List Mgmt. Trade & Free Agency talk Pt 7

Hello Tiger fans!

The embedded resources below are kept up to date by the trade board mods (as much as possible – we are human after all). Enjoy!

tugga you may like to sticky or merge this post, move it to the start of the thread (so the sticky post doesn't rotate if a post is deleted before it), or copy it to your draft thread.

reckon we have done quite well with the hand we held. getting Kosi cheaply. tick. a 23 year old kf who will crash a pack. we are still stuffed next year if Lynch is injured, but he'll do as a second forward. having Lynch and Kosi in the forward would be a huge improvement on this year.
we did pretty well with the picks from the soldo trade. having nank and soldo both in the team was a worse combination than having Gawn and grundy in Melb's team and it didn't work for them. it certainly made the forward line slow when both were on the ground together. but it did leave us vulnerable if nank gets injured. so getting naismith solves that as a cheap short term solution, helping out in an emergency until Samson gets a touch stronger.
be interesting to see what next years trade period is like. we will have the war chest and we have been good of late of targeting a player a way out and then landing them.
excited about the coming season, talking to a friend and we both could mount arguments where we could finish in the bottom few or in the 8. reckon it will be an even year again. go the tigers......

We’ve had some pretty terrible first round draft picks but we’ve absolutely cleaned up in the rookie drafts recently. Balances it out
Hate to be a rear-visionist…But getting Dusty at #3 and Shorty the Rookie, balanced everything out…

THE LONG-AWAITED deal to give Gary Ablett his fairytale homecoming has finally been done, with the superstar returning to Geelong in a swap of draft picks.

He was given a two-year deal by the Cats.

Geelong gave up No.19 and a second-round selection in next year's NAB AFL Draft in exchange for Ablett, No.24 and Gold Coast's fourth-round selection next season.

The Cats received No.19 as compensation for Steven Motlop's move to Port Adelaide as a restricted free agent.

Ablett asked for a trade in 2016 but an agreement between the Cats and Suns could not be reached.

Geelong list manager Stephen Wells told reporters on Thursday there had been no guarantees his club would land Ablett.

"It was good that Gary ended up at Geelong. It was no certainty all the way through the Trade Period but in the end, the Gold Coast did what they said they would do," Wells said.

"We've given up a bit to do that in next year's draft and also this year's draft, but it's a great story, Gary coming back to Geelong, particularly having won a best and fairest this year and still having plenty of good footy ahead of him."

The 33-year-old told Gold Coast officials again of his desire to return to the Cattery in late September despite having a year left on his contract.

Gold Coast had demanded a best-22 player in exchange for the dual Brownlow medallist but no names could not be agreed upon.

Darcy Lang considered a move to Queensland but ultimately nominated Carlton as the side he wanted to play for and was traded there on Thursday.

Suns CEO Mark Evans paid tribute to Ablett, who spent seven seasons at the club.

"It's important for the Gold Coast Suns, and for Queensland football, to acknowledge Gary's contribution to the club," Evans said.

"He's been a terrific servant, just a great player, we completely respect and understand the circumstances as to why he's asked to return to Victoria and we wish him and (wife) Jordan and all of his family the very best."

Ablett won the Suns' club champion award despite having lined up in just 14 games this season.

reckon we have done quite well with the hand we held. getting Kosi cheaply. tick. a 23 year old kf who will crash a pack. we are still stuffed next year if Lynch is injured, but he'll do as a second forward. having Lynch and Kosi in the forward would be a huge improvement on this year.
we did pretty well with the picks from the soldo trade. having nank and soldo both in the team was a worse combination than having Gawn and grundy in Melb's team and it didn't work for them. it certainly made the forward line slow when both were on the ground together. but it did leave us vulnerable if nank gets injured. so getting naismith solves that as a cheap short term solution, helping out in an emergency until Samson gets a touch stronger.
be interesting to see what next years trade period is like. we will have the war chest and we have been good of late of targeting a player a way out and then landing them.
excited about the coming season, talking to a friend and we both could mount arguments where we could finish in the bottom few or in the 8. reckon it will be an even year again. go the tigers......
If our list remains healthy I think we’d be hard to beat , lynch and kosi dusty and co makes for a threatening f50

We're not alone. The five most recent premiership teams have hardly drafted a decent young mid in the last 7-8 years.
pies drafted something better

the umps

An admirable attempt at a decent squirm, but no, sorry, your post was from June 2021 (as I already said and linked to), so you said it during his post-op recovery.

