byrnes to debut could be a lift they need to ignite their season. With Geary forward, Gresham or other mids will need to rotate through the forward line more. Which will also allow Brynes to get some solid mid minutes.
I’m personally happy for Lonie and Ross to keep their spots, only 1 bad game, before that they have been in reasonable form.
Marsh being the only one being made an example of is maybe slightly weak, but he didn’t really have an impact as a forward, a Ruck or a mid when he went on ball.
Ryder back is an interesting call, I would rather have stationed Battle as a key forward, and brought in a smaller utility player. Ryder will definitely be able to help stop momentum shifts tho with his superior tap work in centre bounces.

The only other change I would have liked, would have been very controversial. I would have dropped Hill. He has been in horrible form. He needs to get involved a lot more in the play and be damaging with his disposal. This has to be his last chance, if he plays poor to mediocre again, he needs a reality check.

Looking forward to Byrnes' debut. Just wondering when a first gamer for the Saints ever came in and played a blinder first up..can't remember

disposal average
2020 - 18.7
2018 - 30.1
2016 - 26.4

Since 2017 ....how many avg tackles per game , how many 1% defensive efforts .

Ratts has hitched his horses to this wagon .....even switching him to half back .

His decision .

Good Luck

disposal average
2020 - 18.7
2018 - 30.1
2016 - 26.4
A lot of people on here have very short memories. I mean just look at the reactions after the Richmond/Carlton wins to last weekend. You’d think some blokes on here have bipolar the way they carry on.
Ross as an example has had a poor year, I’m not going to deny that. And should definitely be on notice. But he has been good for at least the last 3 years. People saying he’s always been nothing but average clearly haven’t watched much footy or forget quickly.

Lonie has been goalless in 4/6 games as a permanent small forward and Dean Kent has wooden paddles for hands. They’ve had more than their fair share of opportunities

And who's bashing down the door to take their spot?
Sinclair? 🙄

Also, keep in mind that they are about to play a lot of games in a very short space of time.

There are going to loads of team changes on the horizon- heaps of guys are going to miss games in order to manage soft tissue injury risks.

So rest assured, anybody who you want in the side will get their shot soon enough.

Lots of people banging on about 'not sending a message'.

I think they have sent a very loud message:

'If you mess something up- go and fix it yourself.
If you can't fix it, we'll go find someone else who can.'

Since 2017 ....how many avg tackles per game , how many 1% defensive efforts .

Ratts has hitched his horses to this wagon .....even switching him to half back .

His decision .

Good Luck
2016: 26.5 disp, 7.9 contested, 4 clearances, 4.4 tackles
2017: 29.9 disp, 9.8 contested, 4.3 tackles, 5 clearances,
2018: 30.1 disp, 9.6 contested, 4 tackles, 4.2 clearances
2019: 26 disp, 8.4 contested, 4.1 tackles, 4.2 clearances

His turnovers demoralise me watching the game, so I'm sure they have a similar effect on the players after all their hard work only to watch get it turned over once it gets to Ross.

Last week Ross had 5 kicks for 4 turnovers

Fabulous post Kildonan.
This is exactly what tipped me into disaproval of Seb.

Sitting in the stands where you can see the full flow of play, and the effort taken not only to get the ball forward, but all the work by the other players to run ahead of play, and the forwards in positioning for the f50 entry.
Then, in that critical moment where we've done the work and out-man the oppo, Seb hands it straight back to them and you can visibility see the boys deflate.
And it happens over, and over, and over again.

My final straw was in Tassi last year, or even the one before, when exactly that happened for the 3rd or 4th time in the game, and Seb, having just turned it over and standing flat footed, turns around and gives one of the young fellas a spray for being out of position defensively after he's just run his arse off from HB to assist play and was on the move back to defensive 50.

It made my blood boil. Every negative accusation you could throw at a footy player was born out in that 5 seconds of play.
And this is our captain in waiting, they say.

Since that day I've had my eye on him, and not even once have l seen anything to soften my opinion, though I've had it reconfirmed ad nauseum.

He's a bad influence. A triumph of mediocrity, entrenched and entitled under the Richardson regime.

I'm sure that there's a pin board somewhere in Lethers' home office with Sebs name on it, and a big fat X right through it.

Fabulous post Kildonan.
This is exactly what tipped me into disaproval of Seb.

Sitting in the stands where you can see the full flow of play, and the effort taken not only to get the ball forward, but all the work by the other players to run ahead of play, and the forwards in positioning for the f50 entry.
Then, in that critical moment where we've done the work and out-man the oppo, Seb hands it straight back to them and you can visibility see the boys deflate.
And it happens over, and over, and over again.

My final straw was in Tassi last year, or even the one before, when exactly that happened for the 3rd or 4th time in the game, and Seb, having just turned it over and standing flat footed, turns around and gives one of the young fellas a spray for being out of position defensively after he's just run his arse off from HB to assist play and was on the move back to defensive 50.

It made my blood boil. Every negative accusation you could throw at a footy player was born out in that 5 seconds of play.
And this is our captain in waiting, they say.

Since that day I've had my eye on him, and not even once have l seen anything to soften my opinion, though I've had it reconfirmed ad nauseum.

He's a bad influence. A triumph of mediocrity, entrenched and entitled under the Richardson regime.

I'm sure that there's a pin board somewhere in Lethers' home office with Sebs name on it, and a big fat X right through it.
Could not agree more with you posters. To continue the theme - some-one had to ask the question - is there a worse left footer currently playing the game?