List Mgmt. Trade & Draft Discussion 2023 post season - Picks Reid,30,40,49,66 (Bush league)

Hello Eagles fans!

The embedded resources below are kept up to date by the trade board mods (as much as possible – we are human after all). Enjoy!

Keys you may like to sticky this post & move it to the start of the thread (so the sticky post doesn't rotate if a post is deleted before it), or copy it to your draft thread if you have one.

I would expect 2025...

Another cull at the end of this year. I am expecting x5 players (under pressure Gaff, Ledwards, Hedwards, Foley, ??) and we need the likes of Darling, Sheed, Yeo, Mcgovern, Cripps to hang around long enough not to expose the kids to unbearable levels.

I dont know about this, just seems like we cant disturb the market and instead find a way to help clubs instead of shaking loose the kids (Busslinger). Is this another NBA or NFL thing?
Foley’s already goneski

I would expect 2025...

Another cull at the end of this year. I am expecting x5 players (under pressure Gaff, Ledwards, Hedwards, Foley, ??) and we need the likes of Darling, Sheed, Yeo, Mcgovern, Cripps to hang around long enough not to expose the kids to unbearable levels.

I dont know about this, just seems like we cant disturb the market and instead find a way to help clubs instead of shaking loose the kids (Busslinger). Is this another NBA or NFL thing?
Given those with contracts into 2025 I’m expecting (hoping) our 2024 trade/delist to be:

Rotham, LEdwards, HEdwards, Jamieson, Gaff, Witherden, Trew, Dewar, Baker

2025 I’m expecting Cripps, Darling and McGovern to retire with Hunt, Jones, Sheed and Petruccelle to be fighting for their spots. If Kelly and Yeo can stay fit they’ll get rolling 1 year contracts.

Can players on draftee contracts get a pay rise or are they stuck on base wages for duration of contract?

I recall TK was on base wages at Geelong all the way up until he left.

Harley has a mandatory 3yr contract. Be a bizarre situation when he's winning Brownlows but still on base $100k wages while our other draftees get a pay rise after 2 years.

The initial contract for draftees is set per the CBA based on what round they were drafted in and can’t be amended although there are incentives built in for AA nominations/selections, club B&F placings, Brownlow wins and games played

There is also an allowance for an Additional Services Agreement in the 3rd year for players with a 3 year contract if they the benchmarks set out (similar to those that qualify for incentives)

Hi guys hope you don’t mind me posting on your board , Barnett is OOC next year and after missing out on Goad the Crows would be dumb not to enquire
What would you expect /want for him?

Depends on how he develops this year after an injury interrupted first year where he didn’t really get going

But, ignoring player swaps, your R2 would be a minimum. If Barnett has a good year and you guys make finals it’d be closer to your R1

He could go full JHF after 1 season … hope not but who knows
If that’s the case …your first and Barnett you have a deal

Our 1st wont be offered on top of Barnett.

Hope we split our 1st and turn it (pkus a 2nd) into two top 5 picks and land two gun mids. One can be Drapper.

We would offer only one of the top 5 picks for Curtin.

Cant see the Eagles being too generous after Crows cut our lunch and refused to trade this year.

What’s the situation with the MSD next year? If Culley is on the long term injury list does that mean we have a spot open to take a player? 37 main list, 5 Cat As (incl. Culley) and 2 Cat Bs is a full 44 player list.

Culley wouldn’t be on long term injury list at start of year. In fact I think he is expected to be playing by the MSD next year

Given those with contracts into 2025 I’m expecting (hoping) our 2024 trade/delist to be:

Rotham, LEdwards, HEdwards, Jamieson, Gaff, Witherden, Trew, Dewar, Baker

2025 I’m expecting Cripps, Darling and McGovern to retire with Hunt, Jones, Sheed and Petruccelle to be fighting for their spots. If Kelly and Yeo can stay fit they’ll get rolling 1 year contracts.

Why would you be hoping Dewar & Baker get cut? Bit early to make that call.

They are both Cat B rookies who where always going to take a lot longer. They have currently had 1 year in a disaster of a year where at one point they where the only Eagles listed players left at wafl level with a load of ammo footballers. Bit harsh to be putting a line through them already.

Why would you be hoping Dewar & Baker get cut?

They are both Cat B rookies who were always going to take a lot longer. They have currently had 1 year in a disaster of a year where at one point they were the only Eagles listed players left at wafl level with a load of ammo footballers. Bit harsh to be putting a line through them already.
Dewar and Baker are more of an expect than a hope, neither have had a chance to show their wares in a proper system. If the list stays fit the Beagles actually look pretty good on paper next year and it will be a big year for both of them.

I haven’t seen enough of Baker or Trew to comment on whether it was best to re-sign them but geez it would have been nice to have the flexibility of an extra list spot for the MSD in case there’s a Jai Newcombe waiting.

Eagles will somehow make sure someone goes LTI and we'll be taking a pick.

I haven’t seen enough of Baker or Trew to comment on whether it was best to re-sign them but geez it would have been nice to have the flexibility of an extra list spot for the MSD in case there’s a Jai Newcombe waiting.
I hope not, but there's every chance we wil lose at least one player for the season.

I'd prefer we didn't of course.

We’re likely to have a top 5 MSD selection, but really only 1-2 players outside of the top pick actually show much.

If we have pick 1 it is different, there is often a standout player, but we shouldn’t lament not having a spot in November when it isn’t even the next opportunity to get a player (that would be the SSP and train-on, and there are a couple who went unselected in the draft who would hold some interest if we had a list spot).

That GWS recruiter sure had a hard on for Gothard.
Haven’t checked but can’t see that move being very popular with their
100’s of fans.
If they’d taken our 1st they still could’ve had at least one of Leake/Gothard. I thought we must have been asking for something back as well. But it appears not. It was also a strange move to then turn around and give the 2nd back. At least they will have the best small forwards.

Crows made out like bandits from that trade. I was disappointed at the time, I thought we had the better deal on the table but at least I get to take more of interest in the draft again.

With regards to trading picks for cap space as you mentioned Keys in an earlier post, I can’t help but feel it will bite us and help the afl run clubs and big vic clubs rort the system.

I’m imagining a world where our trade targets, up and coming, are retained on bigger coin at their current clubs who flog a pick to old mate at club up the road.

Sydney, Gold Coast, Brisbane, GWS are in the purple circle of vAFL handouts so won’t bite the hand that feeds. Will be interesting to see what goes down in the next trade period if this rule eventuates.