No Oppo Supporters St.Kilda sack Brett Ratten

Let me premise this post with the statement that I am on board. I think Ross will set good standards and squeeze more out of both individuals and the team.

I’m pretty confident he will get us closer to finals. I’m just not sure he can get us all the way there.

I don’t remember being overly angry when Ross left us. I actually remember being kind of relieved. I felt like his game style was dour and uninspiring. I also felt like he had ground players bodies to the point of breaking by making them play his dour defensive style.

I’m not saying that’s accurate, but it’s definitely how I felt at the time. And I’m not sure this Leopard can change its spots.

I remember losing grand finals with Ross Lyon, and I’m still dealing with the emotional ptsd that evolved around that. And we had such a great ****ing team in comparison to our current list.

Winning games under Ross Lyon is not the end all be all for me. I would have preferred a younger coach with a new voice who can challenge and inspire the youngsters with a fresh football system. And maybe having Ross as Head of Football.

I hope Ross can get us playing an attractive potent game. But his reappointment only pays off if he takes us all the way to September glory. Any other result and this will be a monumental waste of time.

Swans led pretty much all game, were just a step too good. We never looked like winning it. Missed the eight the following year and then ran a broom through the entire club.
The TPP was bursting & Pelchen was keen to tear it down & start again.

Watters too.

The exodus began.

Yeah thought so. We made the eight that year but were just making up the numbers.
I remember thinking "ah well, it's been a meh year but this is just a blip on the radar, we'll be back to playing GFs from next year"

11 years of Watters, Richo and Ratts pain later....

I think you are underselling the input of Steve Hocking

Steve Hocking had heard all the talk when he arrived to replace veteran CEO Brian Cook, who had been at the club for 23 years, at the end of last year.

He knew the lay of the land and set about a “big reset” of the club he used to play for. Included in that was some strong heart-to-heart conversations with Scott with the mutual respect between the pair meaning it was anything but lip service.

But there was more things at play behind-the-scenes with Hocking taking a big stick to the football department changing 16 of the 34 positions.

So they refreshed the assistants and came up with a more attacking game plan and measures to preserve their old guys. They definitely changed stuff up but at the core of it Geelong could bring in youth to play the old guys roles because they are a well drilled and systematically coached side.

Steve Hocking was another fresh voice but I think Scott has proven to be a master coach over the years. You don't accidentally stay top of the ladder over 20 years.

I remember thinking "ah well, it's been a meh year but this is just a blip on the radar, we'll be back to playing GFs from next year"

11 years of Watters, Richo and Ratts pain later....
I could see the writing on the wall. We were cooked after 2010.

Hang on, it is not 'shouting someone down' when he/she/or it (I don't care about gender on a football forum) is basically stating incorrect facts.

So she denigrates us saying we all have rose coloured glasses, but we can't respond to her rubbish about the gameplan being kick it to Roo, or it was the coaches fault we kicked points in a grand final or we tried to fix Allen when he did his hip in a final?

If in my opinion a post is rubbish, I have the right to respond and correct said rubbish.

No.

You don’t have to bash every post whether it’s right, wrong or anything in between.

A modicum of restraint every now and then makes this forum a better place.

Unless you’re Geezington or Choomah in which case you should just let rip.

No.

You don’t have to bash every post whether it’s right, wrong or anything in between.

A modicum of restraint every now and then makes this forum a better place.

Unless you’re Geezington or Choomah in which case you should just let rip.
Everyone better get it out of their system.

He is coming.

Defensive football will be returning to Moorabbin.

I could see the writing on the wall. We were cooked after 2010.

And I think that's a huge part of being a Saints fan.

"We took our shot and missed, time to blow it up and start again"

Nah, Keep the gun coach and bring in some fresh voices - New assistants, couple new players, a few positional changes to freshen things up on field and challenge some blokes.

It takes a heap of selflessness and a willingness to trust the 'process' but that's waaaaaaay better than turfing the list and tanking for picks.

Oh nooooo, I’m going to miss seeing the repeat rebound 50 goals against us

My favourite was knowing teams had 7 point plays against us.

Kick a point and if Doogs or Brad Hill pick the ball up you know they are getting it back for another shot at goal anyway.

My favourite was knowing teams had 7 point plays against us.

Kick a point and if Doogs or Brad Hill pick the ball up you know they are getting it back for another shot at goal anyway.

Or bleeding one or two goals in the last 30 seconds of everything quarter.

Now that was fun

gImagine Ross' post match member videos.

"G'day Saints fans.

If you didn't like that you can * right off.

See you next week. Or not. I couldn't give a rats arse".

Every. Single. Week.

Ultimately, I'd be happy with "G'day Saints fans ... job done ... next barramundi ... don't plan a vacation this September"

I was always critical of RTB seemingly not having a plan B at the pointy end (mind you, how much of a Plan B can you really have when you're kicking like St Kilda?) but I do feel like he could be able to bring the best out of our current group (once they change their undergarments and freshen up), simply through setting a high bar for standards, and better selection integrity. I can't imagine it being anything other than "If you want to play for Sandy at TBBO each week, that's fine by me ... but if you want to be best-22 for St Kilda, you'll earn it, you'll sweat for it, and you'll bleed for it if necessary ..."

