Warnock update: According to Denham

Allright. You want to pay Warnock 1.4 mil over 4 years. This implies he is worth a first round pick to me.

Therefore, pick 6 to Freo for Warnock , or Veale type deal with melb for better picks.

The AFL wont investigate it, they should be investigating how you keep your TPP under the salary cap.

Dont let it bother you so much! People want out of your club, and into ours. No amount of dribble from your mouth makes us care. Your losses, not ours.

lol. Shame you don't have any leverage. We'll get him for a 2nd or 3rd round pick, and a 300k per year contract. Otherwise he goes to the PSD and you get zippo. You need to focus on why everyone wants to leave your regional basket case club. :)

The leverage we have is the threat of sending Knockers to the PSD.

I`ll spell it out for you, works like this-Carlton are very keen on acquiring his services and are reportedly willing to offer lots of money over 4 years etc=THEY WANT HIM BAD.

If they don`t offer a fair trade then we`re better off sending a message to any other s*ft-c#cks that want to `go home` that we won`t bend over to suit their desired new club when we`ve essentially wasted years putting the development into them.

We`re betting off sending him into the PSD and letting him rot at the Dees, rather than accepting a shit deal from the Blues who will probably be challenging (atleast if you get Warnock) in the next couple of years.

And if the Dees can`t afford him then either the weegirls or Freo can pick him up before you do...which means we don`t get shafted by a club who is on the rise, therefore setting a precedent that we expect loyalty from players:thumbsu:
Heard of Nick Stevens?

I`ll spell it out for you, works like this-Carlton are very keen on acquiring his services and are reportedly willing to offer lots of money over 4 years etc=THEY WANT HIM BAD.

If they don`t offer a fair trade then we`re better off sending a message to any other s*ft-c#cks that want to `go home` that we won`t bend over to suit their desired new club when we`ve essentially wasted years putting the development into them.

We`re betting off sending him into the PSD and letting him rot at the Dees, rather than accepting a shit deal from the Blues who will probably be challenging (atleast if you get Warnock) in the next couple of years.

And if the Dees can`t afford him then either the weegirls or Freo can pick him up before you do...which means we don`t get shafted by a club who is on the rise, therefore setting a precedent that we expect loyalty from players:thumbsu:
Heard of Nick Stevens?

I think we'll find out soon enough what reo will do. Carlton won't offer pick 6, so Freo will either have to take pick 24, or let him go in the PSD. I don't follow the ins and outs of Freo, so I'm not going to speculate on what they are likely to do, but I think it's clear that thats the decision they'll be faced with.

Carlton are the most successful Club in the AFL with 16 flags. By contrast Freo's trophy cabinet contains a framed photo of their supporters giving a standing ovation for a finals loss. The AFL regret giving Freo a licence. :)

sorry carlton has only 1 afl flag and that one has called into the doubt with the systematic abuse of the salary cap. so many games has carlton won since being caught for cheating.

Carlton have 16 VFL/AFL flags with none of them in any doubt, if your going to make statements such as the pathetic one above lets see if you can back it up with evidence. If you cant, **** off from our board.

Heard of Nick Stevens?

One of the more sensible posts, please tell your fellow supporters if they want to comment on our board to show a bit of respect.

I understand your clubs frustration on investing in Warnocks football development and then losing it without adequate compenstation. But Freo have to make a choice, is it a wise business choice to lose that investment without any compensation at all (PSD) or accept a deal that while it might not meet your valuation would still be valuable (Carltons 2nd rounder). Whats worht more making a statement to players who dont want to play at Freo or moving on and getting something out of it.

Personally (as Ive written before) I would prefer Carlton dont deal for him at all as I just dont think he is required with Kruezer and Hampson.

Heard of Nick Stevens?

That's fine with us, send him into the PSD.

Who will suffer more from that, Fremantle or Carlton?

Carlton, to use an old saying, cannot lose what they do not have.

Fremantle, on the other hand, lose a promising ruckman that they can easily get something for.

Your mentality is laughable. You'd rather lose him for nothing than get something in return.

It aint cheating if there aint no law.

Trevor_Chappell_Underarm_200.ashx

vfl flags!!!! 1m over the cap that carlton and how many years were they doing that? who knows. very much calls your last flag into question. dick pratt has been found guilty of white collar crime and why he not cheat the salary cap if he has already cheated the whole of AUSTRALIA.

PULL YOUR HEAD IN PAL - THIS IS OUR BOARD. SHOW SOME RESPECT OR P!SS OFF! ;)

Btw quality Thy. :thumbsu:

That's fine with us, send him into the PSD.

Who will suffer more from that, Fremantle or Carlton?

Carlton, to use an old saying, cannot lose what they do not have.

Fremantle, on the other hand, lose a promising ruckman that they can easily get something for.

Your mentality is laughable. You'd rather lose him for nothing than get something in return.

Let's be honest here for just a moment and cut away all the crap. The chances of us finishing outside the bottom 4 next year are fairly low, given our list turnover this year. I'd love us to finish higher, but I'm just being realistic.

When we do have pick 1,2,3 or 4 in next years PSD, and Bower or Armfield or Browne or anyone else is out of contract with you guys and we say "Hey mate, we've got heaps of money to spend, why don't you come over here and play for us". The player then says "I want to play for Freo next year", and we supporters come on these boards and say "Our best offer is Pick 35, take it or leave it", how would you feel about that?

