2017 Trade & FA Targets - The Last Supper #Ameetos

Pretty sure I read that we'd paid only 95% in 2014, 2015 & 2016. You may only pay 95% for 3yrs before you must pay 100%. That 100% is this year.

Now from 2018-2020, we may pay 105% of the cap, but if we do not pay 105% in 2018, we lose the right to pay it in 2019 & 2020.

I had taken a screenshot of the specific section from the CBA but cannot find it, nor can I find it anywhere online now for some reason

so whats the low down so far? anyone i miss?

CONFIRMED:
Port -> Jackson Trengrove (RFA) -> WB

NOMINATED:
Adelaide -> Jake Lever (C) -> Melbourne
Adelaide -> Charlie Cameron (C) -> Brisbane
Brisbane -> Tom Rockliff (RFA) -> Port
Freo -> Hayden Crozier -> WB
Freo -> Harley Dewah -> Melbourne
GC -> Brandon Matera -> Freo
GC -> Gary Abblett (C) -> Geelong
GC -> Adam Saad -> Essendon
GWS -> Devon Smith -> Essendon
GWS -> Matt Kennedy -> Carlton
GWS -> Nathan Wilson -> Freo
Hawthorn -> Good Bloke -> Brisbane
Port Adelaide -> Brendon Ah Chee -> West Coast
Port Adelaide -> Jarman car crash Impey -> Hawthorn
WB -> Jake the baby sitter Stringer -> Essendon

RUMOURS:
Adelaide -> Rory Sloane (C) -> Victorian club?
Brisbane -> Stefan Martin (C) -> Victorian club?
Brisbane -> Josh Schache (C) -> Victorian club?
Carlton -> Bryce Gibbs (C) -> Adelaide
Essendon -> Neckbeard McKing Special -> South Australian club?
Freo -> Nick Suburban -> Freo cause no one else will want him and freo are stupid enough to keep him
GC -> Trent McKenzie -> ???
GC -> Rory Thompson -> ???
Geelong -> FatLop -> South Australian club?
GWS -> Adam Tomlinson -> St Kilda
Melbourne -> Jack LOL Watts -> To anyone who will take him? Geelong/Sydney still at mad monday are apparently keen?
Port Adelaide -> Aaron Young -> ???
Port Adelaide -> Logan Austin -> St Kilda, but it makes no sense
Richmond -> Reece Conca -> Perf?
Sydney -> Michael Dobber turned Coke Alley Talia (DFA) -> St Kilda
Sydney -> Bondi Billionaire -> GC
UK -> The Queen -> North Melbourne (they like old people)

Lol @ "the baby sitter" :thumbsu:

so whats the low down so far? anyone i miss?

CONFIRMED:
Port -> Jackson Trengrove (RFA) -> WB

NOMINATED:
Adelaide -> Jake Lever (C) -> Melbourne
Adelaide -> Charlie Cameron (C) -> Brisbane
Brisbane -> Tom Rockliff (RFA) -> Port
Freo -> Hayden Crozier -> WB
Freo -> Harley Dewah -> Melbourne
GC -> Brandon Matera -> Freo
GC -> Gary Abblett (C) -> Geelong
GC -> Adam Saad -> Essendon
GWS -> Devon Smith -> Essendon
GWS -> Matt Kennedy -> Carlton
GWS -> Nathan Wilson -> Freo
Hawthorn -> Good Bloke -> Brisbane
Port Adelaide -> Brendon Ah Chee -> West Coast
Port Adelaide -> Jarman car crash Impey -> Hawthorn
WB -> Jake the baby sitter Stringer -> Essendon

RUMOURS:
Adelaide -> Rory Sloane (C) -> Victorian club?
Brisbane -> Stefan Martin (C) -> Victorian club?
Brisbane -> Josh Schache (C) -> Victorian club?
Carlton -> Bryce Gibbs (C) -> Adelaide
Essendon -> Neckbeard McKing Special -> South Australian club?
Freo -> Nick Suburban -> Freo cause no one else will want him and freo are stupid enough to keep him
GC -> Trent McKenzie -> ???
GC -> Rory Thompson -> ???
Geelong -> FatLop -> South Australian club?
GWS -> Adam Tomlinson -> St Kilda
Melbourne -> Jack LOL Watts -> To anyone who will take him? Geelong/Sydney still at mad monday are apparently keen?
Port Adelaide -> Aaron Young -> ???
Port Adelaide -> Logan Austin -> St Kilda, but it makes no sense
Richmond -> Reece Conca -> Perf?
Sydney -> Michael Dobber turned Coke Alley Talia (DFA) -> St Kilda
Sydney -> Bondi Billionaire -> GC
UK -> The Queen -> North Melbourne (they like old people)

In a nutshell.
The oracle TW has Shiel to saints. He's never been wrong.

What about rumours to saints list that proved to be unfounded?

Rich

Richo got the extension because since he has been there not one player has left due to discontent...says a lot about the culture, clarity and professionalism he has brought to the saints...on a side note Port havnt been the same since he left them.
Must be doing something right ;)
Eli left because of discontent

On SM-G950F using BigFooty.com mobile app

A Bombers mate said that he had heard Richo had met with Watts. My mate is definitely NOT an ITK and I recon he would have got it from the media or BF. Did anyone else hear this???

Good chance he was mistaken I recon, with all the peptides fogging his memory.

A Bombers mate said that he had heard Richo had met with Watts. My mate is definitely NOT an ITK and I recon he would have got it from the media or BF. Did anyone else hear this???

Good chance he was mistaken I recon, with all the peptides fogging his memory.
Probably been reading the trade whisperer.

I don't see how we have a need for him unless we want to turn him into a third tall defender.

