No Oppo Supporters St.Kilda sack Brett Ratten

Frankly don't care about rating chasers in the media, I see no anger amongst the Saints supporters apart from a small minority.
The Age was very fair in their reports. Its only sensationalists like Purple carrying on.

The presser was a master-class and he couldn't cope. Only words, yes that's right, Saints should be winning games in October, what a spanner.
Robinson is irrelevant and will spit the dummy if we land Lyon over his rabble.

The rest are nobodies. Couldn't care less, this is a major reset and may break us out of our topor.
David King has demanded that "heads roll". I guess we have no choice now! :drunk:

You can look it up on google.

He builds strong friendships but also makes enemies which could come back to haunt him.

If he gets the job I hope he does well because he will be our coach , but today you really need a coach savvy in saying the right thing all the time or else he is hauled over the coal's for the smallest of things.
Anyone with his personality would make enemies. It is one reason they want him, elite feedback, doesn’t suffer fools and or lack of buy in.

Also if Nick Riewoldt is announced as forward coach, well…
Happy Very Funny GIF by Disney Zootopia

The only thing I wonder about is why he wasn’t interested in first Collingwood then Carlton then Essendon but now interested in us … to be honest I’ve never felt he had much affection for us other than the playing group from that period who are all gone ..

I know there was bits about the process in there but he must have more love for us than I realised !
Leonard hayes

Teams usually go through a process in selection of a coach , select Ross without due diligence would be a mistake - just look at Clarkson now.
I'm more weary about what the media does , they could easily be ready to pounce to stitch someone up.

It's getting to the point now you don't know what they dredge up.
Ross doesn't do processes

Harves wouldn't be a bad bet.
He's done quite the apprenticeship and well away from Moorabbin
Personally don't think he's got the characteristics the club was implying we needed in the presser.

Couple of things.
1) Brett Ratten would feel down about losing a job, but it is nothing compared to losing a child, Ratts will be fine I reckon.
2) where are the posters saying the review would be window dressing? Seems comprehensive, we have lost a coach, with the news on Luff reviewing the list management reckon Gags could be next.
3) if people don't want a Selwood at the club they are not serious about professionalism or a flag.
What's easier loosing a Coach or improving the list?

Geez, sounds like Ross Lyon is genuinely coming back. Don't know how to feel about that, he didn't exactly leave the list in great nick when he left, hopefully there's been some lessons learned since now and then.

I didn't think there was any chance of Ross returning to St Kilda after the circumstances in which he left us, I thought he had burnt his bridges.

Just crazy to think that it's a real possibility now but when you look at all the potential candidates he is one of the best options out there.

The only other potential candidates that have head coaching experience and taken a team to a Grand Final are Don Pyke and Mark Williams.

I wouldn't mind Pyke if he's available as he is highly rated from his time coaching Adelaide and has improved Sydney since he's' been there.

Choco is a great coach too but I think his days of being a head coach are over and I'm not sure he would even be interested in coaching us.

I'm not even sure if Pyke would be interested in coaching us either, at least Ross is interested in talking to us if he hasn't already done so.

St Kilda want to appoint their new senior coach within a fortnight, with Ross Lyon’s long-time lawyer expecting an approach from the club within days.

Lyon does not have an agent, but his long-time lawyer John Gdanski, also a friend and confidant of Lyon, and a former Saints board director, said on Saturday that Lyon, who has worked in the media and in business since he left the Dockers, was expected to chat with the Saints this week.

“He has definitely not been approached and, like anyone, is always keen to have a chat. He loves St Kilda … (but) unless there is a particular offer, he is very happy where he is,” Gdanski said.

“Wouldn’t it be great to see the two of them, Lenny (Hayes) and Ross, together again.”

The Saints are publicly refusing to discuss potential candidates, but former president Rod Butterss - the man who hired Lyon in 2006 - said that there was no reason why events of the past should shape how the club now views Lyon.

“No doubt - different regime, different time. We all move on. I know Ross is the sort of bloke that doesn’t stare in the rearview (mirror). As Blighty (Malcolm Blight) said to me once: ‘Don’t stare in the rearview mirror, you will end up running into the a … of the car in front of you’,” Butterss said.

“What I could say is that I have the utmost respect for Ross Lyon, in terms of what he has achieved, and the person that he is, and his football IQ,” Butterss said.

“He is intriguing to listen to. He was great to work with and a strong leader and a good bloke. He had that edge that we are here for a single purpose, and let’s get it done.”

If Ross Lyon does return as our coach I wonder if that would lure Nick Riewoldt into taking up a coaching role with us?

He has always talked about how much he loves Ross and his time playing under him as our coach so he might be tempted to work with him again.

He would make a great forwards coach, he was basically our forwards coach when he played with the way he directed our forward line, telling our other forwards where to position themselves and where to lead and giving them a spray if they didn't do what he told them.

If Ross could bring Nick with him he would be almost a certainty to be hired.
Nick I reckon is happy at Fox.

St Kilda want to appoint their new senior coach within a fortnight, with Ross Lyon’s long-time lawyer expecting an approach from the club within days.

Lyon does not have an agent, but his long-time lawyer John Gdanski, also a friend and confidant of Lyon, and a former Saints board director, said on Saturday that Lyon, who has worked in the media and in business since he left the Dockers, was expected to chat with the Saints this week.

“He has definitely not been approached and, like anyone, is always keen to have a chat. He loves St Kilda … (but) unless there is a particular offer, he is very happy where he is,” Gdanski said.

