Opinion Sack Hinkley 4 - Show Him The Door

When to sack Ken?

It's inexplicable that our club hierarchy could watch that game and think we're on the right track. We are nowhere near that level of physical and mental fortitude and ability to execute skill under pressure. We are on a highway to absolutely nowhere.
100% correct.

Ken ‘trust our system’ Hinkley deck chair pic
Tom ‘here’s me living life’ Jonas skiing pic

I can’t even think about the club (or football in general, really) at the moment without becoming exceedingly angry.

I didn’t feel a shred of happiness watching Melbourne (Melbourne!) celebrate after the game last night; it merely served as yet another reminder that the fools in charge of our club have no idea what they’re doing.

I’m an optimist, but I feel so pessimistic about the medium-term future of the club. We’ve made consecutive preliminary finals, yet I feel like we’re just as far from a premiership now as I did in August 2012 when we’d sacked our second coach in little over two years.

It seems so patently clear to me that Ken Hinkley is incapable of coaching us to a flag that I wouldn’t consider a decision to sack him now, after consecutive prelims, to be a bold one, but an obvious one. He simply isn’t good enough.

I have never been more disillusioned with the Port Adelaide Football Club.

I want Hinkley gone. I want anyone who isn’t 100% behind the BBTB campaign gone. And Jesus H Christ do I want that fraud David Koch gone.

We need someone to put up $10 million and give the club back to the club members.
I remember reading a post from C4[2]Yo`DooR a while back that said the club has a number of wealthy benefactors who could easily wipe off the club's debt if they wanted to, but the way they see it is that because the club is owned and controlled by the AFL, they can deal with the debt themselves.

I reckon if Ken goes there will be a player exodus as well. Which doesn't bother me as they will be the ones that like mediocrity over success.

Plenty of "players' coaches" get sacked without a player exodus. Whilst the fear is always there, we won't see a bunch of guys just leave, you just don't ever see that in pretty much any sport.

I really couldn't care less. If they loved him so damned much, they should've turned up for the prelim.
I think he's right. There are a lot of players on our list that think it's okay to be shit because we make finals, this is a standard set by Koch and Hinkley.
They wouldn't feel so comfortable under a coach that is serious about a premiership.

Watching Jonas and Boak talk after the loss, was like watching two kids that dropped their ice cream on the ground.

Plenty of "players' coaches" get sacked without a player exodus. Whilst the fear is always there, we won't see a bunch of guys just leave, you just don't ever see that in pretty much any sport.
I think it will depend on how the new coach goes. When i say player exodus i mean a few players not heaps. I think it will help weed out some players we don't need at the club with the attitude and culture that has been created in terms of it's ok just to make the finals.

I think he's right. There are a lot of players on our list that think it's okay to be sh*t because we make finals, this is a standard set by Koch and Hinkley.
They wouldn't feel so comfortable under a coach that is serious about a premiership.

Watching Jonas and Boak talk after the loss, was like watching two kids that dropped their ice cream on the ground.
I agree. What I meant to say is if there's a player exodus due to Hinkley being sacked, so be it. Don't let the door hit you on the way out.

I think it will depend on how the new coach goes. When i say payer exodus i mean a few players not heaps. I think it will help weed out some players we don't need at the club with the attitude and culture that has been created in terms of it's ok just to make the finals.

You see turnover of a few players when a new coach comes in across all sports. I wouldn't look at our club and think that changing Hinkley would be an exception to this rule.

I reckon if Ken goes there will be a player exodus as well. Which doesn't bother me as they will be the ones that like mediocrity over success.
There will be no player ‘exodus’.

This is a reactionary and self-serving urban myth thrown up by Ken Media, a life jacket grasped at in a plane crash by the dreary likes of Koch and his coat-carriers who, first of all, know not enough about football itself and, second of all, know nothing about what goes on in the mind of a young footballer.

Hinkley has been, taking the average result, a nine-season failure. Will the players really revolt if he is sacked, as he should be by bye week 2022 (Bye Bye Ken Week), or earlier … with Plan A, B and C to fill the non-existent void left in his wake being a Clarkson or equal, a Buckley or equal, mentored a la Melbourne-style by a Choco or equal?

This, of course, can only happen if pre-emptively orchestrated and promoted thoroughly and expertly by our Chasing Greatness CEO and his Football GM … whilst keeping Koch, Cardone & their disciples on the Club board adequately leashed, muzzled and strung up like marionettes.

Anyway it has already happened. The players were revolting on Saturday night, 11 September 2021.

We need a list of this said over hinkleys reign ??

I can’t find anything direct via print online, I’m going by memories of interviews (on things like 360) and pressers in-and-around the premiership. Players/coaches — like Oliver last night — recounting the moment, performance or result that confirmed/reconfirmed their belief the ultimate prize was possible.

• Bob Murphy — 2016 (after they beat us by a kick here)

• Damian Hardwick — 2017 (after they overhauled a half-time deficit and pulled away in the last here)

• Adam Simpson — 2018 (after they came back and won that nail-biter after the siren, again)

• Jack Riewoldt — 2019 (after they came over here and won without Martin/Cotch/Houli/Rance/Jack after losing back-to-back games by 7 goals)

• Clayton Oliver — 2021 (after they comfortably rolled us here by 5 goals)

This is a reactionary and self-serving urban myth thrown up by Ken Media, a life jacket grasped at in a plane crash by the dreary likes of Koch and his coat-carriers who, first of all, know not enough about football itself and, second of all, know nothing about what goes on in the mind of a young footballer.

Hinkley has been, taking the average result, a nine-season failure. Will the players really revolt if he is sacked, as he should be by bye week 2022 (Bye Bye Ken Week), or earlier … with Plan A, B and C to fill the non-existent void left in his wake being a Clarkson or equal, a Buckley or equal, mentored a la Melbourne-style by a Choco or equal?

This, of course, can only happen if pre-emptively orchestrated and promoted thoroughly and expertly by our Chasing Greatness CEO and his Football GM … whilst keeping Koch, Cardone & their disciples on the Club board adequately leashed, muzzled and strung up like marionettes.

Anyway it has already happened. The players were revolting on Saturday night, 11 September 2021.

I kinda look at it another way, don't you think the players want to go one step further and may be realising maybe ken isn't Jesus? Surely some of them would.

I think he could mean that the players now have such a low expectation, that mentally they would not cope with a tough coach that thrives for success, hence some may leave and some are very close to the father figure we call a coach.

I kinda look at it another way, don't you think the players want to go one step further and may be realising maybe ken isn't Jesus? Surely some of them would.
Can you really see Jonas holding up a premiership cup, or our midfield being nicely skilled like Melbourne were last night. I am convinced we over estimate our list, or at the very least we are recruiting the wrong type of player, especially footy wise.

Does ken legitimately think that only 10% of us want him gone?
That's actually pretty funny.

When the club does the rounds of social media to take Port Nation’s temperature they’ve got limited options: the club Facebook (packed with happyclappers), Reddit (who I’m told scoff at our Hinkley takes), Ken Oath’s Pyongyang Palace, Twitter and here.

As we’ve seen, it doesn’t take much for the swing vote to pull back from the precipice and believe — after the Geelong final we had clowns blow in and demand this thread be shut down.

Mission accomplished: We actually performed to expectation at home in a final for the third time since 2007!

So a cursory review would seem 10%ish.