Paul Hunter

Traded;
Luke Dunstan

Retired;
Jake Carlisle
Dylan Roberton
Shaun McKernan
James Frawley

To see the full playing list list (it gets updated regularly) visit this thread;

Restricted and Unrestricted Free Agency Window
Friday October 1 – Friday October 8

Trade Period
Players: Monday October 4 – Wednesday October 13
Picks: Monday October 4 – Monday November 15

List Lodgement 1
Friday October 29

Delisted Free Agency Window 1
Wednesday November 3 - Tuesday November 9

List Lodgement 2 (Final date for primary list delistings)
Wednesday November 10

Delisted Free Agency Window 2
Thursday November 11 - Monday November 15

AFL Pre-Season Commences (First to fourth year players)
Monday November 22

National Draft
Round 1: Wednesday November 24 (7pm)
Round 2 – completion: Thursday November 25 (7pm - late)

Preseason and Rookie Drafts
Friday November 26 (3.20pm)

Final List Lodgement
Monday November 29

Pre-Season Commences (All other players)
Monday 6 December

Pre-Season Supplemental Selection Period (SSP)
December - March (tbc)

Pre-Season Christmas Break
Sunday 19 December - Sunday 9 January

Last edited by a moderator:
And how would the Bombers look now if Daniher, Saad & Fantasia had chosen to stay with them?

A lot easier to step back and hit the draft when players with currency decide, en masse, they're leaving, than to turf players with currency out the door in the hope of bringing in better talent.

That's the thing, they turned Saad, Daniher and Fantasia into high picks. We let players go cheap and don't get the same leg up because of it. Essendon literally swapped Saad for pick 8 and got Hind who looks like for like with a pick that they wouldn't have used. That's pretty good trading. Pick 7 for a busted up Daniher and a pick 29 for a broken down Fantasia. He might be a dickhead but that was pretty good stuff from Dildo.

A 3rd round compo would give us 620 points, or the equivalent of pick 30 in the draft.

These picks would rise on draft night due to father sons and could be enough to get both Windhanger and Owens with a 20% discount, depending where they go.

If you add the 197 point discount, you get 817 points (620 + 197). That amount covers a bid from pick 24. Any bid from pick 23 (815 points) means we go into deficit.

As long as we are not in deficit after matching a bid for our first NGA lad then we can match any bid for our second by going into deficit next year.

The magic number for a worst case scenario is 878 draft value points (which is pick 21). We need 681 draft value point in total to match a bid for a worst case scenario bid if you include the 197 point discount. That is only another 61 points. The equivalent of pick 67.

The Dunstan compensation pick, if we get one, will relieve most of the pressure.

That's the thing, they turned Saad, Daniher and Fantasia into high picks. We let players go cheap and don't get the same leg up because of it. Essendon literally swapped Saad for pick 8 and got Hind who looks like for like with a pick that they wouldn't have used. That's pretty good trading. Pick 7 for a busted up Daniher and a pick 29 for a broken down Fantasia. He might be a dickhead but that was pretty good stuff from Dildo.
Yes gringo, but they were forced to do it. All those players said they were leaving.

Who are our star players demanding out?

How did pick 7 for daniher as RFA compo have anything to do with essendon brilliance?

See, the bolded statement here is not overblown hyperbole. You've already come down from "it probably was the worst" to "it would be one of the worst". A few more replies and I might get you down to "it could have been better".

And I further more reiterate - why is it our drafting is bad and not our development? Why is it always the drafting that is terrible? Does that explain why Luke Dunstan was essentially the same footballer in 2021 that he was in 2014? Of course not.

In the final analysis, sport is for enjoyment, so if you are incapable of enjoyment on any level, perhaps it's time to take up crochet.

I'm trying to sound less hyperbolic so that you don't get all snarky and actually look at it objectively. It sounds like you disagree anyway so I won't bother. You comparing us to a starting out Freo who were thrown in the deep end without support when we have been around for more than 100 years is also hyperbolic.

Yes gringo, but they were forced to do it. All those players said they were leaving.

Who are our star players demanding out?

We have many. Dunny is probably the closest and Seb and Billings trying to hawk themselves only to get sent back with their tails between their legs.

I think he meant more , that after trading an arm and a leg , we aren't much better off than if we had just kept Newnes.

You don't want to compare the stats.

He obviously didn’t watch the tripe that Newnes dealt up for his last 3 years with us.

you'd like to think so but there isn't that much difference in the spend to what he had and what lethers had. remembering lethers even had covid to deal with.

in 2014 i do remember him and trout being the only two at games but that changed the following season.

i dont think its a problem of funding.

i just think lethers had a better feel for football be it the list or the people you need in your footy department.

thats not to take away from ameet at the trade table. i think he was first class there. its just the rest wasn't very good IMO

$$$ have always been our issue.

Lol Rendell has absolutely NFI. Does he just guess shit?

I know GC love to overpay players but there's no way Brodie is on $600k. I swear i saw it reported to be more $400-450K

Bailey Smith, liberatore, Adam treloar, viney and braysaw all had less votes than Dunstan.....does that mean they had a horrible year as well???

Brownlow votes mean nothing

They mean something....that there was not many taking votes off at the Saints while clubs with heaps of gun mids take them off each other. Bailey Smith had a shit year too, they moved him out wider and he looked ordinary. Treloar was injured as well.

List Mgmt. 2021 Trade Thread - Part III