“Wouldn’t it be great to see the two of them, Lenny (Hayes) and Ross, together again.”

The Saints are publicly refusing to discuss potential candidates, but former president Rod Butterss - the man who hired Lyon in 2006 - said that there was no reason why events of the past should shape how the club now views Lyon.

“No doubt - different regime, different time. We all move on. I know Ross is the sort of bloke that doesn’t stare in the rearview (mirror). As Blighty (Malcolm Blight) said to me once: ‘Don’t stare in the rearview mirror, you will end up running into the a … of the car in front of you’,” Butterss said.

“What I could say is that I have the utmost respect for Ross Lyon, in terms of what he has achieved, and the person that he is, and his football IQ,” Butterss said.

“He is intriguing to listen to. He was great to work with and a strong leader and a good bloke. He had that edge that we are here for a single purpose, and let’s get it done.”

You would imagine they would be hired before the draft

Not to mention Rooke kicked that goal right on the siren so it's more like 23 or whatever

Reduce by 5 as goal line technology retroactively reduces it from 6 to 1 on Hawkins fluff. IDGAF if the AFL half arse it like everything else, get your shit right ya flogs.

RTB the obvious link, hence why everyone running with it.
We be right pricks if we announce shit after "yeah, Ratts is great bloke, we had honest discussions and everything is amicable" btdubz, this guy is his replacement, all hail new king, get stuffed hey.

Gia quietly trudging along, Yze screams Teague, Watters, Neeld. I like him better, understand why Kosi wouldn't though.

A fairly big part of my job is procurement and defensible process for equitable and value for money outcomes.

To me they should pick a panel to do the review and assessment. Select key criteria and weight those criteria accordingly. Set out the process by which to gain the information to make the assessment and then go through it.

It’s probably a key presentation on the list and playing group with a focus on what said coach would bring and do to improve us (including staff and players they would target for recruitment).

An interview with the panel asking questions about fit and culture and maybe a final interview with the leadership group.

If it was autonomously my decision that’s what I would do.

Ohh my god procurement still getting in the way of me getting what I want when I want even on bigfooty

That process is very sound if you are buying submarines but if you head hunting a senior exec that is not the way to go about it.

This is not a competitive tender where candidates have to sell themselves to a panel. When you are selecting execs you do a professional search you do it quietly and you identify the candidates that fit what you are looking for and you want to approach based on their record and on the recommendations of trusted people who have worked with them. You then offer them the job. By all means do a background check etc make sure there are no skeletons.

This public selection process where candidates perform in front of a panel is some made up AFL thing and it only applies to Coaches not to CEO's not to COO's not to the GM of Football or List Management. The reason for that is they are all for show to appease the media and the members.

For some reason AFL coaches are treated differently to any other job and for some reason it is safer to appoint an untried rookie coach than someone with proven experience. We are the only sport or profession in the world where this is the standard practice.

Personally don't think he's got the characteristics the club was implying we needed in the presser.
It depends on what he's done elsewhere.

He's not played his hand in the media that's for sure.

He's a more actions not words kind of bloke I reckon

Ross doesn't do processes
I would of thought they would of liked to have a good talk to the management of Fremantle and stepped through the problems he went through there - Yarran twitter comments, players leaving because of him and a host of other items from kids with depression.

And by the way imo handled well - but what can come up and bite you.

I didn't think there was any chance of Ross returning to St Kilda after the circumstances in which he left us, I thought he had burnt his bridges.

Just crazy to think that it's a real possibility now but when you look at all the potential candidates he is one of the best options out there.

The only other potential candidates that have head coaching experience and taken a team to a Grand Final are Don Pyke and Mark Williams.

I wouldn't mind Pyke if he's available as he is highly rated from his time coaching Adelaide and has improved Sydney since he's' been there.

Choco is a great coach too but I think his days of being a head coach are over and I'm not sure he would even be interested in coaching us.

I'm not even sure if Pyke would be interested in coaching us either, at least Ross is interested in talking to us if he hasn't already done so.
I think its Nettlefold that shouldn't be allowed back after circumstances that Ross left

FWIW a lot of various sources are saying RTB has the gig.

“Between Andrew myself and the board. We have uncovered what we need and our members need to know we will be swift and decisive and go and find the coach we need”

“We know what we want to get. We know the characteristics we are after and we are going to go to the market and find it”
Pizza Yes GIF

Agree mate. I actually think the reason he pulled out of the Essendon round was because he’s had our gig lined up. This would’ve been in the works since the moment we were unlikely to play finals. RTB rates our list & has had a lot of good words to say about our team throughout the year. I reckon he sees a lot of potential.
agreed misha collins GIF

Nick I reckon is happy at Fox.

Yeah he has a pretty good gig there and seems to enjoy the media stuff so I doubt we could lure him away to coach with us but it wouldn't hurt to ask.

He might be more interested in a part time coaching role where he can still do media work as well, Dermott Brereton has done that with us and GWS.

Surely you would get the external view of someone actually competent at List Management.

Luffy was high up in champion data. Sounds like he left North in frustration. Used to do SEN and was a good operator.

Yeah he has a pretty good gig there and seems to enjoy the media stuff so I doubt we could lure him away to coach with us but it wouldn't hurt to ask.

He might be more interested in a part time coaching role where he can still do media work as well, Dermott Brereton has done that with us and GWS.
Just listening to him on the Howie Games you can tell he wants to excell in anything. At the moment that's Best On Ground and other fox stuff