List Mgmt. 2019 Trade Thread - Part V

I just don't understand trading in Beau Masten full stop!

Have only just recovered from Beau Maister, or that other bloke that looked a lot like him Beau ?!
My uncle lives in Perth and goes to all the eagles games over there. He’s has been very consistent in his comments on how bad Masten is over the years. He’s not the sort to whinge about his own players either, in fact I can’t think of anyone else he’s criticised other than Cuz.
Obviously that doesn’t mean he knows more than our guys but I’m a tad worried about this one.

I don't understand the point of delisting Newnes and trading in Masten.
We were happy to keep Newnes, offered him a two year contract but he felt he needed a fresh start so we happily delisted him to help him get to his club of choice. Masten would then be coming to to replace newnes.

So it's not a delist Newnes to bring in Masten scenario, its a Newnes has left so we want someone to replace his attributes on the list which we think Masten could do.

Yeah i think Jack could be the difference between Carlton making and not making the 8.
If he is Best 22 on consistent basis they wont,and if he is a VFL regular,they could

If he gets back to what he was he's easily best 22.

Except Arno's IP consists solely of "Saints Footy: You Must Be Cho'king"

No thank you

And did you see his last game, it was like watching your grandad trying to dance to Gangnam Style.

Wait til you see Masten then. I was only joking anyway, if both are only taking up list spots for training standards then it's no good for any one. We are losing GOPs because we've moved beyond them....then lets just stock back up on older ordinary talent in case. These are the kind of moves I just don't even slightly understand the point of. Masten is B grade standard with no where to go but down hill. It's not like you hold up our list and go "that's the ideal player to fill that hole" when you're scanning it.

So noone except a couple of wannabe's have said were getting Masten. Why is everyone stressing?

Even if we get him, what’s the worst that could happen? He trains every week and plays VFL? I love the idea of bringing in guys from successful teams, it’s why I’m such a big defender of Hanners on here. These guys usually know what it takes to reach the top, if they can show a few young blokes that the 1%ers in recovery and training matter then they are worth their weight in gold.

I agree. If we've got a free list spot and it's a choice between Masten or a rookie at pick 120 I don't see it as the worst thing in the world if we give him a year.

8 seasons at St.Kilda (A team that never played Finals in his time) in which he finished in the Top10 just Once
2016 &2017 are the only 2 seasons he averaged more than 21 Disposals a game.
If Carlton have a much more Talented Team than what St.K does,as all the experts say they have,how does he be a Regular Best 22 player.
If he does Carlton does not have as Talented a Team that everbody says they have.

Wait til you see Masten then. I was only joking anyway, if both are only taking up list spots for training standards then it's no good for any one. We are losing GOPs because we've moved beyond them....then lets just stock back up on older ordinary talent in case. These are the kind of moves I just don't even slightly understand the point of. Masten is B grade standard with no where to go but down hill. It's not like you hold up our list and go "that's the ideal player to fill that hole" when you're scanning it.
What else can they do?
Armo has left prematurely so we need to fill that hole. Draftees and rookies won't do, so it's a mature DFA or state league player.
At least this way it's temporary with a known quantity that won't get in the way of putting games into some kids. Seems pretty legit to moi.

We were happy to keep Newnes, offered him a two year contract but he felt he needed a fresh start so we happily delisted him to help him get to his club of choice. Masten would then be coming to to replace newnes.

So it's not a delist Newnes to bring in Masten scenario, its a Newnes has left so we want someone to replace his attributes on the list which we think Masten could do.
Bleh, the whole Newnes thing really leaves a bad taste in my mouth. Spent years backing him through over a hundred and fifty games, spends the last two years doing SFA and then cracks it when he is offered a less then stellar contract. Well no shit mate, you've wasted a lot of potential you had as a developing player and leader of the club and now youve ****ed off as a DFA so the club benefits absolutely nothing from you leaving.

Should have made him go through the ****ing draft personally.

8 seasons at St.Kilda (A team that never played Finals in his time) in which he finished in the Top10 just Once
If Carlton have a much more Talented Team than what St.K does,as all the experts say they have,how does he be a Regular Best 22 player.
If he does Carlton does not have as

Agree. Where Nooonsy positions himself at Caaarlton as in regular best 22 or VFL will say a lot about list comparison.

Doubt he'd have played regular AFL at Saints in 2020.

What else can they do?
Armo has left prematurely so we need to fill that hole. Draftees and rookies won't do, so it's a mature DFA or state league player.
At least this way it's temporary with a known quantity that won't get in the way of putting games into some kids. Seems pretty legit to moi.

I'd rather a guy like Partington or Colhquon who are young enough to play for another 4 or 5 years. If we need some IP from the Eagles, get an ex player as a coach. I can't see anything that he brings other than a spot taken up with a filler.

Agree. Where Nooonsy positions himself at Caaarlton as in regular best 22 or VFL will say a lot about list comparison.

Doubt he'd have played regular AFL at Saints in 2020.

It depends on list make up. Newnes is a jack of all trades who does everything to an okay standard while not really flourishing on one spot. He looks like the last 2 years after injury in 2018 have stalled him. I think he looks like he needs a freshen up and he'll probably bounce back given a change. He looked really good in the one game forward as a high half forward lead up and on baller like De Goey. Also plays well off a half back and an adequate wing man. We have about 30 HBFs, heaps of wings and heaps of small forwards. Carlton have a need for all of them. He should do well there.

I hope he goes ok but just saying how he goes there will be a good litmus test as an observer.

I'd rather a guy like Partington or Colhquon who are young enough to play for another 4 or 5 years. If we need some IP from the Eagles, get an ex player as a coach. I can't see anything that he brings other than a spot taken up with a filler.
Well we've got 3 potential a+ kids plus Paton and Parker, and those younger DFAs will clog the works.
In 2 years I'd agree, but right now a Masten type suits our development stage.

List Mgmt. 2019 Trade Thread - Part V