No Oppo Supporters St.Kilda sack Brett Ratten

St Kilda have targeted former player turned Port Adelaide list boss Jason Cripps for a crucial off-field role as the fallout from their post-season review continues.

The Saints stunned the AFL last week when senior coach Brett Ratten was sacked just months after signing a two-year contract extension.

Ross Lyon has emerged as a frontrunner to return to the post he sensationally quit at the end of 2011 when he left for Fremantle.

While St Kilda’s search for their next coach rolls on, 7NEWS Melbourne’s Mitch Cleary has revealed officials have already reached out to Cripps.

The exact role earmarked for the 46-year-old within the Saints’ recruiting team is unclear, but the bid is seen as a long shot.

It is not the first time Cripps, who moved from coaching to list management in 2012, has been sought out by his former club.

He reportedly rejected a return to St Kilda in 2017 when he was a candidate for a senior role in the football department.

Cripps played 60 games for the Saints in a career blighted by a serious hamstring injury that robbed him of three full years at his peak.

St Kilda’s play for the Port Adelaide list boss, who secured North Melbourne’s No.1 pick Jason Horne-Francis and West Coast premiership player Junior Rioli in the trade period, comes as Saints counterpart James Gallagher considers what his future looks like.

Is there anyone who can post a poll on who people think will be the next coach ?
Sorry - I don't know how and can't be cactus finding out. I'm a bit slack.
Also happy to read the top 5 logical and factual reasons why so many think Lyon is the one or a done deal.

I published a poll on Twitter but it’s limited because only 4 options are allowed.

Over 300 votes so far and 54% of people think it will be Ross Lyon. The “other candidate” option is at 23%.

I’ve read plenty of general comments where some people prefer Don Pyke.

Totally unscientific and influenced by media reporting. But most of my Twitter followers are Saints fans so it seems it’s reasonable to assume that it’s a general vibe among our supporters.

I published a poll on Twitter but it’s limited because only 4 options are allowed.

Over 300 votes so far and 54% of people think it will be Ross Lyon. The “other candidate” option is at 23%.

I’ve read plenty of general comments where some people prefer Don Pyke.

Totally unscientific and influenced by media reporting. But most of my Twitter followers are Saints fans so it seems it’s reasonable to assume that it’s a general vibe among our supporters.
I'm still coming to grips with the why. I've put up a poll here.

I wonder if we could see a Dal Santo style resurgence from Hunter Clark under a coach like Ross?

I seem to remember Nick being labelled lazy on-field, not working hard enough off-field, and not fulfilling his potential early in his career.

…either that or he will fold like a cheap suit.
Dal was soft early days. What fixed up was Lenny going down for a season and Chance Bateman handing him his own arse on a plate in the 2008 finals.

Chill mate, how many tradies come out of the most expensive private schools.

I’m a public school kid, I put no more stock in Xavier than I do in any other school but it goes with the point that he’s not a chippy, not a shot at public schools at all.

The private schools hand hold you through VCE.

feed-me-alex-delarge.gif

I'm still coming to grips with the why. I've put up a poll here.

Possibly because since Lyon left after the 2011 finals we’ve been very ordinary. During his tenure he had us playing the most amazing fanatical kamikaze football.

Everyone hopes he can do it again. Personally I think he can with better support staff around him and more resources, but none of us really know.

Lyon’s record at lifting Fremantle from irrelevance was also amazing. He had them minor premiers and flag favourite in 2015 before Hawthorn surprised them on PF day. Lyon also had Fremantle top 4 from 2013-15 and winning at least 14 games and finals from 2012-2015.

Not bad. He can seriously coach.

Cripps news is bigger than ross IMO

Gags needs to go. He's worse than ratten.

We need to fix that as a priority over the coach IMO
How did you work that out?

You could have the best recruiter.

But as an example, putting these kids through our club between 12-22 and not much quality came out.

The coach is ver important

Weve established he is not but I’d much rather have a beer with you than a financial manager who went to Xavier even if he was an AFL footballer.
I love a beer btw.
And my partner lives in Melbourne so maybe it's a date that can happen lol.
On a side note she is Swans fan, she got me a ticket to the gf and the after gf do at the Crown Casino, both were sombre affairs, meeting the current and past players was cool tho.
I told my partner I would love to return the favour and take her to a Saints GF and after gf function... All ways the optimist I suggested 2023... However I would be happy to wait an extra year for the 2024 experience... imagine if the 3 peat was on the 60th anniversary of the first gf win, it's effectively the preseason we can all dream big ☺️

Possibly because since Lyon left after the 2011 finals we’ve been very ordinary. During his tenure he had us playing the most amazing fanatical kamikaze football.

Everyone hopes he can do it again. Personally I think he can with better support staff around him and more resources, but none of us really know.

Lyon’s record at lifting Fremantle from irrelevance was also amazing. He had them minor premiers and flag favourite in 2015 before Hawthorn surprised them on PF day. Lyon also had Fremantle top 4 from 2013-15 and winning at least 14 games and finals from 2012-2015.

Not bad. He can seriously coach.
Nah people want to focus on his record between 16-19.

Because it suits their narrative

But as an example, putting these kids through our club between 12-22 and not much quality came out.

I’d ditch Gags too. He’s not as big a priority but we need to refresh all areas of the footy department. They’re all tainted goods.

Cripps news is bigger than ross IMO

Gags needs to go. He's worse than ratten.

We need to fix that as a priority over the coach IMO
Where's the proof that Gags is so bad? The list analyst said the list is good and underperforming what are the critical errors that Gags has made? Seems to have uncovered some absolute gems out of nowhere.

Because any list management and recruitment decisions have a very long lag time.

Any decision made now will take 4 years to really bear fruit. Then you're looking got 6 years of quality.

It's like planting a seed. You need to wait for it to grow and then harvest annually.

The coaching appointment affects the now. But you can replace coaches and get immediate impact. You can't replace list bosses and get the same.

So I see the list management and head recruiter appointments absolutely critical. The coach we can **** up and get another 2 shots at it.

Where's the proof that Gags is so bad? The list analyst said the list is good and underperforming what are the critical errors that Gags has made? Seems to have uncovered some absolute gems out of nowhere.
For how long though? This list unless we find another young elite mid has 3 years in it.

Hes mortgaged the future for now and the now sucks balls.

I love a beer btw.
And my partner lives in Melbourne so maybe it's a date that can happen lol.
On a side note she is Swans fan, she got me a ticket to the gf and the after gf do at the Crown Casino, both were sombre affairs, meeting the current and past players was cool tho.
I told my partner I would love to return the favour and take her to a Saints GF and after gf function... All ways the optimist I suggested 2023... However I would be happy to wait an extra year for the 2024 experience... imagine if the 3 peat was on the 60th anniversary of the first gf win, it's effectively the preseason we can all dream big ☺️
And so we should too!