List Mgmt. Trade & Free Agency talk Pt 5

What about Tom Green and Hopper for Dusty and our second?

Each team to pay for their acquired players in full.

Then we go best available KF in the draft with our first pick, and inside mids at 19 and 29.

**** all this bullshit!

you are all just doing the same shit you bag the media out for... speculating like little barrett mother****ers.

cut it out!

NOTHING we get for Dusty will compensate jack shit for losing him.

you are like relatives carving up the estate before the parent has died, ****ing vulturous shit.

seriously wanna spew!

duck all this bullshit!

you are all just doing the same shit you bag the media out for... speculating like little barrett motherduckers.

cut it out!

you are like relatives carving up the estate before the parent has died, ******* vulturous shit.

seriously wanna spew!
Let him go. He's done enough for the Richmond faithful.

We need not be selfish.

duck all this bullshit!

you are all just doing the same shit you bag the media out for... speculating like little barrett motherduckers.

cut it out!

you are like relatives carving up the estate before the parent has died, ******* vulturous shit.

seriously wanna spew!

Well I’m telling you right now it would be bloody dumb for us to let him go as an unrestricted free agent in 2 years and get nothing. If he definitely wants to go do it now. Nothing wrong with trade talks, might as well be prepared.

I think it depends where we view our list currently. I think we're pretty realistic that our chances of another flag with the current group are quite slim, so we may as well cash in on Dusty now while we go through a bit of a transition phase.

I think they're treating this year as a sort of last hoorah before moving into a more aggressive reset of the list. I wouldn't be surprised to see all of Caddy (already gone), Jack, Cotch, Shedda, Lambert and Dusty gone at the end of the year with an older player such as Broad or Pickett being gone not out of the question either.

not enough information is available to know what to make of it all. i agree with hardwick that whatever is best for dusty is best for the club (and should be for supporters too). he has given a lot and has been through a lot too, so let's show some compassion and understanding in return.

duck all this bullshit!

cut it out!

seriously wanna spew!

Might want to tell Dimma that then.

I think it depends where we view our list currently. I think we're pretty realistic that our chances of another flag with the current group are quite slim, so we may as well cash in on Dusty now while we go through a bit of a transition phase.

I think they're treating this year as a sort of last hoorah before moving into a more aggressive reset of the list. I wouldn't be surprised to see all of Caddy (already gone), Jack, Cotch, Shedda, Lambert and Dusty gone at the end of the year with an older player such as Broad or Pickett being gone not out of the question either.
Agreed, and that being the case, I reckon if Dusty wants to go we would be silly not to 1) do the right thing by him and 2) replace his lost output over the next 3-4 years with commensurate value in longer term young players and picks.

What about Tom Green and Hopper for Dusty and our second?

Each team to pay for their acquired players in full.

Then we go best available KF in the draft with our first pick, and inside mids at 19 and 29.
Honestly what are people on? If Hopper was a Richmond player and asked for a trade we would want a 1st and a later pick for him. If Tom Green was a Richmond player and asked for a trade we would be asking for 2 top 10 picks at least. So you think we could get the equivalent of 3 1st round picks of which 2 are top 10 at least for a 30+ year old Dusty? God some Richmond fans are delusional.

A realistic assesment that not many have on here. This is the unfortunate truth.

Well dude you missed 2 important details we mentioned:

1. We pay a significant chunk of his salary

2. We would be willing to give our two second rounders to GWS as well to pry 2 of their top kids. Eg. Green, Taranto, Hopper

Both the above will be compensated by either picks or players. Does this sound more reasonable to you or are you still gonna freak out and insult your fellow supporters?

duck all this bullshit!

cut it out!

seriously wanna spew!
12 years of Tom Green would go along way

I’d throw in our second rounders to get those players as well. Rebuild done. Second rounders could be duds and take to long to get up to standard when Bolton and co are in their peaks. We need to have a lot of players peak around the same age to win a premiership. Green and Taranto in early 20s are perfect. Also GWS are in shambles right now and they need cap space over picks don’t underestimate bad list management by them.
Dream on Mate, you really think the Giants are that incompetent? Everyone is chasing shadows because on an “off the cuff” comment by Dimma at his presser yesterday. Could Dusty leave? Yep, but until he or Carr say so, I wont be paying any attention to the beat up in the media. Will he leave? I doubt it myself, I think he’s more likely to just retire.

Not too sure about that

Dusty was spotted driving down Sydney Rd today at 10.20am

"IF" Dusty wants to go we need to trade this year, whilst Dusty is in contract, so we have control. If we wait till he is out of contract we will just get another "1st round" pick after our pick which in no way reflects his value.

Just as the Hawks who got pick #23 as compensation for Franklin.

2. We would be willing to give our two second rounders to GWS as well to pry 2 of their top kids. Eg. Green, Taranto, Hopper

Both the above will be compensated by either picks or players. Does this sound more reasonable to you or are you still gonna freak out and insult your fellow supporters?
Still laughable. If it was the other way around, we’d all laugh at that kind of proposal.

Yeah but GWS would not have the Salary cap. They would have to offload other players, like Cpniglio, Whitfield etc.

If we where paying Dusty's salary virtually well shit we would want a fair bit for that, **** me.

If we where paying Dusty's salary so allowing GWS to virtually bust the cap like a Bulldogs with Collingwood we would want very serious collateral

I still think Dusty can play well beyond 35

12 years of Tom Green would go along way
Has to be Green we target if this goes ahead. He's the only mid on their list I can see being a true match winner. Taranto, Hopper great players but you wouldn't build a midfield around them imo. Green would be our foundation mid for 10 years.

If i was the Richmond list manager i would be asking for

Tom Green & Fin Callaghan for Dusty + our 1st pick

Midfield fixed

If i was the Richmond list manager i would be asking for

Tom Green & Fin Callaghan for Dusty + our 1st pick

Midfield fixed
If we could pull that off, you're right, we're laughing. Can't see them gutting themselves of young midfield talent in one trade for a 30 year old though.
We get a hold of Green I'm stoked anything else is steak knives. He's such a need for us.

Yeah but GWS would not have the Salary cap. They would have to offload other players, like Cpniglio, Whitfield etc.

If we where paying Dusty's salary virtually well shit we would want a fair bit for that, duck me.

If we where paying Dusty's salary so allowing GWS to virtually bust the cap like a Bulldogs with Collingwood we would want very serious collateral

I still think Dusty can play well beyond 35

I 100% agree, plus Dusty is one of the most marketable players in the AFL. Will bring in heaps of cash to GWS. I think this would also factor into the trade.