List Mgmt. Trade & Free Agency talk Pt 5

Success and the salary cap has hollowed out the list and you can see it in the VFL team (when they play).

Don't trade up.. get more volume of talent this year and next. Then realistically we'll really fall down the ladder in 2023 and 2024. Get more top end then and be back with a really strong VFL team and emerging AFL team by 2026 or 2027.

Tarrant is AA quality and was available for nothing - he is not stop-gap, he’s our best KPD. If we could get Tomahawk for 2-years of course you would as he might help you win a flag, but last time I checked there were not any decent KPF’s available to bring in.

Based on what you know of who is available, who are you suggesting we bring in for this depth you refer to? If there’s no-one of half decent quality available….. well….. I guess that means there’s no-one of half decent quality available …….

spot on. There are no quality ready to go key forwards to be had. But we all know key defenders only have to be capable of stopping or restricting an opponent to be effective.

Because we can't bring in a key forward for next year we should be looking at a way to free up Balta to play forward.

There are a few options Sam Skinner had a very good season in the sanfl and probably deserves a go. Schlensog from south fremantle could be worth a shot and of course we kept Ben Miller maybe we just need to play him with the likes of Tarrant Grimes and Broad there to help him.

If we are looking for a potential high grade key forward we have one in Balta we just need to shore up his position down back.

Key forward stocks are dire but look much better if we play Balta here

Riewoldt 33
Lynch 29
Balta. 22

Key defender stocks are a bit iffy with out Balta

Tarrant 32
Miller 22
Nyuon currently delisted but hoping to rookie. but a long way of the pace atm.
Grimes while capable of playing kp its a damn big ask to play him there all year and it really robs the backline of his generalship if you like.
It makes sense imo to target another mature key defender to allow the Balta move.

Rucks
Nankervis 26
Soldo 25
Colina 22
Ryan 21? im asking though is he a half ruckman half forward but not quite either?? We have had a few of them over the years.

If we do nothing more then Balta will play back and we pray like mad Jack or Tom dont cop injuries.

Success and the salary cap has hollowed out the list and you can see it in the VFL team (when they play).

Don't trade up.. get more volume of talent this year and next. Then realistically we'll really fall down the ladder in 2023 and 2024. Get more top end then and be back with a really strong VFL team and emerging AFL team by 2026 or 2027.

I don't want to believe you because the thought of not being in the race for flags every year makes me sick. But I do agree. Flags are won on the back of the draft, not topping up, and not on paying overs in trades. So let's do it the right way.

I suggest we all have a month off big footy before starting preseason big footy. Some of the senior posters have had a number of big years and need to refresh. We bring in some new posters to inject enthusiasm that will permeate through the group. The mods will start training the forum down after a break. It will be exciting when we start back in late November.

Nothing is really happening for a month. So when I come on now I don't see anything to get excited about.

The problems with not coming on here is that I will be doing work :rolleyes:. And my enthusiasm isn't what is used to be. In fact it never was what it used to be.

I just knocked back a large offer of free agency from the North Board. Decided I want to be a one-club poster.

Lots of talk about Tarrant and his age and not taking old players.

Imo it does not matter how old the player is you are trading for as long as the player we target is proven. The higher the price we pay the younger and higher quality you want.

If Tarrant was say 23, then to get him you would be giving up a first rounder say. That would be okay because of his age at 23 we would get another 10 plus years out of a quality proven KPD.

The fact is he is 32 a very good key defender still, and we paid stuff all due to his age. What the hell is wrong with that? especially when there is a dearth of quality proven key defenders on the list. In fact there is a dearth of key defenders full stop imo.

The real key for us in all this should be to plan for when Tarrant is not there. At 32 the plan would be two years max out of Robbie. So if its thru the draft we are going to replace him we probably should have had his replacement in the system already A PLAYER WE ARE CERTAIN WILL TAKE OVER FROM HIM.

Atm lose one of Balta or Tarrant to injury then it is back to Miller. So if Miller is good enough play him, get games into him and play Balta fwd.
If we lose one of Tarrant Miller then we can bring Balta back depending on the injury front with Jack and Tom.

Just a bit on Sam Skinner. He is a 24 yr old KPP 198cm 99kg. played just 3 AFL games.
He was drafted by Brisbane in 2016? has had two acl injuries and generally struggled with injury while there.

