No Oppo Supporters St.Kilda sack Brett Ratten

Only deal that pissed me off was the Hill arrangement. Gave up massive coin, GOAT & some decent picks for a bloke that has been extremely poor. He’s been okay outside of that trade.
Hasn’t looked a great deal but we did need a winger badly. He just hasn’t worked out. The other thing is whilst you would think he had the final say we just don’t know. This is one position the club would know so much more about than any of us could guess.

There were 28 of us in the Boarding house Yr. 12 early ninetees, that I know of 3 are farmers 1 is a gardener,/ horticulturlist, 1 is a painter, 1 is an earthmover, 1 is a board acre irrigation specialist I am a Chippie...at least 8 from 28 non white collar workers there☺️
How many of you had TERs of 98?

I know quite a few from 04/05 from Xavs, Scotch, Caulfield, Brighton and Haileybury and none are doing anything other than banking and trading (I think there’s a journo and a lawyer in there).

In any event it’s unlikely too many Xavier graduates with a TER of 98 are chippies. It’s unlikely too many people with a TER of 98 are chippies.

Again, not a shot at chippies, just not a thing that happens too much.

Respected sure ..... but trying to remember the last time Port won a premeirship?

Pretty sure also that Port finished below us this year as well

So Port ladder finishes since 2011 after Cripps came aboard ..... from 2012 onwards 14, 7, 5, 9, 10, 5, 10, 10, 3, 3, 11 .... lots of yo-yoing going on
Not sure you can directly equate premierships to list manager role with the multitude of factors but reckon their list, trades & drafting has been consistently better than ours.

I have a feeling that Ross will love being back at the Saints. Who knows about getting us to the pinnacle, but once he makes his mark I think the fans who have walked away over the years will start coming back. I'm sure he's burning from unfinished business. Let's *ing go!

I've spoken to a few Saints that like me were almost ready to give up and everyone is pumped just to have a circuit breaker it seems. Even if this is a dead end it just feels like relief for now. I'm probably deluded but Rossy seems like the man for the moment, feels like it's started a fire under the place. Maybe finally some luck is going to fall on the Saints. We had a lucky miss in Clarko and the planets have aligned for us for once.

The players seems uncertain and a bit lost. Ross is the right guy to fix that stuff. I'm really looking forward to what he brings next year. As much as everyone says he inherited great lists his talent was for making good solid citizens integral pillars of the side. Guys of Dmac's level were first picked for what they could do not punished for what they couldn't do.

Sydney are good at that and Geelong were the kings of it this year. Their list has a very very good half a dozen players and a pile of good even talent below that and can even carry a few battlers. It was a soft year but they are in the history books as winners.

Dodgy real estate deal most likely

Ross said that North could buy a property for Clarko for a million bucks and agree to sell it to him at a discount later. Reckons clubs get around the cap if they need to.

Ross’ last successful season didn’t have 6-6-6, interchange cap was different, no full ground zone defence, lower scoring for a start.

We saw the dogs win in 16 with fleet hands, 17-20 was the tigers manic pressure era, 21 was free flowing fast scoring attacking football with the dees and that stands to this year with the cats.

Footy shifts by degrees year to year and he’s not coached in 3 and not been successful in 8.

He watches, I’m sure he analyses and he was a brilliant coach when it came to breaking down systems and maximizing his teams strengths.

If he can still do that then he’s probably the right guy but we don’t have much proof that he is still that guy.

I get your enthusiasm for him, I really do but saying footy is the same as it was in 2015 and that’s why he’s right is not the answer. If he does the same thing he did in 2015 we’ll be fighting for the number 1 draft pick not the flag.
After the centre bounce - the moment there is a secondary stoppage.

6-6-6 is completely nullified.

Geelong successfully employed a spare pack in the way we used Fisher. They use Stewart.

The entire league conduct a forward press and push numbers up and around the ball - hence the high half forwards now being genuine mids ala Josh Dunkley.

Lyons game plan dared clubs to come through the corridor and go quick. Because once we slowed them down, they could only go left to right or backwards once we got the zone in place.

that is pretty much football today.

your next point countering me that he isn’t a top 8 coach today.

Christ scott
Hardwick
Clarko (if he coaches)
Longmuire
Goodwin
Beveridge
Simpson

Are the only ones with legitimate claims as being better than Ross and is still have him above Goodwin Beveridge and Simpson.

The last 11 seasons - Watters and Richo would have been in the bottom 3 coaches for quality.

Ratts in the bottom 8

The private schools hand hold you through VCE.
Maybe now, however back when I went through it was more about the competitive environment everyone wanted to do well, so the teachers didn't need to hold your hand, majority were attentive in class and dilligent in their study out side of school.
The teachers wanted to teach students who wanted to learn.
I was lucky to get to go there I reckon.

Anyone arguing that Rossco is the best coach for us right now has little applicable empirical evidence to suggest this with any certainty over any potential candidate. Stuffthat happened 10 years ago is great but lots changes over time.
We love him for how far he got us but if his name was Adam Smith with the same record this would be an entirely different conversation.

Sacked not long after this.

This is the most recent evidence.

Had them 7-5.

In the eight. Beaten 4 sides above them.

Everything went to s**t.

Look a little deeper and…

Star recruit Jesse Hogan, key defender Alex Pearce and emerging forward Matt Taberner have all been ruled out for the remainder of the season.

While Nat Fyfe has been plagued by shoulder and elbow injuries, the Hill brothers have battled to stay fit and big man Aaron Sandilands has only recently returned from a long injury layoff.

I'm not worried about coaches worst years, all clubs have those but we have had one good season during unprecedented times in 11 years.

