No Oppo Supporters St.Kilda sack Brett Ratten

lol yeah I’m sure the reason was petty and not that we were a bottom 4 team in the second half of the year in terms performance. Huge respect to Bassat for having the balls to do this. He made the decision knowing we are gonna gonna get roasted by the dumb football media. It was defensible at the time but takes guts to admit that the extension was wrong.

This off season has been transformative. We need cultural change in the football department. If you had told me that Lade and Ratten would be gone and Geoff Walsh installed as footy boss two months ago I would have been ecstatic.

Now to get the appointment right. Will be interesting to see if Gallagher is also under pressure.

Petty .... in that we went 3 & 8 for the last half of the season with no semblance of a game plan or match day coaching nous and when we we did win games this year it wasn't off the back of a solid 4 quarter performance but a 20 min burst of manic unsystematic pressure ..... you mean that kind of petty?
I meant the reason for his sacking was petty

So if they landed a senior gig you'd want us to go after them? :)
Outside of Yze who was a bridesmaid in 3 seperate panels to 3 different people.

Not one of them came down to the final crunch.

That’s the concern.

The fact Yze got overlooked 3 times is a concern. Means he is missing something.

Not one of them landed a senior gig in the 3 that came up recently.

Hard pass

Mitchell was unavailable as he was already signed for Hawks.
Kingsley did land a senior gig.

Essendon and North both decided on an experienced coach rather than an "unknown".
Is that the correct approach? Only if you choose the right one. Clarkson was inexperienced before the Hawks.

Plenty at the Dogs want him gone. He's untouchable because he took them to the top of the mountain but there are some fractures at the club and he's got enemies within the playing group. Guys want out and there are some social issues that seem hard to manage. I think if you sniffed around they would probably let him walk and try to make it out that they wanted to keep him.

The difficulty is that the Bulldogs would then need to find a new coach at this late stage. Not sure they would release Beveridge from his contract.

Just imagine though that he did coach us and lead us to the promised land. Beveridge would have to go down as one of the greatest coaches in AFL history. Coaching two kindred souls to Premierships.

It would be an incredible achievement. And it would surely be tempting for him to try.

I gotta laugh at the calls for Bassat to get the arse too. Guy who actually initiated the review that many have been crying out for, lol. Completely cleaning out the football department and last night getting rid of what many believed to be the main reason for our situation.

I'm okay with mistakes as long as they are corrected and not repeated.
But we didn't learn from our mistakes and the same things keep getting repeated. We literally did the same thing by signing on a coach then sacking them within months just 3 years ago with Richo.
images

Mitchell was unavailable as he was already signed for Hawks.
Kingsley did land a senior gig.

Essendon and North both decided on an experienced coach rather than an "unknown".
Is that the correct approach? Only if you choose the right one. Clarkson was inexperienced before the Hawks.
My point was more they weren’t in the final consideration for another job bar Yze and 3 clubs overlooked him - including the giants and Essendon where he was the big favourite

But we didn't learn from our mistakes and the same things keep getting repeated. We literally did the same thing by signing on a coach then sacking them within months just 3 years ago with Richo.
Heh, I knew that'd come up. That wasn't Bassat.

Last week there were articles about which coach was under the most pressure in 2023, Ratten was always high if not top of the list.

One week later, it’s apparently a brutal call.

**** no, this is a ballsy call which i’m all for. I wanted to give Ratten a chance and was thrilled after 2020, but we went so far backwards even with our team in my honest opinion improving (shows how bad we were prior to that).

I applaud the club if they’ve seen certain things where they thought we can’t continue with him, even if it’s only 100 days after the renewal.

I remember questioning life when McKenzie was awarded a 3 year extension, sometimes things will work out for the best and I hope this situation is one of them.

Great guy Ratts, but under pressure he really looks to struggle.

Mate there were basic glaring deficiencies in our game even I could see week in week out. It was the same shit from Cho and Ratts.
Bassat nailed it when he said we need to get out of this rut of mediocrity. There was no way if we were fare dinkum with the review we could overlook the coaches role in our latest phase of mediocrity.
I wholeheartedly agree. Let’s get ****en savage and not look back.

Outside of Yze who was a bridesmaid in 3 seperate panels to 3 different people.

Not one of them came down to the final crunch.

That’s the concern.

The fact Yze got overlooked 3 times is a concern. Means he is missing something.
Fair enough. I thought you were saying it was a hard pass if they didn't land a head coaching gig...that didn't make much sense to me lol.

Outside of Yze I reckon Lappin would be great and Caracella is up there too. Luckily Essendon shat the bed and pushed old mate Scott into a job (don't think anyone who missed getting the Essendon job is a write off, their 'process' was a joke) and Clarkson will get the arse at North so they've both left the door open for us to get a quality freshie in.