List Mgmt. Trade & Free Agency talk Pt 4

I think Mitchell could play well for a few years, happy to take punt on a proven elite ball winner, ready to go for flag tilt vs 50/50 punt of picking a good player with pick 15 who will take 3 yrs to be good, by then Dusty, Cotch, JR8, Edwards are all long gone.

Not on board with this. Mitchell cannot play anywhere else but midfield. If we are over the cliff we are stuck with an $800k/year player for 3-years, then he won’t retire after 3-years so it’s then another 2-3 on $500k before he retires. That’s 5-6 years denying a young mid development time. $4m in salary cap over 6-years. Losing a top draft pick. Maybe losing a top young player due to salary cap issues paying Mitchell ….

And Mitchell is not a dynamic midfielder. A great accumulator, but not a match winner….avoid!!

I don't want us to go down the path of giving up first round picks for 29 year olds.
Agree. Let’s face it, if we were into Mitchell for that Geelong pick, we’d have on-traded it to the Hawks during the 2020 trade period and got an extra year out of a 28 year old version of Mitchell.

The bottom line is, we simply don’t have the spare coin for him, even if the trade price was right. We’d need the Hawks doing a Treloar-like deal with us, but they’re not in need of a salary dump like Collingwood were.

I might be alone here, but I'd like to see us be a bit stubborn when it comes to the CCJ move.
If it takes him walking to the PSD then so be it.
That sort of stubborn shit helps no one and in the process we miss out on the potential next Jack Graham. Gold Coast did that with Jack Martin and they got absolutely nothing in return.

That sort of stubborn sh*t helps no one and in the process we miss out on the potential next Jack Graham. Gold Coast did that with Jack Martin and they got absolutely nothing in return.
This is a fair call. The way I see it is that we have plenty of picks in the Jack Graham region so to speak, where missing out on 38, which is, I assume the most they will be offering, isn't going to be the end of the world. .
Ultimately your way of thinking is correct, but I just don't want us bent over a barrel for a pick that isn't fair compensation. It's all well and good to accept less to get players to new homes that you're okay with losing but you need to make a stand at some point.

Kane is a flog

He only saying that because of our draft picks and would be thinking #15 for ladhams
No, he said the Tigers are losing two ruck/forwards so they’ll need backup.

Didn’t occur to this bloke who is paid to keep up with this sh*t, that the reason we are losing two ruck/forwards is because there’s no opportunities.

I doubt Ladhams is considering Richmond - he wouldn’t be as dumb as Kane.

That's still completely irrelevant for SEASON 2021
By the time those guys hit their 30th birthday, we'll likely have 2-3 more retirements from that group, so it will never actually hit the number you suggest
Caddy may not even be on the list next year after the upcoming trade period either.
I know all that this started off as a Tickle to ThisIsAnfield you know to tease and after a couple of mentions of it being a joke, people still think I'm serious I'm just playing along lol 3rd day and counting. :think::'(:tongueoutv1:

Y’all done lost your minds! Seriously blowing up our draft hand for a one trick pony who’s only real worth is he can accumulate Brownlow votes and rake in more cash than all but two of the players on our whole list. The whole Mitchell thing was a bullshit call by a footy ‘journalist’ that Mitchell laughed off two days ago.

You seem so persistently sure that Miller will be looking to leave for opportunity, but we really don't know that's the case. He's now had 4 years on the list, not 6 (unless you're suggesting he won't get more opportunity for another 2 years?)

Ultimately, I'd suggest the club would be telling Miller that there'll be opportunities if he's good enough.

And I also think Tarrant is a need for us to have one last crack while Dusty has some gas in the tank. Once he's in decline, we won't be a premiership threat until we unearth our next elite midfielder or two. We might fluke one with a strong hand this draft, but statistics suggest we'd need to bottom out and/or get our hands on a top 3 talent (or 2) to be in a position to build another premiership challenging list.

Sent from my CPH1951 using Tapatalk
5 years, including this year. I understand the desire for Tarrant, and yes it's a supposition that he might want to leave. But no so far fetched.

Three more great men.
for me 2 outta the 3 are great men,one of em was omnipresent in 2 of the most deliberate horrific on field incidents to ever occur
in the VFL in 1972 which happened to be only a week apart,the 2nd incident,the one after the much publicised and infamous first one, involved an 18yr old
in only his 6th game loosing the sight in one eye for the rest of his life courtesy of a king hit from a so called tough man
now i know u cant be fully responsible for what your players do on the field but i find it staggeringly ironic that the three most blatant
acts of assault,on the field, on an individual in the history of the game,thats including the Bruns incident now,were overseen by a cop or former cop :think:
coincidence ? GAGF'D(not u RATD);)

The ticket scalper on Footy Classified questioning why Richmond picked up a 34 year old after they let Bachar go.
Salty Hutchy making it obvious that he is biased by lying about Tarrant's age and by drawing a false equivalency.
Lols hutchy is an anti tigers moron who knows stuff all about footy... the two players he is comparing are totally different types of players. We don't require houli anymore because we have guys like stacky who can fill his position. KPD players like tarrant are a dime a dozen, take years to develop their craft and are worth taking a punt on. This is what happens when you have afl sycophants like him masquerading as sports journalists, they spew absolute crap.

No no no …. we are a fairly long shot for the flag, but it’s a chance. I reckon we’ll be 8-1. Mitchell would need $800k for 3-4 seasons. And we’d lose a top draft pick. And how do we find the money for Bolton, Balta, Baker etc… in 1-2 years time with reasonably big money tied up in Prestia, Dusty, Lynch, Vlastuin AND Mitchell …..

Mitchell has ‘Jezza Cameron’ written all over it.

Save our cash for you know who next year.