List Mgmt. Trade & Free Agency talk Pt 4

Kane Cornes reckons Richmond would be best fit for Ladhams.

Do these guys think about these things before speaking?

CCJ and Chol won’t get a game but Ladhams will?

Western Bulldogs would appear the best match for me and that would make sense if Martin isn’t going on next year.
Kane is a flog

He only saying that because of our draft picks and would be thinking #15 for ladhams

I cannot work out why people are freaking out about picking up Tarrant. By the time Tarrant finishes in two years wetering will be a free agent and will just pick him up. Tarrant will be a great fill in. Cost us nothing in draft picks and we can draft many midfielders into the club to address our real weakness.

There were people freaking out about Tom Lynch as well. People protesting out side their Union. People who want to recruit Casboult. Thing I’ve learnt this year is there is a small percentage of dumb as **** people and simple explanations and logic don’t work on them.

I dunno if their midfield beats ours at its best, as good as the Dees are currently playing...

Petracca, Oliver and Gawn are fantastic, but would you have Petracca over 2017 Dusty? A resounding no way. Would you have Oliver over 2017 Cotchin? Maybe for sheer number of possessions but otherwise no way, Cotchin was in everything, willed himself and what he lost in possessions he made up for in everything else in absolute spades, he is kinda paying for it now really given his body is starting to go. Gawn over Nank, yes, but different players anyway, Nank was/is huge for us. Then there's Viney, we have Prestia. Harmes, we had Edwards, pretty sure I know who I'd prefer. Langdon? I'll have Lambert thanks, how often he got away from contests into space was amazing. We'll always rate our own more highly but you can't deny how good our players are/were. I'd take our 2017 midfield over their current midfield for sure. Well, in the end at least we have the runs on the board with 3 flags and a prelim, let's see how they go.

But anyway it wasn't necessarily about comparing them to us, although yes, their best and worst does indeed seem smaller/less frequent, but that's why I brought up the quality of the league in general. Did Melbourne have as tough a group of teams to overcome compared to us? I'd argue not. They have some of the same teams up and about (Cats, Giants) who are now lesser versions of their 2017 selves I'd argue.

Anyway, hard to ever really know, was more just food for thought :)
aghh a very good deduction my dear watson, but its 2021 , we no longer have the 2017 version and our winged keel of yesteryear , Prestia shedda and lambo barely fired a shot between them in '21. with luck we should reasonably expect a much improved output in '22 however at their age, injury becomes more frequent and recovery time longer so we cant bet on it

excellent by Dimma…

* sorry to lose Cholly but fully supportive
* pissed of with CJ…agree 100%…interestingly it ain’t a done deal going off Dimmas comments …let’s see what transpires
* over the moon that RT wants to come to a real club…despite being 32 …his body is not broken….and allows us to mix it up a bit…bring it
was great insight wasn't it , as we've bantered dimma outlined RT releases grimes and balta to do their thang , its a great plan

He’s not even worth 115
ladhams best chance for PA would be low 30s , prob take it too he's prob on decent coin . remember after he kicked that goal in the pre lim and bruuuuuuce said should he be worried about that report for the GF ,,,,,no i dont think he should bruce

Bruce going the early crow thank **** that gimp doesn't commentate anymore

I would think the reason those other two midfields have gone past ours in 2021 more to to with:

a) our injuries, especially versus Melbourne’s midfield who have had a dream run, and

b) age demographic of the respective midfields. I think of the main mids/rucks from Melbourne and Bulldogs only Bailey Smith is not in the 24-29yo window, and in finals he has been played forward to good effect. In comparison we had Nankervis, Prestia, Lambert, Martin, McIntosh, Pickett in that window, and that lot missed 32 games between them. It meant Bolton, Ralphsmith, Martyn, Ross, RCD, Dow, Cotchin, Edwards, Graham, Baker, CCJ and possibly others who are not in that peak window for midfielders spent more time in there, and I think it is fair to say the best of that lot currently, Cotchin, Edwards, Bolton missed loads of games and were hampered in several games they did play.

I just don’t think you can sheet it back to height and weight of the midfields the way you have done. It would be a factor but the Richmond mid section didn’t have so much trouble with the Bulldogs or Demons in recent years. I also don’t buy that is largely down to rule changes either. These things play a part, but never as big a part as getting fit, prime age, and/or your best players into your midfield.
Fully agree with what you're saying and I was not trying to suggest that it's simply weight and height that makes the difference. However when you do look at them as a whole, the differences among our group certainly stand out. We have been able to get away with having a few undersized types rolling through because as a group they worked so well together complimenting each others strengths and covering for weaknesses.

