No Oppo Supporters St.Kilda sack Brett Ratten

Am I not being clear or something?

Richo extension - Peter Summers
Ratten extension - Andrew Bassat

Bassat wasn't responsible for Richardsons extension. He was responsible for Ratten's. He made a mistake and corrected it.
I've got a feeling that it was a probably split decision to go with Ratts extension, with Bassat and Lethlean having doubts and everyone else wanting to show that the club was "stable" and positive.

The post bye games against the Lions, Sydney and then the Essendon s**show probably confirmed to Bassat that he shouldn't have listened and should've over ruled the board.

Is it weird that I honestly don’t find this to be a disaster at all?

Yeh we shouldn’t have extended him and this decision should have been made at the end of the season and his previous contract but by luck that NOT happening just means we missed this Essendon, North, Hawks review s**t show.

We’ve got clear air as the only gig in town right now. It clearly wasn’t by design but we’ve actually kind of lucked out.
And lucked out we didn't chase Clarkson

The stars are aligning

Yeh we shouldn’t have extended him and this decision should have been made at the end of the season and his previous contract but by luck that NOT happening just means we missed this Essendon, North, Hawks review s**t show.

We’ve got clear air as the only gig in town right now. It clearly wasn’t by design but we’ve actually kind of lucked out.
The disaster is the fact we extended him not long ago.

The sacking is acceptable and most on here would back it.

When your fans can see the issues with coaching it's a major issue. The repeating the same thing that was obviously nowhere near winning games of footy and trusting that it would turn around naturally really started to wear thin.

This is a bit of instability but it's needed to improve. We went the safe soft option when we appointed Ratts and we got a safe soft coach who had us middling along. Time for some depending of excellence. This is a make or break appointment but better to go down in flames than fall asleep at the wheel.
Gringo when you and I can spot it then we really are ****ed mate.

Totally agree. I'm very upbeat about where we are now.

I honestly don’t understand why people wouldn’t want Ross.

Elite coaches around the globe get better the older they get. AFL seem to always want to go young.

Ross has a history of winning and building winning cultures and is desperately unlucky to not be a premiership winning coach.

The relationships he had with the players speaks for itself. Some lesser known players feel hard dons by him, sure, but he was in the business of winning, not coddling.

Development when he was here was an issue, but we were in the window and going hard. Reckon every club would do a similar thing with the list we had.

And I love his pressers.
The AFL industry is full of copy cats, and older coaches are simply not in vogue (although you can bet that if Brisbane wins a flag with Fagan that will change). But I do agree that there is very good evidence that older coaches can be very valuable.

And the information and data that is available on Ross as a coach is far far more informative than anything that can be gleaned from a couple of interviews and a powerpoint presentation with a rookie coach.

Maybe I’m revising what happened really poorly.

But when talking development.

From 08-10, there wasn’t a required player on that list who didn’t get better. He genuinely turned Joey fisher Goddard Into genuine stars.

McEvoy was tracking well.
Schneider and Milney became as good a small forward as you could get without them being superstars ala Robbie Gray

Roo and Lenny somehow went further.

Jason Blake became a very good CHB.

Etc etc etc.

The knock was youth and the control he had.
This is why I reckon we go untried. That was Ross' first stint as a head coach. He was able to set high standards for the players and pushed us to within a couple goals from being back-to-back premiers.

I couldn't give a flying feck what you or your mate think , the bloke that i spoke to this morning was meant to be having dinner with him on Wednesday night but Ratts Mrs was sick so they didn't catch up.

If what i posted had been posted by a few other select posters i bet you wouldn't have questioned them , how dare another poster have some info
Jesus Christ mate, chill.

I’m not saying you’re wrong I’m simply pointing out that something like “petty” is extremely subjective and Ratts might just have a reason (that no one would blame him for” for being mad about what’s happened.

Ultimately whatever reason Ratts thinks he’s been sacked for or even told he’s been sacked for isn’t going to matter a lick to a supporter base who watched us go from top 4 to bottom 8 in 12 weeks and has seen one final in his 3 year tenure.

Petty or not the reason he’s done is performance or lack thereof.

The disaster is the fact we extended him not long ago.

The sacking is acceptable and most on here would back it.
Yeh, agreed and as much as I wanna gloat about being a leader of the “this extension is stupid” crowd the sacking and review is a step in the right direction.

I've got a feeling that it was a probably split decision to go with Ratts extension, with Bassat and Lethlean having doubts and everyone else wanting to show that the club was "stable" and positive.

The post bye games against the Lions, Sydney and then the Essendon s**show probably confirmed to Bassat that he shouldn't have listened and should've over ruled the board.
I agree. I reckon he wanted to come in and let them go about their business but once he could see it wasn't working he's stepped in and initiated a full-scale review of the football department. This may not end up being the right decision, only time will tell, but at least he is getting up off his arse and making change.

This is why I reckon we go untried. That was Ross' first stint as a head coach. He was able to set high standards for the players and pushed us to within a couple goals from being back-to-back premiers.
We need high standards.

We need expectation.

We need a coach who is sure of themselves. Not trying to work out what they are on the fly.

We as a club, need to know what we have in the next 12 months. If this list needs more juice or if we blow it up to a degree.

Only a genuine experienced campaigner will be definitive with that

Bit of a left field call to me but just because I've got no idea outside of the talked about assistants. We need an inspired appointment, I trust you know more than me on him.
Huge wraps on him
Was at West coast last year freo got him this year.
West coast were gutted
Is a key reason for freos surge this year Similar coach to Justin longmuire

Yep agree with this .....stinks of something
John Longmire missed out a few times didn’t he? He certainly missed out to Ross Lyon at least. We need a new Ross that is more offensively minded. Was maddening in the end to have a game plan that was first to 60 then hold on for the win. Not to mention the lack of investment in up and coming players like Lynch.

Yeah that’s pretty quick for Ratts to start confiding in mates and for those mates to tell mates after “long chats”. The news is 14 hours old!
Its a family member of his , not uncommon for family members to talk to each other smart ass

Yeah that’s pretty quick for Ratts to start confiding in mates and for those mates to tell mates after “long chats”. The news is 14 hours old!
Yeah he's not getting on the blower to tell Wally from down the pub at 10pm.

Jesus Christ mate, chill.

I’m not saying you’re wrong I’m simply pointing out that something like “petty” is extremely subjective and Ratts might just have a reason (that no one would blame him for” for being mad about what’s happened.

Ultimately whatever reason Ratts thinks he’s been sacked for or even told he’s been sacked for isn’t going to matter a lick to a supporter base who watched us go from top 4 to bottom 8 in 12 weeks and has seen one final in his 3 year tenure.

Petty or not the reason he’s done is performance or lack thereof.
I wonder if "petty" would run to Ratts appearance ? Disheveled, pot belly, his face looks to be either permanently sunburnt or he has alcoholic
poisoning. His dad joke vibe at press conferences. Maybe not enough of a campaigner ?