List Mgmt. 2021 Draft and Trade Hypotheticals

There is a consensus that Sheldrick's kicking is more than a bit random. His decision making is not particularly good from what I read. I have never seen him so don't know. We have drafted players who have a high degree of kicking and decision making skills. So I am interested in how he would fit into that mix? Apparently his distribution by hand is superb.

On JAT-L29 using BigFooty.com mobile app
He's a brute who extracts the footy & is then very effective at dishing off by hand. The knock on his kicking is overstated - he has a booming kick on the run. And a burst of speed to escape a pack.

The decision making aspect is probably a fair knock, but young players can often improve in that area.

He just stood out to me in the WAFL Colts as a player we will really need in a post-JPK (and Parker) world.

Admittedly, I'm probably a bit biased - as he attends my son's school, so I've seen a lot more of him than other potential draftees.

He's a brute who extracts the footy & is then very effective at dishing off by hand. The knock on his kicking is overstated - he has a booming kick on the run. And a burst of speed to escape a pack.

The decision making aspect is probably a fair knock, but young players can often improve in that area.

He just stood out to me in the WAFL Colts as a player we will really need in a post-JPK (and Parker) world.

Admittedly, I'm probably a bit biased - as he attends my son's school, so I've seen a lot more of him than other potential draftees.
Will he be around at our second pick?

That sounds a bit like Chad at the same stage. Hard as in the middle and great by hand. His 18yo highlights demonstrate that. His kicking is still probably his weakest skill but has improved significantly.
Don't know enough to say "grab him" but one reason we lost to GWS was that we were not physically strong enough in the midfield without JPK and Mills.

Where does he say that about Gulden?

Draft Watcher - Knightmare 2020 Draft Almanac | BigFooty

Has him at pick 21 in his final phantom and listed at 175cm
He had a video just prior to the draft. It classed all the players as "best 5 in league", "best 5 on list", "best 18" "best 22" etc... Gulden didn't make the lsit, was mentioned at the end of the video as prob won't make it as he's too short and not high enough quality.

Can't be bothered finding the video.

Much discussion about 'reaching' in regards to the draft. I find the concept a bit tired personally. It's fine to have a general draft ethos you subscribe to (mids > talls, draft for needs etc.) but when assessing an individual, their worth at any given pick is subjective. A person on here may think a prospect is worth x, y or z, but our recruiters might think differently.

And our recruiters are the ones with "reaches" that include Rowbottom at pick 25, Warner at pick 39, and McInerney at pick 44. Rowbottom, Warner and McInerney were barely mentioned in any of the phantom drafts or power rankings prior to getting drafted, yet we'd happily take a talent of their caliber with our pick 16.

The whole concept of a "reach" is a myth because it's an opinion that's measured relative to those draft sources like phantom drafts and power rankings. And they in themselves are just the subjective views of draft-watchers. The draft is not a fixed system separated into tiers based on anything concrete. Once you accept that, it's much easier to look at all the draft conjecture from the "experts" as just a collection of opinions, no different to the opinions of our recruiters.*

*In fact, less important than the opinions of our recruiters, as they are the ones armed with the most knowledge of all the prospects to make an informed decision.

That sounds a bit like Chad at the same stage. Hard as in the middle and great by hand. His 18yo highlights demonstrate that. His kicking is still probably his weakest skill but has improved significantly.
Don't know enough to say "grab him" but one reason we lost to GWS was that we were not physically strong enough in the midfield without JPK and Mills.
Certainly open to getting an inside mid with one of our 2nd or 3rd picks (subject to KPD selection/likelihood), and probably also picking up Anderson from the Academy.

Probably not our greatest need, but we did also lose the guy who blitzed the field in tackles and pressure acts vs GWS.

Will he be around at our second pick?

Hard to know.

Wasn't even on the board in phantom drafts a month ago, but is now generally appearing in the 30's. I sense he could go earlier - particularly after he did very well on Horne-Francis in a juniors game recently.

Tbh I thought our midfield actually did really well against GWS, all things considered. We were a little slow out of the gate but for most of the game it felt like we were winning plenty of clean ball out of the centre and creating good scoring opportunities, just failing to convert them.

I felt where we really lacked JPK and Mills was in our transitioning from defence, which is the backbone of our game plan. Our set-ups up the field coming out of defence were a bit sloppy, and it forced us to do a lot of uncharacteristic bombing to outnumbered contests. The exits were just haphazard in general; lacked our usual schtick of knowing when to go fast and when to go slow when rebounding. Though they're not involved in that personally as inside mids, I reckon Mills and JPK's on-field leadership is pretty key in the way we structure and the tempo we play at. So even though we were super competitive and should've won, it never felt like we got the game on our terms at a tempo that suited our game-plan.

