No Oppo Supporters St.Kilda sack Brett Ratten

I agree with you mate I think it's done and Lyon is coach with those you mentioned behind him. Don't think we go untried either but bloody hell I would love if we did. Just got to hold out hope this works and there's some kind of plan post-Lyon if it goes **** up.
I think that‘s the plan. See how far we can go with the current group of players, some will argue our list is on par with collingwood or Sydney, yet they are both top 4 and we look far from it,

With a new coach, rebuild the foundations in coaching, recruitment, development, try to get the best out of our current group in the next 2-3 years, whilst keep hitting the draft and make our club super competitive again, if the next coach fails, at least we would have build the right culture, foundation to hire someone else and still be up there competing.

I think that‘s the plan. See how far we can go with the current group of players, some will argue our list is on par with collingwood or Sydney, yet they are both top 4 and we look far from it,

With a new coach, rebuild the foundations in coaching, recruitment, development, try to get the best out of our current group in the next 2-3 years, whilst keep hitting the draft and make our club super competitive again, if the next coach fails, at least we would have build the right culture, foundation to hire someone else and still be up there competing.
You'd hope so. Lyon into Lenny or Enright I can deal with, I just really hope we don't **** this up.

Some really interesting comments at 16:20 of that video when Dal asks him about his coaching philosophy - he talks about handling an experienced team vs an inexperienced team.

Couple of things.
1) Brett Ratten would feel down about losing a job, but it is nothing compared to losing a child, Ratts will be fine I reckon.
2) where are the posters saying the review would be window dressing? Seems comprehensive, we have lost a coach, with the news on Luff reviewing the list management reckon Gags could be next.
3) if people don't want a Selwood at the club they are not serious about professionalism or a flag.
Ratts, Lade, McGlynn gone.
Rath demoted (or at least not promoted)
Gags on shaky ground.

Don’t know much about Dilena, but Walsh has as excellent reputation.
No one can say we are not at least giving the place a shake up.
This is no window dressing review.

Get the off-field right and hopefully the rest follows.

Some really interesting comments at 16:20 of that video when Dal asks him about his coaching philosophy - he talks about handling an experienced team vs an inexperienced team.

Also speaks a lot about his evolution coaching evolution from 2007 to the Ross in that video.

He is by far the right choice.

This is the most excited I’ve been since 09-10

**** me took me ages to figure out RTB
happy season 3 GIF

More of a celebration on here I'd say. Feeling for Ratts of course but personally am bloody excited (and worried)...depends if we get it right.
Fact is…you take the risk, or you carry on doing the same thing that isn’t working. I’d rather take the risk.

99.9% we’re not winning it with Ratts - so whats the worst can happen - not winning it with the next guy?

Maybe I wouldn’t be so gun shy if we hadn’t wasted 6 years with Richo. Can’t face throwing all those years away again for nought.

Hes not an exec and we’re not doing it quietly so none of what your discussing really has any relevance.

If you’d bothered to read the preceding messages I made it explicitly clear that this is what I would do if it was my personal decision, I don’t expect this to happen nor do I particularly care if it doesn’t follow this process.

As I’ve stated numerous times in this thread, I just want A process of some description. The more thorough the better.

At the moment it looks a lot like we’re doing a Clarko with Ross. How did that go again?

What’s the harm in making this super competitive, ruthless, standard setting supercoach go through a competitive, ruthless, standardized process?

If he’s the right guy he’ll win it anyway, if he doesn’t want to do it then maybe he’s not as competitive as his fans are saying.
Can't read everything we are up to page 100+ already and this is equally my personal opinion

He is an exec he is one of if not the most important leaders at the club, and if you go by some of the whispers on here we have been doing things very quietly already and certainly the decision was kept extremely quiet.

Clarko would have been appointed by any and every club no matter the process - no panel would have dug up the stuff that ended up in that Hawthorn Report and Clarko like Ross would not consider entering into a public panel process to sell his credentials as a senior coach.

He doesn't need to prove he can do the job he clearly can and has. A powerpoint is not going to change his record. As I said do all the background checks and reference checks you need. Talk to the Freo guys who were put offside by him talk to Pavlich Mundy the Freo President at the time who ever he was make sure you know everything. But don't make him present to a trumped up panel alongside a bunch of rookies, that's not ruthless that's a sham for media consumption. Then make sure your vision is aligned on where the list is at and what the strategy is and what his role does and does not include. Maybe you are doing the same with Don Pyke who I am sure doesn't want to go through the public spectacle of these so called processes.