Coaches run their course and messages get stale and players burn out after coming close for no reward. He needed to leave us and the Dockers realistically. He looks like a guy who loves the challenging but not the rebuilds.

I've spoken to a few Saints that like me were almost ready to give up and everyone is pumped just to have a circuit breaker it seems. Even if this is a dead end it just feels like relief for now. I'm probably deluded but Rossy seems like the man for the moment, feels like it's started a fire under the place. Maybe finally some luck is going to fall on the Saints. We had a lucky miss in Clarko and the planets have aligned for us for once.

The players seems uncertain and a bit lost. Ross is the right guy to fix that stuff. I'm really looking forward to what he brings next year. As much as everyone says he inherited great lists his talent was for making good solid citizens integral pillars of the side. Guys of Dmac's level were first picked for what they could do not punished for what they couldn't do.

Sydney are good at that and Geelong were the kings of it this year. Their list has a very very good half a dozen players and a pile of good even talent below that and can even carry a few battlers. It was a soft year but they are in the history books as winners.
I’m telling you now.

If he comes back. It’s righting a lot of wrongs that’s caused so much bad heebie Jeebies in the place.

The feng shui would be ****ed. 😂

After the centre bounce - the moment there is a secondary stoppage.

6-6-6 is completely nullified.

Geelong successfully employed a spare pack in the way we used Fisher. They use Stewart.

The entire league conduct a forward press and push numbers up and around the ball - hence the high half forwards now being genuine mids ala Josh Dunkley.

Lyons game plan dared clubs to come through the corridor and go quick. Because once we slowed them down, they could only go left to right or backwards once we got the zone in place.

that is pretty much football today.

your next point countering me that he isn’t a top 8 coach today.

Christ scott
Hardwick
Clarko (if he coaches)
Longmuire
Goodwin
Beveridge
Simpson

Are the only ones with legitimate claims as being better than Ross and is still have him above Goodwin Beveridge and Simpson.

The last 11 seasons - Watters and Richo would have been in the bottom 3 coaches for quality.

Ratts in the bottom 8
If you want Ross to come and coach the way he did in 2015 because that’s when he was last successful and you seriously think footy is the same as it was then I’m stoked it’s not your decision.

That’s not saying Ross isn’t the right person, just that he has to have evolved since then (which he probably has).

I also didn’t say he wasn’t I asked what’s it based on?

Hope the Board and the Executive have a wider view of things than most posters on here.

Seems the general consensus is that Bassat will roll over and have his belly tickled by Ross then give him a five year contract. Thankfully, I think Bassat is a bit stronger than that.

I suspect they'll be looking very closely at the Swans - just might be the current home of our next coach.

If you want Ross to come and coach the way he did in 2015 because that’s when he was last successful and you seriously think footy is the same as it was then I’m stoked it’s not your decision.

That’s not saying Ross isn’t the right person, just that he has to have evolved since then (which he probably has).
I want Ross to come and coach and have made It crystal clear that it has nothing to do with X and O’s

It has everything to do with creating an elite environment

He will also be supported by the best support staff he will ever have.

You can tell me the game has changed all you like. It really truly isn’t that different.

I was the same gringo a bit iffy about next year and was going to down grade membership, I can't wait now

Have another mate that stopped going this year said it was unwatchable already booked in for lunch before the 1st game

A little hope goes along way

Anyone arguing that Rossco is the best coach for us right now has little applicable empirical evidence to suggest this with any certainty over any potential candidate. Stuffthat happened 10 years ago is great but lots changes over time.
We love him for how far he got us but if his name was Adam Smith with the same record this would be an entirely different conversation.
I like him because he doesn't accept mediocrity from his players. I'm of the belief we have a top 4 capable list, they're just not committed to playing to the best of their ability right now. Why would they when they get hugs and positive affirmations from Ratten? When they can rock up to pre-season training in whatever condition they like. Ross won't accept that.

Either the players buy in, or they're playing VFL. Who else remembers when he dropped Milne, Dal Santo and someone else I can't remember? Best way to kick them into gear, and it's a trick Ratten never tried - unless you're a fringe 22 player, that is.

I'm not worried about coaches worst years, all clubs have those but we have had one good season during unprecedented times in 11 years.

Coaches run their course and messages get stale and players burn out after coming close for no reward. He needed to leave us and the Dockers realistically. He looks like a guy who loves the challenging but not the rebuilds.
That seems a bit "unprecedented", to be fair ...... ???

Maybe now, however back when I went through it was more about the competitive environment everyone wanted to do well, so the teachers didn't need to hold your hand, majority were attentive in class and dilligent in their study out side of school.
The teachers wanted to teach students who wanted to learn.
I was lucky to get to go there I reckon.

These days they push the stragglers out and get you through. A 90+ at an elite private is worth about 10 less than in a public school IMO. Select entry public is similar to the privates though.

Yep - that would be my first question to him when I get on the panel.

Ross, its 5 minutes the 3rd qtr in the GF and Max Gawn has been shoving it down Oliver and Petracca's throats at the centre bounces and the 6/6/6 formation has meant 3 goals in 3 minutes to them and they've hit the lead - so - what's your plan?

I want Ross to come and coach and have made It crystal clear that it has nothing to do with X and O’s

You can tell me the game has changed all you like. It really truly isn’t that different.
Quote: He will also be supported by the best support staff he will ever have.

giphy.gif

We really have no idea what kind of environment he creates, there are a stack of things that go into selecting a coach, most of us arguing against you aren’t saying Ross isn’t the guy, just that we hope there’s some checks and balances to ensure he is all the things you blindly hope he is.

You think the game hasn’t changed… I don’t know what you watch but it clearly isn’t footy.