Put Bryce Gibbs in that category too. The chances of Carlton finishing higher than Adelaide have to be fairly good.

What goes around comes around. You might think that by screwing us over this time is fun, but you won't enjoy the rogering so much when you're the ones being rogered.

Right so what your trying to say is your a moron with absolutely no idea on how to write a coherent sentence which explains why you support Freo. :thumbsu:

Let's be honest here for just a moment and cut away all the crap. The chances of us finishing outside the bottom 4 next year are fairly low, given our list turnover this year. I'd love us to finish higher, but I'm just being realistic.

When we do have pick 1,2,3 or 4 in next years PSD, and Bower or Armfield or Browne or anyone else is out of contract with you guys and we say "Hey mate, we've got heaps of money to spend, why don't you come over here and play for us". The player then says "I want to play for Freo next year", and we supporters come on these boards and say "Our best offer is Pick 35, take it or leave it", how would you feel about that?

Put Bryce Gibbs in that category too. The chances of Carlton finishing higher than Adelaide have to be fairly good.

What goes around comes around. You might think that by screwing us over this time is fun, but you won't enjoy the rogering so much when you're the ones being rogered.
Why would they leave Carlton?

You don't see any players leaving the Hawks and Cats for money...

Can all the clueless Fremantle n00bs please leave and only come back when they have a clue about Carlton and football?

Thankyou.

Thats all well and good but your still cracking the shits about why we dont offer more for a player that would be a nice addition but not a must have requirement.

We have put an offer there on the table if you dont like it there is nothing stopping you from dealing with other clubs. And I know thats whats pissing most Freo fans off as he s out of contract and the other clubs who are interested such as Melbourne will not offer any more either.

If Warnock has in fact nominated Carlton it doesnt give Freo a god given right to get what they think he is worth, when Carlton arent too sure they need him.

You've simply got to deal with the reality that you're always at a disadvantage in trading when a player is out of contract, decides to leave and nominates a club he wants to go to. You'll always get below market value. The question here is how far below market value is #24? Not very much i'd suggest.

IF Bower, Browne or Army were to leave and nominate Freo then we'd be in exactly the same position and would have to deal with it. Mind you, it's not a likely state of affairs. The only reason Kennedy agreed to go home was because it was the best thing FOR the CFC. :eek:

Btw you're deluding yourself if you think that the reason Warnock's, according to reports, annointed Carlton as his chosen destination is all about dollars my friand. Our 144 year old history speaks of success and he, as with most people who know anything about footy, sees that we've got a rather large 'window' about to open. This is also the exact same reason we WON'T be having this same discussion in a year or so re Bower, Browne or Army. ;)

I have read this thread from start to finish with interest (have heaps of spare time as I am on Long service). I am not interested in trading insults about which club is better or who will screw who but the following I feel is pertinent:

Why this whole saga pains Freo supporters so much is because we have seen it before in Jeff White who went on to have a good career at Melbourne (AA ruck etc). It is like dejavu in that we draft and develop a good Vic ruck and just he is about to blossom he f***s off. Imagine if that happens with Browne (who was a very strong WCE supporter) in a couple of years just as he was about to establish himself as a quality AFL mid.....then a similar thing happens 10 years later. You cannot say that even with Carlton being successful (as I think they will be) it won't happen - Hedland and Carr were traded to Freo after premierships at Brissy and Port respectively.

In this instance however, I would prefer Freo for once in our existence to make a stand and if in Freos eyes something suitable is not offerred by Car/Rich/Stk/Mel or whoever, send him to PSD. I believe this will be short-term pain for long term gain as any other young player with a "go home factor" would think twice next time around. I appreciate if pick 24 is what is on the table and is rejected and turns out to be a star, that Freo would once again look silly, but that may be a risk worth taking. I would be interested in knowing who Port have lost since making the Stevens stance?

Trade value and Club passion aside if one were an aspiring young talent with a love for footy and its tradition. Where do you reckon the would want to be developing?
Obvious answer any Footy Club in Melbourne , give these kids a break let’s. Oe should not be so insular and myopic.
If the Baggers value the kid's ability they'll give fair trade value.
Go for it Robbie and good luck.
Ciao

I think we'll find out soon enough what reo will do. Carlton won't offer pick 6, so Freo will either have to take pick 24, or let him go in the PSD. I don't follow the ins and outs of Freo, so I'm not going to speculate on what they are likely to do, but I think it's clear that thats the decision they'll be faced with.

There is middle ground however.

Most Freo supporters would not expect Carlton to give 6 but want more than 24 ...I am sure the Blues recruiting staff have more of an imagination than saying - well thats it.

I guarantee their are players Carlton would offload at the right price whether this be direct to Freo or a pick which is on traded.

Trade value and Club passion aside if one were an aspiring young talent with a love for footy and its tradition. Where do you reckon the would want to be developing?
Obvious answer any Footy Club in Melbourne , give these kids a break let’s. Oe should not be so insular and myopic.
If the Baggers value the kid's ability they'll give fair trade value.
Go for it Robbie and good luck.
Ciao

To be fair with Robbie I honestly believe he wants to go home but Robbie has been very keen on his $'s and his manager was asking for a million the year before his contract even came up.

Your salary offer would be the driving factor but I could imagine for a Vic kid playing for Carlton would be a great thing too.

To my fellow Dockers fans - we wouldn't like opposition fans coming on to our board and talking trash. Lets keep that for the main board and make sure that we are welcome to come here and chat too.

Warnock update: According to Denham