The last thing these guys want is to go through a public application in front of all the AFL media and get rejected even good assistants hesitate to do this more that 2 or 3 times because they worry about the damage to their reputation. Then you agree and announce your new coach.

All of this is still a process it is just a private process not a public show trial. Ultimately the board will make the decision they are accountable along with the CEO and GM of Footy Ops they are the only people who need to be convinced. Handing responsibility off to a Panel of experts is absolving yourself of that responsibility.

Fact is…you take the risk, or you carry on doing the same thing that isn’t working. I’d rather take the risk.

99.9% we’re not winning it with Ratts - so whats the worst can happen - not winning it with the next guy?

Maybe I wouldn’t be so gun shy if we hadn’t wasted 6 years with Richo. Can’t face throwing all those years away again for nought.
I think there's greater reward with an untried coach, ultimately I just hope we don't stuff this up. We need some things to finally go our way after a few bad decisions.

Jesus Christ. Some of the excuses for it not to be Ross

Ultimately it is very simple.

Don’t even think about flags and grand finals.

An ELITE ENVIRONMENT.

That’s what the next coach needs to create.

Without that, you get none of the flags and success we crave.

Ross doesn’t have to come in and be our premiership coach. He needs to come in and sort the place out.

It could be the person who comes in after him that gets the success - and that’s okay and it doesn’t need to be a planned transition either.

Again I keep repeating myself. WE DO NOT KNOW WHAT WE HAVE.

Is the list good enough?

What is the true deficiencies of it?

Is our recruitment s**t or is it coaching? Both?

If it is good, just how good is it? Can we rectify it via free agency? Is it good enough with the core we have + increase our spending into the footy department?

The reason I’m hell bent on Lyon. Is because I know in 12 months time. We can answer all of these questions.

I’m not putting the expectation of him needing to be our next premiership coach.

My expectations are A football club I’m proud of. That is relevant. That doesn’t constantly let us down when the lights shine on us.

We don’t need to over complicate it and we don’t need to be sheeps in process nor decision because the league dictates it must be done this way or that or second or third time round coaches fail.

We are so far away from being relevant. Let’s start small and let’s bring someone in that can gives us answers and set expectations of us internally.
Bin-TF-Go.

Totally agree.

Just quoting Ross's lawyer from the article you posted.

“He has definitely not been approached ...."

Prob 100% correct
No one has physically walked up to him and asked him about coaching st kilda again

Its ok
We understand
👌

Just quoting Ross's lawyer from the article you posted.

“He has definitely not been approached ...."

As far as I can see, unless we had our hearts set on Craig McCrae or Scott we've not been disadvantaged at all by the timing of the decision.

Lots of capable new and recycled candidates out there.
How does the same guy say he is expecting a call if he hasn’t been approached to know one is coming? 🤔

Ratts, Lade, McGlynn gone.
Rath demoted (or at least not promoted)
Gags on shaky ground.

Don’t know much about Dilena, but Walsh has as excellent reputation.
No one can say we are not at least giving the place a shake up.
This is no window dressing review.

Get the off-field right and hopefully the rest follows.
Dilena is a very good operator.

I’m a little the worse for wear this morning after going on a 09-10 Saints YouTube binge with a bottle of gin while the wife was away last night.

I’d advise you all to do it (minus the bottle of gin if that’s not your thing) to remind you what it is like to have a well drilled football team representing our wonderful club.

It wasn’t so much watching the likes of Roo, Lenny etc. that impresses you. It’s the way you clearly see that the players are playing selfless footy. Doing all the one percenters. Everyone is focused and brought in 100%.

No matter if it is a home and away or final, you can see that coming up against the Saints was a nightmare for the opposition.

Anyone, anywhere, anytime.

I want us to be back there.

Ross Lyon has taken the only two teams he coached to the Grand Final a short time after taking over as coach.

He is a brilliant motivator and organizer of young men. That is indisputable - even to his biggest critics. This stuff can’t be taught, and literally only a couple of other coaches in the whole comp can match Ross for this.

He is smart enough to adapt tactics to the modern game, or get someone to help with this. No doubt he will have learned from his mistakes.

It’s time for him to come back to the club where it all started, and get the Premiership both he and our club richly deserve.

I for one can’t wait.