List Mgmt. Trade & Free Agency talk Pt 6

May and lever were trades as was Hibberd. Nothing to do with bridges.

I think we might get Bontempelli as a forward in 3-4 years. He may well lose his midfield prowess as he ages and Bulldogs will not anticipate it and it will be another cluster fck we will have to save a player from
Seriously mate just stop

Let’s just entertain this insanity for a second Bont in 3 or 4 years?

Same Bont who will be 28 at the start of the next season?

So we are trading for a 31 or 32 year old Bont? To save him from the club he is the captain of?
And won a flag at?

To play as an undersized key forward?

How long is the contract we are offering him?

Like seriously
Before posting maybe just think about what you are writing

May and lever were trades as was Hibberd. Nothing to do with bridges.

I think we might get Bontempelli as a forward in 3-4 years. He may well lose his midfield prowess as he ages and Bulldogs will not anticipate it and it will be another cluster fck we will have to save a player from
ok let me spell it out ,,,there’s the draft then there’s trading in mature talent , THATS BUILDING BRIDGES , trade , FA whatever . They’re BRIDGES

Seriously mate just stop

So we are trading for a 31 or 32 year old Bont? To save him from the club he is the captain of?
And won a flag at?

Like seriously
Clueless

I love a robust discussion from passionate fans and people challenging each other on what they think

It’s what the place is about
Growapair and I had a great discussion this arvo but man

I don’t even know what to say about what I just read

This is spot on.

Can't underrate the importance of someone who crashes packs and can bring the ball to ground 2 or 3 on 1. Just need a real team player who attacks the ball, is a fierce competitor and is prepared to play a role for the team. Decent at ground level wouldn't go astray either. Don't really care if he doesn't slot many goals. Our biggest downfall this year has IMO been our tendency to kick long down the line and then get picked off too easily by the intercept kings. Especially if we maintain our forward handball type game style - it really relies on getting the ball to ground and then outnumbering sides at ground level and sprinting forward in waves.

Himmelberg at 800 or 900K aint doing that. He's a talent for sure, but he isn't what we need.
Crashing packs is cool, standing on top of them to win the match, way cooler

ok let me spell it out ,,,there’s the draft then there’s trading in mature talent , THATS BUILDING BRIDGES , trade , FA whatever . They’re BRIDGES

How about I spell it out.

trading in mature talent is trading in mature talent, building bridges, a bridge usually is about a construction over a waterway.

No bridges in footy unless woke has you by the balls

Seriously mate just stop

And won a flag at?

To play as an undersized key forward?

How long is the contract we are offering him?

Like seriously

Seriously mate. look at the Bulldogs. Bailey Smith is in a career slump, Lobb is a, what is Lobb again?? Overpaid anyway, and Bont got plenty of ball but did the Bulldogs lose??? You do not know what their problems are do you??

When Bont is 31 or 32, what happens??? We have a lot more draft picks, Macrae might be retired and English may well be in WA.

When Bont is 31 or 32 RFC is more likely to be on a upward trend than going backwards.

How you figured out why Daico's making a bigger impact than Bont at the same age??

He is another question, if you had Bontempelli and Nick Daicos at 23 and could only pick one as a midfielder, who would you pick?? Do you know why you would pick that player of the two as a midfielder?

How about I spell it out.

trading in mature talent is trading in mature talent, building bridges, a bridge usually is about a construction over a waterway.

No bridges in footy unless woke has you by the balls
Dach GIF by Gemeinhardt Service GmbH

Look out below, I am craning in the talent for the new Punt Rd bridge

Dach GIF by Gemeinhardt Service GmbH

Look out below, I am craning in the talent for the new Punt Rd bridge

no talent I see there

Just on the talent aspect, ignoring longevity, Nick Daicos at his best so far is better than his father, better than Gary Ablett Jnr and better than Chris Judd and on par with Kouta when he was at his absolute best. Nick Daico's looks better than Kouta in terms of consistency, touch wood, injuries do not get him

So where is this talent coming from again??

no talent I see there

Just on the talent aspect, ignoring longevity, Nick Daicos at his best so far is better than his father, better than Gary Ablett Jnr and better than Chris Judd and on par with Kouta when he was at his absolute best. Nick Daico's looks better than Kouta in terms of consistency, touch wood, injuries do not get him

So where is this talent coming from again??
Confused Devil GIF by Bodyjar

We are better off chasing the likes of Bontempelli in four years time. That is the strategy we need, or not even Bont, maybe we can get Harley Reid in four years time
You really had a lot of beauties in that Post but i just had to point this out as being your best work

Bont will be 32 years old if we chase him in 4 years time
FMD

You really had a lot of beauties in that Post but i just had to point this out as being your best work

Bont will be 32 years old if we chase him in 4 years time
FMD

Bont would be just cream, it is about top draft picks in the next three years.

We are where we are because we have been playing gf's or nearly since 2017 and we don't have a enough young talent pushing our list forward. Our list is simply going backwards in general as it is aging compared to the other teams that have been accessing draft talent as well as trades like Brisbane, Port and Collingwood. We can hang about but we can't contend until we getting more talent in. This the point, just getting HH will not be enough.

Remember, Geelong did not win the premiership last year, it was handed to them by AFL HQ

What is funny?? I said Nick Daicos is better than Peter, Gary Ablett Jnr and Chris Judd. I did not say he was better than Gary Ablett Snr, yet anyway!!

