2017 Trade & FA Targets - The Last Supper #Ameetos

I know Freo supporters and they are seriously feral. If they are in a sustained down period the pressure will mount on Ross. Agree on the floggings. If he has a bottom 3 year with regular 60 point losses he will struggle to stay next year though and they aren't easy to definitively say they won't.

WC are in some trouble though for sure. They don't look convincing and keeping guys like La Cras looks like denial more than list management.
the thing with Freo is they still have a handful of influencial supporters who the board take a lot of notice of their opinion ... they may have a plan but if that plan strat to look shakey fingers get pointed and thats when quick decisions get made ...

honestly i think Freo improve a lot next year they have a decent list and after a while that talent is bound to click into gear

I know Freo supporters and they are seriously feral. If they are in a sustained down period the pressure will mount on Ross. Agree on the floggings. If he has a bottom 3 year with regular 60 point losses he will struggle to stay next year though and they aren't easy to definitively say they won't.

WC are in some trouble though for sure. They don't look convincing and keeping guys like La Cras looks like denial more than list management.
Spot on.

The big problem with their so called rebuild is that the due date of their flag has many of their performing stars in the back end of their career. The ages of their star players in 2020 will all be 28+. With the likes of Mundy etc gone.

They should have been playing finals this season. They're not going to magically get better. They will regret not biting the bullet like we did and going on a proper rebuild.

Hate to say it but they are going to be seriously dangerous next year.
provided they get their hands on the ball often enough ... if you win the clearances then all the pace in the world aint going to help them if they cant get their hands on the ball.. they will live and die on the turnover , against the lower teams it will look impressive but the more disiplined skillful teams they will be looking like headless chooks

Really don’t get the logic of giving up 2 picks in the top 10 to get 1 .?
What if the one we rate at one is likely to be available at 3 and that not only do we consider him clearly better and more chance of ending up a "superstar" or seriously good than the ones at get at 7/8, but that we'd also get someone who we rate and who fits a need at 20ish, like say a LOB, or one of the many KPD options?

Traditionally, you're far more likely to get someone seriously good with a top 3 pick than you are with picks like 7 and 8 and that's what we need most. Someone seriously good, to help take our list to the next level. We're far far more likely to get a couple of nice pieces at 7/8 than we are a "superstar" type.

I imagine this is why the club are very keen to do it. We need a "difference maker".

provided they get their hands on the ball often enough ... if you win the clearances then all the pace in the world aint going to help them if they cant get their hands on the ball.. they will live and die on the turnover , against the lower teams it will look impressive but the more disiplined skillful teams they will be looking like headless chooks

I don't know, the first possession count and clearances aren't as important as they once were. If you can pressure them into a turn over Essendon have a wave of fast ball mover and an elite forward line with massive amounts of scoring options. Their defence is very good, their midfield is quick and high accumulating and their forwards will score heavily. I reckon the AFL will gift them primetime allotments and fixture them to go deep into finals. They want a cashed up Essendon as they are a massive money spinner and when the AFL had to fine them they were forced to pay their way with competitive balance money sent their way to prop them up. They were also given less visible slots so lost viewing audience and gate takings.

"Ultimately, he’s still a contracted player (until 2018)," Beveridge said.

"We’re not going to just say, ‘Here you go, you can have Jake Stringer’.

"We’ve said to him, you’re going to play here mate if no one is going to treat you with the respect you should have as far as what you have achieved, because we need to do what’s right for the club as much as you as well.

"We’ll try to work it out together."

- Luke Beveridge.
The dogs ****ed up then tried to back pedal but no one's buying it

What if the one we rate at one is likely to be available at 3 and that not only do we consider him clearly better and more chance of ending up a "superstar" or seriously good than the ones at get at 7/8, but that we'd also get someone who we rate and who fits a need at 20ish, like say a LOB, or one of the many KPD options?

Traditionally, you're far more likely to get someone seriously good with a top 3 pick than you are with picks like 7 and 8 and that's what we need most. Someone seriously good, to help take our list to the next level. We're far far more likely to get a couple of nice pieces at 7/8 than we are a "superstar" type.

I imagine this is why the club are very keen to do it. We need a "difference maker".

I'm not worried either way, if we can trade up there will be some good kids like LOB, Worpel etc as you said but I still think 7 and 8 should get talent. It would be nice to get 3 but I don't want to over pay for the privilege. Stephenson, Cerra etc are all potential sliders. I wouldn't be surprised if Collingwood go tall, they have cleared the decks and are desperate for tall backs and forwards which would push back one of the good mids and you just need a couple of teams like North to jump early to get Brayshaw and there's another gone. Freo get Oscar Allen or Hayes again someone slides back.