No Oppo Supporters St.Kilda sack Brett Ratten

I'm worried about the appointment but confident enough to know we aren't the shitshow that Essendon are. We have good people running this review and we aren't going to shoehorn someone into a role like they did. Apparently he didn't even interview.
I hope so but let’s not forget most of the people who are now going to oversee this also extended ratts…

I wouldn’t have any issue with Hird if he was deemed the best for the job, but surely he’s been out of the game for too long and will need to do an apprenticeship before he’s a serious chance of coaching anyone again.
I can’t see any reasonable process that looks at what he’s bringing and assesses risk having him be the preferred candidate personally.

Posted elsewhere in Big Footy. Perhaps the best summary of the situation I have seen so far.
Nothing like fresh eyes to nail it.

Quote:

29 minutes ago
2 months ago..
I wonder if this is tied in with rhe Clarkson s**t?
Nah I don’t think so. They appointed some campaigner in a new role. He thought I fukken better do something it’s fukked here. He pointed to this campaigner and said campaigner your off.

Pretty sure that’s what the campaigner did.

I can’t see any reasonable process that looks at what he’s bringing and assesses risk having him be the preferred candidate personally.
Yeah as I said I think he’s been out of the game for too long and will need to do an apprenticeship before he gets another look in. After that I wouldn’t have any issue with my club appointing him if they deemed him best for the role.

I don’t reckon the favourable treatment of Hill did Ratts any favours.

Roasting the other players for not “giving” it to Hill often or correctly when the others are the ones putting their head over it to win it wouldn’t sit well

Also the roasting of higgins in rnd 1 for not giving a pass off to gresh and instead backing himself in to take the shot.

Higgins copped this kind of stuff more and more obviously through the year- making him go into his shell and passing off stupidly etc.

Of course that kind of stuff doesn't alone result in a coach getting the flick.
But they are indicators of a bloke not being capable of setting our players up to get the best out of themselves.

I hope so but let’s not forget most of the people who are now going to oversee this also extended ratts…
Yes they did and they've corrected their mistake, can't really ask for much else. Worse if they didn't acknowledge their mistakes.

Balls on the line…

I reckon they’ll go with Sir Leonard as the coach with heavy oversight from Walsh and Damien Carroll.

Don’t forget Carroll has been previously Head of Academy at the Filth, coached Box Hill from 2011 to 2013, including winning the flag in his third season, then becoming an assistant coach with the Hawks.

Was also the five team VFL TOTS coach.

Yeah as I said I think he’s been out of the game for too long and will need to do an apprenticeship before he gets another look in. After that I wouldn’t have any issue with my club appointing him if they deemed him best for the role.
I’d still be filthy but if there’s a process I wouldn’t burn the membership.

If we just appoint him Clarko style I’m done.

Look, I think many saw issues with the coaching, and the review cannot be labelled as window dressing now.

But if we hire Hird, then I'm probably done. If the club doesn't care about the welfare of the players, then I don't any more either. Save the petrol driving from an hour and a half away, the juggling of kids soccer schedules and all the other efforts to make sure I get to games.

I state unequivocally: James Hird should never work in the industry again. Anyone else and I'll talk myself into it.

Balls on the line…

Sir Leonard as the coach with heavy oversight from Walsh and Damien Carroll.

Don’t forget Carroll has been previously Head of Academy at the Filth, coached Box Hill from 2011 to 2013, including winning the flag in his third season, then becoming an assistant coach with the Hawks.

Was also the five team VFL TOTS coach.
And Big Bad Bustling Barrels as head recruiter, no?

Sad to see Ratten go, good bloke, but the ladder trend is down not up after 3 years.

Hiring a coach after 8 and 3 makes sense after that we were woeful. 3 and 8 and no where near contending for a flag.

Review brings up inadequacies and our President went whack whack whack.

Walsh's narrative about being irrelevant is interesting he is only repeating what someone in the club is saying. As a new employee you tend to parrot the corporate line for a while at least....his view is a view held internally and the review by Noble gave the President the ammunition to execute and hasn't he done just that.

If we had Finnis as CEO still we would get Danny Laidley as coach to ensure we are seen to embrace inclusion.

Essendon is such a shit show they had to hire an established coach.

North is a shit show had to hold out and get Clarkson.

We hired Richo for stability after Waters fiasco, Ratts for stability and for my mind it made sense.

Last coaches that got us anywhere were Jean's, Alves, GT, Lyon all rookie coaches.

