Preview Round 7, 2024: Port Adelaide v St.Kilda - Adelaide Oval, Friday 26 April, 7.40pm AEST

I think most would like Hayes in but not sure RTB is a fan. Let’s see.
I hope we persist with Garcia. Kid will adjust to the speed of afl with time. He’s that type, terrier.
I'd be wanting Hayes playing to try and give him some currency. Both SA teams might have a nibble if he can get through the year.
Hammer is a like for like replacement on the up but as he needs a bit more time and is contracted through to next year we have the breathing room. Or god forbid send King for a run in the 2's to give him a kick up the bum.

Hugo has to stay in until forced out by in-form seniors but with Butts gone there's maybe a spot there, and probably give Collard a few more runs too.

I think we're stuffed until Wood, Henry, Dow/Crouch and Webster can return. We've got a soft run after next week and reports from the scratch match are encouraging that several are ahead of schedule. In a month's time it'll be a different looking team so we play the kids while we can.

Really interested in the response from the group. This will tell us a lot about where we are at.
Nar we'll get smashed. We've had travel intensive start, key players injured, short break and a few reamings from the umpires along the way. 2nd half of the season playing at Marvel will tell us where we actually sit. Till then it's just muddling through but we'd want to be winning against Norff, Hawks and Dockers next month.

Ita a bit of a shame because the game actually seems set up for an upset if we had any form. Two extra days prep than Port, they were exposed last week and seem to have some sore players.

Unfortunately I could only see us winning if we had good availability and form which we clearly are lacking.

Ita a bit of a shame because the game actually seems set up for an upset if we had any form. Two extra days prep than Port, they were exposed last week and seem to have some sore players.

Unfortunately I could only see us winning if we had good availability and form which we clearly are lacking.
We'll be lucky to get a single clearance against their midfield. Honestly, I'd be managing Ro and just taking our medicine whilst working on the team stuff. JHF, Butters, Rozee, SPP, Wines will murder us.

I'm wondering which Saints turn up. The guys that lay down and lose by 60 points or the brave performers that lose in the last 10 seconds when Port reenact the Ryder to Robbie Grey stab to the heart.
Seasons over in terms of finals but there’s plenty of opportunities to see what some of the young guys can do. I wouldn’t be rushing anyone back from injury and it’s time to move on from a few of the older guys, jones and cordy would have a red line through their names.

It might sting a bit but if we use our heads imo we’d play collard and schoenmaker against north for example. Get games into the young guys and put ourselves right into the pick zone where the gun mids are selected. The alternative is to give in to pride and put us back into no man’s land in the draft yet again.

To be clear I’m not advocating laying down I expect every team the runs out to give 100%. Splitting hairs maybe but it’s a legitimate strategy when you’re out of contention to move on from players who won’t be part of your best team next year and isn’t tanking. Putting your faith in the guys you expect to take you forward is a positive and supporters know that, it’s not like we’re getting anything out of the guys that are being replaced. We've already signalled our intention to hit the draft again this year and then start looking at using our war chest so now is the perfect opportunity to give us a good draft hand.

its nowhere near over.
One shocking loss does not season make.

Look at Carlton last year. They were rooted at this point.. made a prelim.

Ahh its the hope that gets ya..

Yep, and a number of teams have had bad suprise losses this round.

Not saying we make finals from here but its too early to suggest we can't keep growing and improving.

Its not always going to be straight line improvement. Sometimes there are going to be some backwards steps.

I'd be wanting Hayes playing to try and give him some currency. Both SA teams might have a nibble if he can get through the year.
Hammer is a like for like replacement on the up but as he needs a bit more time and is contracted through to next year we have the breathing room. Or god forbid send King for a run in the 2's to give him a kick up the bum.

Hugo has to stay in until forced out by in-form seniors but with Butts gone there's maybe a spot there, and probably give Collard a few more runs too.

I think we're stuffed until Wood, Henry, Dow/Crouch and Webster can return. We've got a soft run after next week and reports from the scratch match are encouraging that several are ahead of schedule. In a month's time it'll be a different looking team so we play the kids while we can.

Did anyone happen to see the Sandringham scratch match yesterday? Just wondering how the returning players are travelling.

For this weeks game I'd drop Sharman for Hayes. It would be a good time for Jack to return playing on the Adelaide Oval. People have different opinions on Cooper, he can play but needs to work on his game in the VFL IMO.

They will get Boak back for the game and as for competing with Port's midfield we will have to play out of there skins to break even, its a concern.

I'd 100% bring in Collard for Butler. And start him on the ground. Tell him to flipping just be around the contest..flipping chase.
Dow for Jones.. no brainer if available.

King for Hammer.

Needs to be at least one change for shit effort.

Did anyone happen to see the Sandringham scratch match yesterday? Just wondering how the returning players are travelling.

For this weeks game I'd drop Sharman for Hayes. It would be a good time for Jack to return playing on the Adelaide Oval. People have different opinions on Cooper, he can play but needs to work on his game in the VFL IMO.

As for competing with Port's midfield we will have to play out of there skins to break even, its a real concern.
Someone did put post up somewhere. Dow and Clark were the noteables, Webster also played.

A lot of people are saying that Port will murder us because they will be out for blood after losing so badly to Collingwood.

But won't we be out for blood too? We did just lose to an average team by 60 points.

I know we're out of form, away from home and low on personnel, but our backs are against the wall and I've seen us fight - it is not the foregone conclusion many are suggesting. I absolutely get why this team is losing believers, they haven't done much to earn any belief this year. I'm not really sure I believe either.