Right there in black and white, you dutifully 'correcting' a poster to insist that we had two great ruckmen and that Soldo had often outplayed Nank.

Which was of course true then, and it's true today because his Melbourne game I was initially referring to was also superior to (or at the very least the absolute equal of) anything Nank did this season.

Your perpetually flexible opinions may well change, but the facts do not and have not.

So I said it based on his Pre Knee form as I stated????Why you being a silly billy?

Soldo has played some good football, no doubt, but not enough good football to be labelled a good footballer today.

Your desperation to hang onto some points based system to justify an embarrassing opinion that he is better than Nank or, wait for it, ELITE hahahahahhaha is what it is, embarrassing.

No shame in being wrong champo, heck I thought Jayden post was our next Richo after he took a screamer once.

If our list remains healthy I think we’d be hard to beat , lynch and kosi dusty and co makes for a threatening f50

We just need a bit more luck with injury.

2023: Lynch’s and Gibcus out for basically entire season. Hopper never got any continuity. Short missed a bunch of games and Broad suspended for 4 x weeks.

We had about 7-8 first choice players injured or suspended for multiple games throughout the season.

I accept we’ve got some older and injury prone players so I’m not expecting them to play 23 games …. but 18+ games out of Nank, Prestia, Lynch, Martin, Hopper, Gibcus etc… and minimal long-term injuries to our elite mid-20’s players and I’m optimistic of a really good season.

I’m not sure there are many teams with the same level of quality as us in that 24-31yo bracket where players are in their prime. (plus Dusty still playing great footy).

Just need some luck as our depth and youngsters coming through isn’t as deep as many teams.

Any chance this Tassie guy falls to our first pick and we turn him into a 194cm forward?

Reckon he'll go between 20-25. More of a backman than a forward. Good mark, raking kick but not overly quick.
I think we'll go mid with our first (hoping for Cooper Simpson) and a key tall forward with our 2nd.

Reckon he'll go between 20-25. More of a backman than a forward. Good mark, raking kick but not overly quick.
I think we'll go mid with our first (hoping for Cooper Simpson) and a key tall forward with our 2nd.

I was more having a go at the fact it seems all our great forwards in the past have been from Tassie. haha

I’d be 100% fine with giving up a 3rd round pick or even next years Fremantle 2nd to get inside the top 20 and take Lance Collard. The kids going to be a match winner and you put him and Bolton in the same forward line and you will have two match winners.
bolton is our midfield future starting rd 1.best, most explosive and dangerous mid we have ,will be catching a cold down fwd with a midfield set up of JH TT Dion ,Graham etc,team will get smacked by 10 goals everygame with those 3-4 & Nank as permanent mids

Yes we need pace desperately at the stoppage Bolton has to be a full time mid

Get Taranto and Hopper (Dow maybe too) going and Bolton becomes extra double dangerous. I so hope this works out because can you imagine Dusty and Shai swapping as the attacking damaging mids with a winning inside mid group.

get this going and we can have an incredible midfield that delivers the ball inside 50 like no one else.

I’d be 100% fine with giving up a 3rd round pick or even next years Fremantle 2nd to get inside the top 20 and take Lance Collard. The kids going to be a match winner and you put him and Bolton in the same forward line and you will have two match winners.
I think we can get a decent tall with our first pic , we got a few qty smalls to go thru f50 , coult Clarke

Doesn't really matter, he won't be a free agent by next year anyway. And contracts have been shown to be essentially meaningless if player and club(s) can work something out.

If we want him and are prepared to pay the price, we'll get him. The contract won't be any barrier.
He ain’t gonna sign a long term deal and then the club release him 12m later , just doesn’t happen like that , Grundy aside

We'd want to be bloody sure if we're going all in on this kid. Frankly I haven't been impressed by any element of his game. Going at .5 goals a game. Bauer looks better for free.
First year… takes time

If you watched a few of his VFL games you’d think different I promise you
He’s a gun