We need to do the same..but support them with some real experience. Walsh can fix up the Football Department Leethlan gives us a hard football focussed edge as CEO.

Get Lyon or Buckley in as a Mentor role for Yze or Leppisch or McVeigh.

Pike no the camp decision knocks him out.
Hird drugs decision locks him out.
Ross Lyon sexism in Freo locks him out
Noble just not a head coach but has football knowledge.
Bucks is such a polarising figure not now.

Lenny needs to be eased back into AFL

Rob Harvey.....been overlooked soo many times is there a reason for that? I do not know.

One thing for certain its perform or you are out is the new culture at StKilda. As it should be. Mediocrity will not be tolerated.

President CEO Coach and Captain must be in absolute alignment to win a flag. This is the first step to do that.

Tough and hard but ultimately the righ call by our club.

On SM-G977B using BigFooty.com mobile app

Did anybody else wonder why Robert Harvey was in such a prominent place on the recent membership pack? Perhaps because he’s going to be the new coach…
Perhaps this was set in stone months ago…
Conspiracy…!!! 🤣
They sent those out based on the decade you became a member.

Showing your age...

The idea of Buckley makes my skin crawl a little bit. Just feels yuck. Find it very hard to warm to him.
I don’t want a coach we can “warm to.” We just had one.
I want a coach players will respect and bust their guts for.

What talent have we burnt and trashed?

Sheldon
Alves (after finals)
Watson
Blight
Thomas (after finals)
Ratten

In 125 years and 46 coaches, just 9 St Kilda coaches have a positive win loss record and since 1961 just 5 - Jeans, Sheldon, Thomas, Lyon and Ratten - and we sacked 3 of them. Our atrocious record of bringing on field talent into the club and getting it to perform, our atrocious record of developing draft picks - none of our 8 top 20 picks from 2013 -2018 have even been shortlisted for AA. None has won our B&F, not sure one has even finished top 3.

I'm not saying any of these decisions should not have been made - but that really doesn't matter. In the case of Watson - should have been sacked but shouldn't have been appointed. Same with Blight. So whether the sacking was wrong or the appointment was wrong, the pattern is the same. Appoint, give them minimal time to perform, under resource their footy department and move them out the door - none of them ever to coach again.

None of these decisions/failures means much on their own but when you build a picture of a club over a long period of time that shows a lack of clear direction combined with a 125 year history of massive under performance then things like suddenly sacking your coach just piles on.

Yes they did and they've corrected their mistake, can't really ask for much else. Worse if they didn't acknowledge their mistakes.
Yeah I really don’t like the recent attitude that you see so much of in society these days of “they made a mistake, they must be fired”

Loved Collingwood’s attitude this year which was basically the exact opposite.

They welcomed mistakes as they wanted everyone to take the game on

Having this “mistakes must be punished” attitude disincentivises risk taking and dare.

Sheldon
Alves (after finals)
Watson
Blight
Thomas (after finals)
Ratten

In 125 years and 46 coaches, just 9 St Kilda coaches have a positive win loss record and since 1961 just 5 - Jeans, Sheldon, Thomas, Lyon and Ratten - and we sacked 3 of them. Our atrocious record of bringing on field talent into the club and getting it to perform, our atrocious record of developing draft picks - none of our 8 top 20 picks from 2013 -2018 have even been shortlisted for AA. None has won our B&F, not sure one has even finished top 3.

I'm not saying any of these decisions should not have been made - but that really doesn't matter. In the case of Watson - should have been sacked but shouldn't have been appointed. Same with Blight. So whether the sacking was wrong or the appointment was wrong, the pattern is the same. Appoint, give them minimal time to perform, under resource their footy department and move them out the door - none of them ever to coach again.

None of these decisions/failures means much on their own but when you build a picture of a club over a long period of time that shows a lack of clear direction combined with a 125 year history of massive under performance then things like suddenly sacking your coach just piles on.
I'm talking about current day. The past is irrelevant, if we wallow in our lack of success we will go nowhere.

I just had a long chat to my mate who is very close to Ratts and he said at this point he cant tell me the reason he was sacked but said when he tells me in a week or two when things settle down he said i would laugh as its that petty.
Anyone thinking its to do with Hunter well he told me its nothing to do with it , Ratts was told around 8.00 last night so it sure didn't take long for word to get out.
My mate said Brett is just gutted but knew what he was getting himself into , also my contact doesn't believe anyone specific is being targeted for the new Head coach role