But there is hope and not even blind hope. Ross is right, we won't play like we did on Thursday again. We will be fresher, sharper, harder, faster. Nas will want to play a lot better in front of his mob, he could rip the game apart. Same goes for Wilkie and Phillipou, and although they are less likely to rip the game apart, they could have big moments. King should be back to occupy Allir. We might bring in Collard, we might even roll the dice on Dow, we could try moving a few magnets around. In terms of game day strategy, I'd back Ross & his lieutenants to beat Ken and Co.

Will that be enough? Sure, their line up looks formidable, they have players who can also win games on every line. But they are just men, not machines. They bleed. If we can get them to start doubting each other, playing into the emotion of their last defeat, get them desperate and rash, get them taking risks we have as good a chance as any.

I am at least expecting a reaction to that Bulldogs shitshow, something that is a bit more representative of what Ross and the boys claim is "us", we'll see what that gets us.

Seasons over in terms of finals but there’s plenty of opportunities to see what some of the young guys can do. I wouldn’t be rushing anyone back from injury and it’s time to move on from a few of the older guys, jones and cordy would have a red line through their names.

It might sting a bit but if we use our heads imo we’d play collard and schoenmaker against north for example. Get games into the young guys and put ourselves right into the pick zone where the gun mids are selected. The alternative is to give in to pride and put us back into no man’s land in the draft yet again.

To be clear I’m not advocating laying down I expect every team the runs out to give 100%. Splitting hairs maybe but it’s a legitimate strategy when you’re out of contention to move on from players who won’t be part of your best team next year and isn’t tanking. Putting your faith in the guys you expect to take you forward is a positive and supporters know that, it’s not like we’re getting anything out of the guys that are being replaced. We've already signalled our intention to hit the draft again this year and then start looking at using our war chest so now is the perfect opportunity to give us a good draft hand.

Yep, Sincs has come back playing like a GOP without a preseason and fitness. Might as well play the kids and see what we have. The season is cooked already. I'd rather Jagga Smith, Smillie, Moraes, O'Sullivan or Draper than finish 9th.

its nowhere near over.

Don't think we've been even close to good in any game this year. We've got away with two wins more than anything. Doubt we've even played one good quarter. We seem to rely on stifling opposition and then playing 10 minutes of attacking footy.

If we are going to play finals we are going to have to completely change tack. The game plan is awful and laborious. Not sure it will hold up against the best sides. Pies and Richmond were both rubbish when we played them.

Yep, Sincs has come back playing like a GOP without a preseason and fitness. Might as well play the kids and see what we have. The season is cooked already. I'd rather Jagga Smith, Smillie, Moraes, O'Sullivan or Draper than finish 9th.
Good SIR, are you suggesting that the club simply tank to get better draft picks? What a preposterous suggestion! Well, i never...! harrumph harrumph

I hope none of the players give up on the season the way supporters seem to as soon as something doesn't go to plan.

The sides in the 8 are playing well enough to hold but outside the 8 you've got Collingwood, Brisbane, Gold Coast all pushing up from underneath. I reckon you could lock Geelong, Carlton and GWS into the top 8 already. Melbourne look good, Sydney, Port very likely.

Leaves Essendon, Dogs, Freo, GC, Collingwood, Brions and us playing for the last couple of spots. We look around the level of Richmond, West Coast and Adelaide at the moment. North and Hawks should finish in the last 2 spots. Injury might send the Tigers bottom 3 too.

I think we likely finish bottom 6 anyway. Playing guys like Bonner and underdone Butler are only going to hold a kid out that at least develops.

Good SIR, are you suggesting that the club simply tank to get better draft picks? What a preposterous suggestion! Well, i never...! harrumph harrumph

Not tank. Not continue to rush back GOPs to prop up a lost season. Put time and effort into the kids. I'd rather get 15 games into Schoenmaker than lose by 5 points instead of 25. I reckon our season was close to over when we lost to Essendon. It's an even season and losing to sides around your level is setting yourselves a long way backwards.

A lot of people are saying that Port will murder us because they will be out for blood after losing so badly to Collingwood.

But won't we be out for blood too? We did just lose to an average team by 60 points.

I know we're out of form, away from home and low on personnel, but our backs are against the wall and I've seen us fight - it is not the foregone conclusion many are suggesting. I absolutely get why this team is losing believers, they haven't done much to earn any belief this year. I'm not really sure I believe either.

But there is hope and not even blind hope. Ross is right, we won't play like we did on Thursday again. We will be fresher, sharper, harder, faster. Nas will want to play a lot better in front of his mob, he could rip the game apart. Same goes for Wilkie and Phillipou, and although they are less likely to rip the game apart, they could have big moments. King should be back to occupy Allir. We might bring in Collard, we might even roll the dice on Dow, we could try moving a few magnets around. In terms of game day strategy, I'd back Ross & his lieutenants to beat Ken and Co.

Will that be enough? Sure, their line up looks formidable, they have players who can also win games on every line. But they are just men, not machines. They bleed. If we can get them to start doubting each other, playing into the emotion of their last defeat, get them desperate and rash, get them taking risks we have as good a chance as any.

I am at least expecting a reaction to that Bulldogs shitshow, something that is a bit more representative of what Ross and the boys claim is "us", we'll see what that gets us.

The Dogs stifled our rebound run and we couldn't move the ball. The Power will have a blueprint now.

its nowhere near over.

I feel ya but we just don’t have the list to pull off a turnaround like that, fragile bunch they are