Autopsy Versus Melbourne

We have alot of young inexperienced players who get a little ahead of themselves when we get in front of sides . I'm just glad we are able to beat a AFL side with a 3rd of our side out !
I owe McGuanne an apology as he was probably the best of the new comers and thought he was quite good and finally he played within his ability and didn't give to many stupid free kicks . Was great to see a key forward lead up at the contest more than 20mtrs from goal .
Derickx also showed signs early which impressed me with his willingness to do one precenters , whilst his ability to pinch hit within the Ruck allowed big Eevan to go forward .

Can someone please show me where I can find (or just tell me) the age and games played of both sides? Would be interested to see since we had so many changes. Though we brought back a few of the old guys.

We needed 4 points and %.

We've been poor since the GWS game so can't just put it down to 1 bad game.

#1 team for disposals but consistently can't finish teams off and take advantage of our dominance. Coaches seriously need to look at this and how we play. I knew as soon as we opened up a small lead early on but couldn't put our foot down past the 5-6 goal mark that it would be a frustrating day and Melbourne would be with us all the way.

On some player notes:

Dea- Don't think he is up to it. Just don't see it with him. Has zero awareness. Thought Dea and Batch did a really good job
Deledio - Was okay. Has played better games. Thought he was one of our most important players today
Cotchin -Was okay. Has played better games. Wasn't great today imo - 50% disposal efficiency is unusual for him
Tuck - Very good.
Grigg - Very good.
A Maric - Again showed he isn't up to it. Not good under pressure
Conca - Very good. 23 touches, 6 clearances. Natural midfielder who should've played against Adelaide.
Ellis - Best game of the year. 21 touches. Ripper kid.
I Maric - Tired. Disappointing, gave away too many free's
McGuane - Handy in a new role. Can take a mark and doesn't move like an ocean liner so is an upgrade on Miller. I've always hated him as a player but happy to give him a chance in the side as a forward. True test will come against North, Carlton, etc not Melbourne and GC. Did enough
Derickx - Despite some calls of an impressive debut I thought he struggled. Has state league experience and is 24. 6 touches, 0 marks. Not enough. Sort of vanished after half time, still better than Miller

Horrible performance which probably again showed why we aren't there yet. Worst win of the year. Move onto next week.
Some comments on yours

I still don't like the way the ball is delivered inside 50. Even when we're on a fast break we seem to want to bomb it high to a pack. Jack/McGuane/anyone need to lead at the ball carrier.
I reckon 7 changes means that the side aint going to gel so that's one excuse. I even saw ellis called in to a centre bounce because we cocked up the numbers.
Conca was outstanding, good speed, Edwards good again, Houli ok, Morris good, Griff ok until hurt, Grigg ran hard again, Cotch good, White ok early, good energy, McGuane ok (someone tell me why he handballs when 15m out running in? he must have been channelling Miller). Lots of dumb decisions (Lids)
All in all a very ordinary game of footy, but we won so dust ourselves off and move on to next week.

We needed 4 points and %.

We've been poor since the GWS game so can't just put it down to 1 bad game.

#1 team for disposals but consistently can't finish teams off and take advantage of our dominance. Coaches seriously need to look at this and how we play. I knew as soon as we opened up a small lead early on but couldn't put our foot down past the 5-6 goal mark that it would be a frustrating day and Melbourne would be with us all the way.

On some player notes:

Dea- Don't think he is up to it. Just don't see it with him. Has zero awareness.
Deledio - Was okay. Has played better games.
Cotchin -Was okay. Has played better games.
Tuck - Very good.
Grigg - Very good.
A Maric - Again showed he isn't up to it.
Conca - Very good. 23 touches, 6 clearances. Natural midfielder who should've played against Adelaide.
Ellis - Best game of the year. 21 touches. Ripper kid.
I Maric - Tired.
McGuane - Handy in a new role. Can take a mark and doesn't move like an ocean liner so is an upgrade on Miller. I've always hated him as a player but happy to give him a chance in the side as a forward. True test will come against North, Carlton, etc not Melbourne and GC.
Derickx - Despite some calls of an impressive debut I thought he struggled. Has state league experience and is 24. 6 touches, 0 marks. Not enough.

Horrible performance which probably again showed why we aren't there yet. Worst win of the year. Move onto next week.

Me too...plays like POST...does his best work as a spectator...cant understand the reputation for his so called 'toughness'...

Unless he's in the wrong position at the right time and collides physically with the opposition player...

Dea fan boy. Batchelor and Dea didnt do enough
I've never said a nice thing about Dea before today actually but they were both solid when that's what we needed. I'm not saying they were in our best but we needed them both.

Interesting that Melbourne's average age is older than ours by one month, and our average experience is 1 game more than theirs. So quite a similar team build yet they are much worse especially considering the amount of young guns we had out today. Shows how good our recruiting has been compared to theirs.

Miller - 157 games, 29y *birthday yesterday*
Foley - 120 games, 26y9m
Jackson - 116 games, 26y2m
Martin - 56 games, 21y
Vickery - 54 games, 22y1m
Grimes - 17 games, 20y11
Connors - 29 games, 23y9m
Elton - 1 games, 19y2m

Is those figures based on those who played today or total list ?

Can someone please show me where I can find (or just tell me) the age and games played of both sides? Would be interested to see since we had so many changes. Though we brought back a few of the old guys.

Melbourne Attribute Richmond
187.6cm Height 187.5cm​
87.3kg Weight 86.7kg​
23yr 10mth Age 23yr 6mth​
56.7 Games 57.8​
Melbourne Games Richmond
11 Less than 50 11​
6 50 to 99 8​
5 100 to 149 1​
0 150 or more 2​

BAD: Richmond
WORSE: Melbourne
WORST: Rex Hunt and Sandy Roberts commentary on 3BA (Ballarat). How about talking about the game instead of yourselves boys.

Absolutely rubbish footy commentary....jaded...uninteresting...dour...commentators only entertain themslves and ignore the fans...rubbish really!...
Been the worst commentary for a few years now.
They really need to get commentators who understand the basics of commentary, like not all talking over each other when something exciting happens on the field.

Autopsy Versus Melbourne