Also think that players like Bytel, Windhager and Owens will only get better with Saint Lenny running the midfield, and our defence should be better than ever after 12 months of Enright. Fix the kicking yips in the forward line, and we've certainly not got the worst list in the land. Sure, not much in the way of absolute stars (Steele/Wilkie/Sinclair/King stand out), but plenty of ways to hurt a team across the lines.

Or bleeding one or two goals in the last 30 seconds of everything quarter.

Now that was fun

Dogs supporting mate lamented all year that they gave up red time goals. I'd always chuckle like "you think you know red time goals against, i was born of it, moulded by it, i never knew lockdown defense in the last 5 until i was already a man".

The latest catch phrase "going through the process " kind of makes me wonder if people know what it means.
OK lets make Lyon perform a number of exercises to see if he has the ability to be a senior coach, lets see how he would respond in certain situations....oh wait ... we sort of know already.

"going through the process " is no magic crystal ball that lets you tell if that coach will win you a premiership or is even the best available.
Its amazing how many people go through several job interviews, get a job, then are found to be unsuitable within a few months.
For a Coach, a full year as assistant by Ratten was about the most intensive "process" you could go through. Doh!!! Fail !!!

Due diligence is the other thing people like to go on about. Like if you do some magic due diligence you can tell that someone is going to go off the rails with a cigarette lighter a dwarf and a schoolgirl sometime in 2026.
It's management consulting bullshit, with it's powerpoint presentations and other w***ery, which has infiltrated into the sport.

Can't wait to see the presser with RTB in charge!

Couldn't be more happier having him back on board personally.

My last 2c opinion on this. In the corporate world, you live by the sword and die by the sword. In this case, signing up Ratten on a 2 year contract then sacking him imo is a terrible look no matter what way you want to paint the picture (i wanted Ratts gone 2 years ago). They have justified their decision with the review findings and that's fair enough.

It still doesn't paint Bassatt and Lethlean in the best light considering they even admitted they needed to support him more. They have gone straight after Ross as he was the one in mind and was based on the review. If this turns to cr@p then imo Bassatt and Lethlean both need to step down. It's the way it works in the corporate world. There are only so many mistakes you can make and this would be the last one.

I have no issues if she or anyone doesn’t like him.

But to spout an opinion as fact - is wrong.

So by all means hate Ross. Hate that he will be our new coach.

But to slam him as someone who will never be successful because of dour football is laughable. He is more successful than most coaches that have ever coached.

And for others to apply the measure of success as a flag - forget how that measure applies to everyone who stepped through the door of our club.

That’s my point. Whether you like him or hate him. Up to you.

But don’t let your hate cloud his capability and achievements and don’t let a lack of a flag be what determines success.

That’s me generalising most posters this morning.

I cbf arguing points for against etc etc.

He is coming, it’s done.

How we got here is irrelevant and that includes process.

We all put a bit of mayo on our opinions. I am all in on Ross but I can see the reasons why some are a bit concerned about the appointment. Everything's a gamble but this is a sort of rehashed gamble. He's not the only path we could take and some are going to need time to come to terms with it.

If it stuffs up we'll all be piling on and see all the old issues as pointers that we should have recognised. If he takes us back up the ladder we'll all put it down to his genius instead of a good injury run and easier draw. Footy opinions are very black and white.

So now we are focusing on that he didn’t win the big dance so can’t be considered a great coach.

Guess Harves/Lockett/Rooey weren’t great players because they never won a flag.

That his poor attack is the reason.

Which is funny as GT was all attack and no defence and we never got to the big dance.

Ultimately- you can argue among yourselves regarding this after this post. It’s exhausting.

But he had a top 4 defence every year from 2009-2015. 2 of those years were historical - from memory 09 was the greatest defensive side in history, 2014 or 15 not far off.

If you are holding sides to scores like this, I’m not sure the assessment that his attack was crap in comparison is fair. Maybe there is a better balance? But that’s another discussion. There is a trade off to having a defence like this.

09 and 13 - he was bad kicking from winning a granny.

10 - HIS COACHING got us back into a game against by far the best side in the league post Roos Hammy and the bounce of a ball would have stopped all this crap posting.

That Freo side has no right being that successful with the level of talent they had.

After 08 - the word on stkilda was that we didn’t have enough talent to match Geelong or the up coming Hawthorn dynasty.

He had us in position to win and bridged the gap.

Now continue hypothetical talks about how he is out dated needs to change his game plan.

Ultimately you’ll get an evolution. Not a revolution.

You will get the same Ross at his core as back then. Maybe some make up and a more polished media performer to rub your bellies.

But the club has brought into him. That means we will see more football that “didn’t win grand finals”.
I really think you are wasting your breathe, trying to get people on board with Ross, the only way to change peoples mind, one way or another is the way the team plays.