Good user of the footy but lacks the smarts and work ethic to play on the wing. Membrey is a better option as a third tall forward.

Probably been reading the trade whisperer.

I don't see how we have a need for him unless we want to turn him into a third tall defender.

Good user of the footy but lacks the smarts and work ethic to play on the wing. Membrey is a better option as a third tall forward.

Pretty much what I said to him. Could be a great 3rd tall defender or winger if he wasn't such a lazy pea heart.

Found it!

View attachment 425923

http://s.afl.com.au/staticfile/AFL Tenant/AFL/Files/2015-2016 CBA FINAL.pdf

Edit: just realised this is the old CBA but I'm certain this Item has not changed in its specifics
which means we go all out in this trade period and get a couple best 22 players and pay them accordingly - interestly , who will be the targets - would not be surprised if they go all out for Shiel and Thomlinson(or Sloane, Gaff, Fiorini, Petracca,Merritt). which means losing our first round draft picks-amazing what happens when you show a player a million a year over 5 years.

Reckon he is far to slow for that role and that is a major issue with our inside mids. None really have pace or skill to play anywhere else

Well have to disagree with you on that as we haven't seen him at full fitness for a couple of years. Oh and where are we getting our 28 + years demographic from, these are are must have (just ask Melbourne)? Absolutely need leadership.

"So many options with trades its unbelievable.
We've already landed warriors Kelly, Martin, Gaff, and it hasn't even begun."
"Er, no Lord Tyrian, we didn't get any of those but Michael Talia looks likely."
Who? :oops:
Ah well, just
200.webp

Yes Lord Tryian. Fun it is but the battle begins Monday morning.
Master strategist Ameet will need to be sharper than the rest.
Oh he is. Yes, he is indeed.

And then there are our opponents strategists like....
"You called"
200.webp

Oh FFS, not now Dildoro! P1ss off already will ya.

Well have to disagree with you on that as we haven't seen him at full fitness for a couple of years. Oh and where are we getting our 28 + years demographic from, these are are must have (just ask Melbourne)? Absolutely need leadership.

I don't want him gone. I just don't want him as a defensive forward. He and our talls would be run off far to easily

Going to the draft is the right call, given nobody decent wants to play for the Saints. However, is there any danger on here of ever questioning Ameet and Trout? The Dopers have managed to get 3 blokes to nominate them, that would slot perfectly into the Saints. We have a truckload of money and it is crickets.

Can somebody please solve this riddle for me:

If Richo, Trout and Ameet are all market leaders at there job as most seem to believe on here, how is it we have missed finals 6 years in a row and number 7 is a near certainty?

What am I am missing here? They can't all be doing a good job whilst we simultaneously have a bottom 6 list. It's an oxymoron.

Can we at least call this out for what it is? The rebuild is not working. Our best 22 is damn scary. So much needs to go right next year for us to be competitive. Even this year, when we won earlier in the year you will find Montagna and Roo were heavily involved. Huge chance we slide next year.

In reality, teams like Bombers and Dees have blown right past us and the Pies and Hawks are far better teams than us despite finishing lower. How are questions not been asked? Is anybody held to any KPI's or are we just in the business of extending contracts because nobody has tried to burn a dwarf lately?

We are not going to delude ourselves into thinking going to the draft was a great outcome all along, are we? We are doing it because we have NO OPTIONS. Why are the Dopers able to attract 3 quality players and we can't get 1 to nominate us? It is not a great look. I think we can throw away any talk of "destination club".

Ameet has been successful at convincing players who were not getting a gig at other clubs to come to Saints for more opportunity. Whenever a player has been hotly contested we are not even really in the running. As for Trout, he has had a lot of bites at the cherry and his only true success has been Gresham. Every other pick has either been obvious or has not really worked out. Additionally, he has made some huge misses that would have completely changed our rebuild.

I am genuinely confused how these guys get so much love on here. What is it going to take for people to ask any questions of these guys? I can legitimately see us not making finals by 2019, these guys still having their jobs and BigFooty still hailing them as gurus.

I wish I had your confidence Ghost, but I just don't see it. This is looking very much like a Melbourne type rebuild. If Trout doesn't nail the draft this year, we are in a world of hurt.
While i agree with just a little bit of the above,lets look at reasons why,we are in the position we are in.
I am not going to blame anybody involved in what has transpired in the recent past.
But lets use the season just past for an example.
But before i start i say this.
Like many on here i started playing sport at a very young age,and although only at a country level i was lucky to be playing 2x senior level sports in my early teens,and both those teams at the start of my careers were not much chop.
And for the first 3 or 4 years of both sports struggled to get decent players to come to a team that would struggle.
So as the seasons past,we got better with young kids coming into the team via our own system.
Then guess what,more senior talent wanted to come play for those 2xteams.
My baseball side went onto win 5 premierships in 6 seasons, before i got to the age of 23.
Cricket wasnt so successful,but my point is building depth with young sides isnt a bad thing,as down the track more good seniors players will come and play.
But getting back to the current team,and onto the season just past.
As i said in an earlier post today,this team is talented and our season wasnt all doom and gloom.
Young kids always play and perform on confidence,always.
So lets just look at our most major concern-GOAL KICKING.
Are kids gunna drop their bundle when we consistently miss easy shots.Absolutely they are.
Is their confidence gunna jump to higher levels if we nail those easy shots.Absolutely it is.
Was it the difference in us not playing or playing finals.Not Absolutely but probably.
We are at an exciting stage guys,and if we can improve our goalkicking by the 5% Ben Dixon says it can improve by,and with a few tweaks to our playing style,added with the extra depth,we are playing finals.
Go Saints