(Should probably acknowledge that Blakey's absence, as well as quieter games from our rebounding crew did not help in this regard.)

Much discussion about 'reaching' in regards to the draft. I find the concept a bit tired personally. It's fine to have a general draft ethos you subscribe to (mids > talls, draft for needs etc.) but when assessing an individual, their worth at any given pick is subjective. A person on here may think a prospect is worth x, y or z, but our recruiters might think differently.

And our recruiters are the ones with "reaches" that include Rowbottom at pick 25, Warner at pick 39, and McInerney at pick 44. Rowbottom, Warner and McInerney were barely mentioned in any of the phantom drafts or power rankings prior to getting drafted, yet we'd happily take a talent of their caliber with our pick 16.

The whole concept of a "reach" is a myth because it's an opinion that's measured relative to those draft sources like phantom drafts and power rankings. And they in themselves are just the subjective views of draft-watchers. The draft is not a fixed system separated into tiers based on anything concrete. Once you accept that, it's much easier to look at all the draft conjecture from the "experts" as just a collection of opinions, no different to the opinions of our recruiters.*

*In fact, less important than the opinions of our recruiters, as they are the ones armed with the most knowledge of all the prospects to make an informed decision.
I think it's an interesting topic as we have no clue how other teams rate prospects.

I completely agree with your feelings on reaching, and though many see Ling and Stephens as reaches, the simple fact of the matter is we chose the players that we thought were the best for our team, and even though hindsight always wins, we know the recruitment staff have way more wins than Bigfooty.

On that note, when I talk about trading down, it's more in regards to what will give our team the most benefit. I feel the choices we are looking at IF we draft a tall defender is Van Rooyen and pick 33 or if we trade stuff around 24 and Bazzo, and I feel that the second option gives us greater benefits.

This is of course assuming we'll take a tall defender, and I have no clue what our plans are. Imo, I'm just along for the ride, our decision depends more on what players are taken before us than our own decisions at this point.

love this work mate

It is ironic that GWS will probably be choosing Daicos with Collingwoods pick.

Poetic as well.

Highlights the stupidity of it last year! They could have got a top 2 pick AND Daicos

Thankyou

Draft picks: 16, 31, 39, 70, 88

List needs: Key defenders, ball-winning midfielders, key forward depth, defensive run

Who could be available at first pick: Jacob van Rooyen, Josh Sinn, Tyler Sonsie, Campbell Chesser

In the mix after that: Leek Alleer, Rhett Bazzo, Angus Sheldrick, Mitch Knevitt, Sam Banks, Shay Linke

Sydney is low on key defenders and van Rooyen, Alleer and Bazzo shape as possible options for their first and second-round selections. Van Rooyen looks to be the one that could be off the board the earliest of this trio, with Bazzo and Alleer a chance to sneak outside the top 30. A first-round slider may be too difficult to resist, with prospects like Sinn and Sonsie a chance of being available. Chesser or Sinn would help fill the void left by new Crow Jordan Dawson with their penetrating kicks and speed. Alternatively, Tasmanian defensive distributor Banks presents as a value pick in the second half of the draft. With veteran Josh P. Kennedy remaining one of Sydney’s prime movers, some inside grunt could be found in the likes of Sheldrick or Knevitt with their second pick. Could South Australian Linke, a 190cm midfielder-forward who shone at stages during the national championships, be on their radar as a later selection?

18. Sydney: Josh Sinn (Sandringham)
186cm defender-midfielder

The player: Speedy half back is renowned for having one of the most deadly left-foot kicks in this year’s crop. His ability to turn defence into attack on the burst makes him one of the most eye-catching players in the first round, but the Sandringham product suffered a hamstring injury and has slid down clubs’ draft boards a little this year. Takes the game on in an aggressive manner and will be a huge asset with his flair on the counter-attack.

The pick: Sydney would ideally love a top key position prospect to help bolster the club’s defensive stocks but maybe they have something up their sleeves in the free agency market. Logan McDonald is an exciting key forward and Tom McCartin has blossomed into an All-Australian contender but depth in this area is a query. With Jordan Dawson gone, Sinn has some appeal here.

Both from Australia's largest toilet paper producer

I have gone on record saying I'd prefer a key defender with our first this year. However I would appreciate the irony if we got Sonsie.

Given that this time last year I was saying how we needed a midfielder and that whoever got Sonsie would be getting an absolute gun, and a year later we get Sonsie the midfielder and I'm complaining about it :p