I did not say Nick Daico's was better than all three together(three on one), I said individually he is a better player in terms of output and effect in games. In other words, if I had to pick between a team for the ages between Nick Daicos or Peter, or Judd or Gary Ablett Sny, Nick Daicos is picked. Does that mean RFC has a chance to get him?? No chance now, and never really was obviously

Chris Judd will just have to park his ego if that affects him

I am not saying Nick Daicos is necessarily a better player than Bontempelli although he may well be, but I think he is a better midfielder as a mid because he brings others into the game more whereas Bontempelli's strength is marking and reach as well as kicking for a guy his height, so for me Bont could be more effective forward from a team perspective. Daicos cannot be the marking target Bont can. So if Bont came to RFC, he would be playing CHF or similar for mine.

So if we still had Dusty, Dusty would be in the guts, drifting forward and Bontempelli around CHF for me, that would make far more sense

Our Key Fwd situation concerns me as i fear they will go for Himmelberg to save jobs

Key Fwds for Flags last decade

2022 - Hawkins & Cameron
2021 - Fritsch, Ben Brown, Tom McDonald, Luke Jackson, Max Gawn
2020 - Riewoldt, Lynch & Dusty
2019 - Riewoldt, Lynch & Dusty
2018 - Darling & Kennedy
2017 - Jack & the Chaos Kings
2016 - Boyd, Stringer
2013-15 - Gunston, Roughead, Breust, Cyril (Franklin in 13)

You can have many variants and be successful, but what you almost always need a certain quality of name in your Big 2. There are a few interesting moments for sure looking at that list - the Dogs & Tigers in 2017 both won flags with forwardlines that, on paper, are clearly sub-par to the rest of that decade. It would be interesting to pinpoint what exactly changed in footy after the Hawks dynasty that led to GF's being won with very inexperienced forwardlines that functioned in a very untraditional format. Richmond effectively "righted" that ship when they got Lynch & since then marking forwards have been king again. By 2021 the amount of elite marking forward options Melbourne had to win a flag was about as "yang" to Richmonds 2017 "ying".

Himmelberg just doesn;t look like a name i'd expect to be in that list above.
Strange opinion to say Himmelberg is to save jobs. He's a free agent, we have no first round pick, he's easily best 22 and we'll have plenty of cap space become available over the next few years. To me that's just good, smart business, not anyone trying to 'save their job'.

Plus Himmelberg is much better than Ben Brown and Tom McDonald. We'll have Lynch for a couple more at least and I reckon Gibcus could be a gun forward.

Yup they are a revolving door or elite talent and picks stuck in a vicious cycle

It sounds odd but they have far to much talent that comes in every year

Guys who are far two good to be stuck in the vfl comp so they leave for opportunities… and the ones who break into the side as must keeps are still to young to make a difference but also need to be paid decent money

So that older tier (the ones who will ultimately dictate if they win a flag or not) go elsewhere for better financial opportunities (Taranto and Hopper)

As counter intuitive as it seems they almost need to forgo the elite ends of the drafts for a few years and just focus on one core group and develop some role players around them and ignore what they could get in the door

Actually, as much as I do agree with you. I reckon a lot of GWS' problems come from them having too many of the same type - A grade inside mids, so the top picks (which GWS have had and keep getting). Most important players in the game. But they end up playing a style that is too inside, and their top players all play to win themselves. Great, but it makes the team not well rounded and reduces synergy. That is because they have too may top picks, and they pick the obvious players with those picks. It's a curse of excess riches.

Strange opinion to say Himmelberg is to save jobs. He's a free agent, we have no first round pick, he's easily best 22 and we'll have plenty of cap space become available over the next few years. To me that's just good, smart business, not anyone trying to 'save their job'.

Plus Himmelberg is much better than Ben Brown and Tom McDonald. We'll have Lynch for a couple more at least and I reckon Gibcus could be a gun forward.
Logic is not always a great thing on bigfooty

A best 22 player thats a free agent is apparently a bad idea because we dont want to over pay by $100k a year
There is a very smart saying in the stock market - You never go broke taking profits

HH is taking a profit for no cost , salary cap can always be sorted at later stages
To me i see it alot more simply in 2024 We need a player that can play foward and HH fits that role

So what if you pay him $750k or $650k ?
Really the cap will increase 20%-25% in the next 3 years when we have atleast 10 senior players that will be long gone

* In saying that i highly doubt he will come to Richmond now with no known coach and other clubs seem to be better positioned

Can make the argument that if he was good enough to play the role the coaches would of simply been playing him in the role in the first place

Can’t really say we lacked opportunities when last year we played players like Baker and Short as inside mids and for a lot of games because we didn’t have any other options

Coaches see these guys every day, not just gameday and during training drills where he would of had more than ample opportunity to make his claim for the role

Even this year when Hopper was injured for a block and Cotch could of easily been rested Ross could of been played as an inside mid
The opportunity was there we even gave Dow another crack at the role

He’s just turned out to not be that kind of player
Once again it’s not an attack or a negative it’s just the reality
So when I've seen him dominate at VFL level as an inside mid I must have been dreaming. No doubt the coaches see him more but I have never seen him given the role for an extended period at a senior level. He is still young too. I can see him taking Cotchin's role if he wants it badly enough. He seems to have leadership qualities as well.