He went to South Adelaide had a great season and showed he deserves a second chance. He has done exactly what you want players to do who have had to go back to state leagues. he dominated there.

For us he would be a great fit. Physically mature, good attributes for Afl, could hold down a key post and has already had experience in an AFL system.

If he played seniors for us that would be fine he may allow us to play Balta FWD or he could possibly be tried there himself.
Even if he played reserves he would be a mature kpd back there guiding our kids and would be great depth in case of injuries. At age 24 he is not old either.

Then what is the point of a stop gap Full Back like Tarrant? We have HEAPS more depth in the CHB/FB positions that our KPF stocks. Balta, Miller, Broad, Grimes, Biggy - Vloss is closer to a FPD than Caddy is a forward. Toby has shown far more form dropping"Back" than forward. We have also added Tarrant. Where is the argument here? Are Key backs more important than key forwards in the modern game ? I dont think so.

We have Jack, Tom & possibly Noah if we rob the backline of its best defender as our Key Forward depth. Thats it.

If we are going again, we need to learn from the mistakes of 2021, we need depth to carry us for 6 weeks incase Lynch or Jack get injured.

**** mate, you're not a happy camper are you?

Just a bit on Sam Skinner.
I like Skinner for the fact that he could play either end of the ground. Wouldn't be the worst injury coverage. His knee history would be a concern, and I watched him in the SANFL finals, and at times he looked a bit tentative at the contest.

Sent from my CPH1951 using Tapatalk

Tarrant is AA quality and was available for nothing - he is not stop-gap, he’s our best KPD. If we could get Tomahawk for 2-years of course you would as he might help you win a flag, but last time I checked there were not any decent KPF’s available to bring in.

Based on what you know of who is available, who are you suggesting we bring in for this depth you refer to? If there’s no-one of half decent quality available….. well….. I guess that means there’s no-one of half decent quality available …….

He's already mentioned them ad nauseum mate, Tom Campbell and Mason Cox

Lots of talk about Tarrant and his age and not taking old players.

Imo it does not matter how old the player is you are trading for as long as the player we target is proven. The higher the price we pay the younger and higher quality you want.

If Tarrant was say 23, then to get him you would be giving up a first rounder say. That would be okay because of his age at 23 we would get another 10 plus years out of a quality proven KPD.

The fact is he is 32 a very good key defender still, and we paid stuff all due to his age. What the hell is wrong with that? especially when there is a dearth of quality proven key defenders on the list. In fact there is a dearth of key defenders full stop imo.

The real key for us in all this should be to plan for when Tarrant is not there. At 32 the plan would be two years max out of Robbie. So if its thru the draft we are going to replace him we probably should have had his replacement in the system already A PLAYER WE ARE CERTAIN WILL TAKE OVER FROM HIM.

Atm lose one of Balta or Tarrant to injury then it is back to Miller. So if Miller is good enough play him, get games into him and play Balta fwd.
If we lose one of Tarrant Miller then we can bring Balta back depending on the injury front with Jack and Tom.

Just a bit on Sam Skinner. He is a 24 yr old KPP 198cm 99kg. played just 3 AFL games.
He was drafted by Brisbane in 2016? has had two acl injuries and generally struggled with injury while there.

He went to South Adelaide had a great season and showed he deserves a second chance. He has done exactly what you want players to do who have had to go back to state leagues. he dominated there.

For us he would be a great fit. Physically mature, good attributes for Afl, could hold down a key post and has already had experience in an AFL system.

If he played seniors for us that would be fine he may allow us to play Balta FWD or he could possibly be tried there himself.
Even if he played reserves he would be a mature kpd back there guiding our kids and would be great depth in case of injuries. At age 24 he is not old either.

Sam Skinner is pretty happy at the Panthers I'm hearing (through family) getting married, planning a future in Adelaide (though marriage ceremony will be on the Tweed)

He played as a defender at the Lions and was just too skinny (no pun intended) and suffered as a result. Gippsland boy I think, has strong links back to Qld now - might work but would an Adelaide team take him first?

Brander off to GWS on 4 year deal.

Unbelievable really - good luck to both parties - can't think who I would leave out for him - but who knows.....