As you said when a few of those players went missing or started performing below their best we got exposed. A bonus to that is we got to see Graham step up, Baker showed some promise further up the ground & Bolton had a breakout before hitting the wall. Then there were the glimpses we got of Ralphsmith Ross RCD Dow and to a lesser extent Martyn. Those kids if developed properly and allowed to play in their true midfield positions should hold us in good stead in a few years time. At the same time, there is no reason why we can't see a couple of them step in to replace aging players like Cotchin & Edwards.

Add in a couple more kids in the draft around the 185cm/82kg (give or take a few cms/kgs) mark and as I said we'll have the foundation of our next midfield unit. The bonus is that we've still got the stars around for them to learn off of.

And that would leave us with Garth, good solution all round. Miller can go home and Garth can stay on the list. Sounds like a good solution.
I never put that forward as a solution merely stating a fact. Reality is Garth and Miller could both leave and would only affect our Magoo's. The club just recruited Tarrant that shows their belief that Miller isnt up to being Astbury's replacement. It's hilarious how people slag off best 22 players on here all the time calling for the club to get rid of them when they're proven players yet there's an unjustified group of posters pumping up Miller's tyres on here. Hey he must have some pretty loyal mates or family members as posters I guess.

I'm enjoying reading this thread but what has the last 20 pages got to do with trade and free agency???? Carry on.
Comes down to the suggestion that we trade for someone like Mitchell or other ready made midfielder, while others are suggesting we use Baker which naturally leads to the discussion about whether our own young midfielders are adequate for the long term.

Back to trade talk.

Doesn't really involve us at the moment but

Sam Petrevski-Seton has requested a trade to WCE and Jordan Dawson has chosen Adelaide as his preferred destination.

Back to trade talk.

Sam Petrevski-Seton has requested a trade to WCE and Jordan Dawson has chosen Adelaide as his preferred destination.

Wow the SPP one is a shock

Hi Moppey,
Just wondering what you think of Jack Williams. He looks a good size and uses his body really well for a young fella. Is van Rooyen a lot better or do you rate them pretty close?

I never put that forward as a solution merely stating a fact. Reality is Garth and Miller could both leave and would only affect our Magoo's. The club just recruited Tarrant that shows their belief that Miller isnt up to being Astbury's replacement. It's hilarious how people slag off best 22 players on here all the time calling for the club to get rid of them when they're proven players yet there's an unjustified group of posters pumping up Miller's tyres on here. Hey he must have some pretty loyal mates or family members as posters I guess.
I have never once pumped his tyres, go back over all the crap if you're mad enough. I have mentioned a while ago that he has some good athletic attributes, better than most key backs. I have said we should have had a look to see if he is any good when we had a chance, but we didn't because we were hanging on by th skin of our teeth and didn't take a chance.

I have said all along we have no depth in the key backs, zero besides maybe Miller and a very young Bigoa. All I am saying is that getting Tarrant might tip Miller out, which would give us Garthwaite, which is no depth in a key back at all. Tarrant would have been a great get at 29 year, but at 33 next year it is a gamble. That is not irrational or unjustified, given how many of our 30+ players missed with injury last year, pretty much all of them, it is not far fetched at all.

And who's to say that Miller wouldn't make it. At his age Broad was running round the WAFL and for his first couple of years did nothing much other than good defensive work. Miller is 5cm taller, just as fast and a beautiful kick, what's not to like. How do you develop young players if you don't back them.

Hi Moppey,
Just wondering what you think of Jack Williams. He looks a good size and uses his body really well for a young fella. Is van Rooyen a lot better or do you rate them pretty close?
Williams is better. VR butchers the ball under pressure

Hi Moppey,

Moppey come on mate try harder

Back to trade talk.

The Dawson decision may involve us. Could see Adelaide wanting to trade 4 and 23 for 7 and 15 to help get a Dawson deal done. If there was a player we wanted to take before Hawthorn/Freo we might be into it.

Was thinking the same thing. Reckon I’d be happy with pick 4 (6) and then 3 in the 20’s. Might come down to if we can snag 20 of Norf - even if 26 goes back, &/or 17/18 off dogs .
mid teens seems about right for Dawson.