Votes: 3 2.1%
  • Jack Graham

Votes: 54 38.0%

So Baker and Bolton to Freo for 7, 12 and 16. Rioli to GC for 6 and 20. Graham to SA for pick 22 (compo). Later picks to Brisbane for 17.

Leaves us with 1, 6, 7, 12, 16, 17, 20, 21 and 22.

That's some haul. You'd then try move a couple of them into next years draft.
Doubt we get that compo for Graham but it's definitely going to be a crazy set of picks. If it was me I'd be doing everything to get 4 within the top 10 with a couple of those in the top 5.

If all this comes through we will have an insane draft hand in a very deep draft. Plus we can trade into next year. And if the 2 year trade period comes in we get into 2025 and 2026 first rounds.

We must keep a good number of experienced players, especially leaders. If we can protect and support the kids coming through they will explode around 2027/28 and we will rise with a strong team that will only grow as the young guys push older guys out of an established squad.

Tightrope to walk. But this is an amazing chance to rip the draft apart and do an expansion club level of picks into a established list.

21 & 22 the way they're talking could get F1 picks off contenders. I'd just do that. Brisbane may be keen after taking Ashcroft & Marshall (or before the Marshall bid).

I'd reckon that clubs might trade future firsts for these picks. Very likely, especially if they allow trading 2 years in advance.

He's the must keep for me. Surely we would offer him huge coin. Do you match if he accepts an offer though (I assume he's restricted next year)?
Not if we are last and get band 1 compo

If all this comes through we will have an insane draft hand in a very deep draft. Plus we can trade into next year. And if the 2 year trade period comes in we get into 2025 and 2026 first rounds.

We must keep a good number of experienced players, especially leaders. If we can protect and support the kids coming through they will explode around 2027/28 and we will rise with a strong team that will only grow as the young guys push older guys out of an established squad.

Tightrope to walk. But this is an amazing chance to rip the draft apart and do an expansion club level of picks into a established list.
Vlastuin, Prestia, Ross, Taranto, Short, Ralphsmith, Lynch, Kozi, Balta, Hopper, Nankervis, Dow, Mansell, McIntosh, Broad, Pickett, Miller all experienced enough and 24 years and over.

Plus Lefau, Blight, Young all older, mature bodies but less experienced.

Then the 5 x 2021 crop

It's not as grim as it seems. The team will be ass but they won't be bereft of leadership by any means.

Not if we are last and get band 1 compo
True, probably can't match, as a trade would be worse than the compo, need to try sign him up and settle him in a position. Bit like when Lynch accepted our offer, Suns would have been crazy to match.

Do you regularly catch up for a coffee with montagna? But i've arrived at same sentiment was against trading bolton, but if you trade one trade them all
Na first time I met him today. I see ex Saint Andrew Thompson regularly tho and Montagna was with him today so we had a good chat about it all

I was the same as you in regards to trading out Bolton but it makes sense to do so as Leigh pointed out we have enough experienced guys to hold the playing group strong enough and would fast track our rebuild perfectly before Tassie comes in

Vlastuin, Prestia, Ross, Taranto, Short, Ralphsmith, Lynch, Kozi, Balta, Hopper, Nankervis, Dow, Mansell, McIntosh, Broad, Pickett, Miller all experienced enough and 24 years and over.

Then the 5 x 2021 crop

It's not as grim as it seems. The team will be ass but they won't be bereft of leadership by any means.
Absolutely agree.

We have the quality and depth to protect and assist the development of the draftees. Possibly the best of all worlds. Just we will be flaky for a few years. Then hopefully explode.

Then the 5 x 2021 crop

We will still have leaders but the playing quality of the leaders will significantly diminish, but will be replaced by Gibcus and the draftees in the next 4-5 years. Bolded are the experienced players and Ross (68 games), Mansell (49) and Ralphsmith (46) are all getting up there as well. Team is without any 2024 draftees

FB: Gibcus, Balta, Broad
HB: Short, Vlastuin, Banks
CEN: Ralphsmith, Ross, Pickett (90)
FOL: Nankervis, Taranto, Hopper
HF: Rioli Jnr, Lefau, Campbell
FF: Mansell, Lynch (89), Fawcett

BEN: Brown, Clarke, Prestia, Mcauliffe, Tresize

Could look at Ben Hobbs from the Dons. Can't get a game at the Bombers and it wouldn't be a bad look if we do lose some senior players.

2nd rounder could get it done
Too similar to Mcauliffe, and we already have Taranto, Hopper, Prestia and Ross. Don't think we need him at all, would prefer to take a chance on Archie Perkins of anyone at the bombers

To many stories being leaked about the players thinking that Yze is a tool.... not happy.

Interesting. I asked an ex team mate (still playing) what the boys thought of him and while he gave me little, his response didn't fill me confidence.

More than anything I think what the younger boys think of him is more important given the direction our list is heading.

Timing couldn't be any better. Potentially deepest draft since 01, already a strong draft hand that will only improve, followed by a top 5 next year that looks very strong, followed by 26 draft where we could possibly have a combination of F/S and Academy picks with a truck load of cap space.

Meanwhile the AFL is the most even it has been in years which means list managers will be pushing to contend rather than looking to rebuild. West Coast will be our biggest rivals for a couple of season.

Its only band 3. Not completely unrealistic.
I did admittedly forget that we are bad now and last lol! So, you're right, it's pretty realistic.
I'm too used to us not being bad.

21 & 22 the way they're talking could get F1 picks off contenders. I'd just do that. Brisbane may be keen after taking Ashcroft & Marshall (or before the Marshall bid).
Yeah look I'm going into this real blind I'll be completely honest! haha Think we'd be able to trade them with a team that would have a better pick than pick 11 this year though? Death ride and raid some clubs

Will be all part of the fun of trading for future picks is the death ride 😆