List Mgmt. 2021 Trade & List Management Thread II - IN: CCJ

Really don't want to give richmond our 38 considering they have so many decent picks already.
Reckon they'll trade up with the dogs to secure another first rounder.

Richmond's picks are now 7, 15, 26, 28, 38, 41, 45.

Just bundle up Tarrant and 39 for their 45 and be done with it.

6 Pick downgrade and get it done early so we can concentrate of any other potential deals.

They most likely won’t use 45 if they are brining in Tarrant.

Im all for screwing them over, but you have to pick your battles and a small downgrade where Richmond keep the Chol compo and get Tarrant and we get CCJ should keep everyone happy.

Do you know how they got all those picks?

Their first pick last year was pick 40 & have lost Higgins, Chol & now CCJ to get those picks.
All fringe players who's departure hasn't affected the playing group.
We don't even have a suitor for someone whos played 200+ games at the roos.

All fringe players who's departure hasn't affected the playing group.
We don't even have a suitor for someone whos played 200+ games at the roos.

Fascinating take, especially considering the sooking out of Punt Rd about CCJ.
Higgins was a first round pick.
The fact that Shaun Atley is a 200+ game player, isn't Brady & the list teams fault.

As I said, it's a good hand, but they've paid for it.

Unless I'm missing somethign that's a good starting point, because then you add Taz to the equation.

As I said a few days ago I still think it will be Taz + 38 for CCJ and 44. Those 3rd rounders will obviously slide a bit due to comp etc, but you get the picture.

With Chol netting them 38 though we arguably have more leverage than before though so I reckon we might be able to improve that.

Tarrant is 32 years of age, CCJ is 22 and drafted at pick 20 just a few years ago.

Ain't no way that deal would happen.

Tarrant is 32 years of age, CCJ is 22 and drafted at pick 20 just a few years ago.

Tarrant would net US free agency compo, and negate YOUR Chol combo. That's why the deal 'looks' worse on your end.

How many picks are you guys planning on taking players with anyway? You now have 6 before 44 (now 45).

That's ok, we'll let Taz go as an FA, you lose that Chol compo and we'll pick CCJ in the PSD.

Just in case it isn't clear:

It is worth noting that in 2013, Carlton did not receive compensation for losing free agent Eddie Betts to Adelaide as the Blues received fellow free agent Dale Thomas from Collingwood. Free-agency compensation is determined as a net gain or loss at the end of a free-agency period, meaning that any compensation for Betts was wiped out by the acquisition of Thomas.

The Hawks did it last year when they traded for Kyle Hartigan so they didn't lose compo for Isaac Smith.

1633073832290.png

That's ok, we'll let Taz go as an FA, you lose that Chol compo and we'll pick CCJ in the PSD.

Personally, I could care less if he went to the PSD over pick 38. We already have so many early picks that 38 seems pointless to us. I have no idea what the club is thinking. I can't imagine they would be thrilled to accept 38.

I imagine it will be somewhere met in the middle on fair grounds. Clubs rarely burn other clubs as you may "win" 1 trade, but you've burnt that trade bridge and relationship for the long term.

I think deep down every North fan knows pick 38 is unders for a young KPP who showed the contested marking flashes CCJ did. Maybe not massively, but still...unders.

So why are you guys offering him good coin on a multi year deal?

Must see a lot of potential in him.

Remember Nank? Sound familiar?

No worries, I think the Nank deal is our best example.

Nank - drafted at pick 35 , 22 years old , played a total of 12 games over 3 years including 7 in 2016, traded for pick 46
CCJ - drafted at pick 20 , 22 years old, played a total of 9 games over 4 years including 8 in 2021, traded for ???

Personally, I could care less if he went to the PSD over pick 38. We already have so many early picks that 38 seems pointless to us. I have no idea what the club is thinking. I can't imagine they would be thrilled to accept 38.

I imagine it will be somewhere met in the middle on fair grounds. Clubs rarely burn other clubs as you may "win" 1 trade, but you've burnt that trade bridge and relationship for the long term.

I think deep down every North fan knows pick 38 is unders for a young KPP who showed the contested marking flashes CCJ did. Maybe not massively, but still...unders.
As Luff said today, that's what the market says he's worth.

Remember Nank? Sound familiar?

It does. I think in hindsight Sydney gave him away far too cheaply. They would say the same.

CCJ has a better backing and junior stocks than what Nank did. CCJ was seen as one of the best talls of his draft.

Will he turn out better? Who knows. But they're different players.

It does. I think in hindsight Sydney gave him away far too cheaply. They would say the same.

CCJ has a better backing and junior stocks than what Nank did. CCJ was seen as one of the best talls of his draft.

Will he turn out better? Who knows. But they're different players.
The AFL is like university, your draft ranking/entry mark don't matter once you join. Unless of course you have the right family, connections and 'school'. But forget those, this is the argument I'm going with, just like every grad program in the country!

That is all talk.

He would be a bad negotiator if he started off from pick 20. They will meet in the middle.

We will see what happens.
I reckon that deal you quoted would be what we would be working to.

Isaac Smith netted the Hawks a 3rd round pick (pick 42) for a two year deal. Taz is getting a 2 year deal (let's say a 3rd round compo pick if he went via FA (pick 40))

Taz + 39 for CCJ and 45 is about right and you don't lose the Chol compo.