• trade back in with a future second for someone else

• only take MM and keep the other spot for PSD/rookie

Results are only viewable after voting.

Our draft haul:

Pick 17 - Max Michalanney (matched F/S)
Pick 43 - Billy Dowling
Pick 50 - Hugh Bond

Rookie Pick 5 - Andrew McPherson (re-listed)
Rookie Pick 21 - Paul Seedsman (re-listed)

Players in that circumstance can nominate a minimum salary when nominating for a draft. If the player nominates his current contract then there is no problem, but if he doesn't and a club signs him up on standard minimum, the original club would be required to pay out the remainder.
Ok thanks mate. Thats interesting and different to how I thought commercially it would work but much appreciated explanation . Cheers

Why would you believe we instantly increased the worth of picks by just by doing a swap?

Did we forge North’s signatures on documents to create such magical added value
Do you think the value to the market of our pick 23 is worth the same as North's F1, a pick that will almost certainly be earlier and in a better draft?

If so, what is your justification? Is it just the "bird in the hand" bonus? Is it that you can't imagine a scenario where North leaves value on the table in a trade?

That has to be an oversight ......IMO still a top 15 player
amateur footy writers, just lost his name shuffling bits of paper on their desk. It probably fell into the waste paper basket!

Twomey late Sept had him at 12 saying "Hewett completed his season by impressing at senior WAFL level with Swan Districts. He played four straight games and averaged 16 disposals and a goal across that block of footy, showing he could match it with senior bodies and hold his own. Hewett is a confident player who can hustle and bustle through the midfield as well as hit the scoreboard. His best game of the year came against Vic Metro at the under-18 carnival when he was a physical force"

That doesn't read like a player getting picked after 25 regardless of where he comes from. My bolding

Obviously.

Though North added another pick to F2, so obviously the market has said 23 was worth the same or more
One transaction isn't the market, especially when it was made by a team that has made some extraordinary errors in trading.

I'm still not sure how you justify the idea that pick 23 in a bad draft is the same valued asset as pick 20 in a good one?

Did you think the same when Gold Coast traded pick 11 for pick 28?

Sometimes one club manages to improve their position through a trade, and I think we did that.

I reckon it's because lately West Australians are only taken by WC and Freo, there's some kind of blind spot there.

If Freo had pick 15 they would have said Hewett.

On SM-F926B using BigFooty.com mobile app
It feels like there's been a lot of reports of Hewett sliding, and perhaps there is information we're not privy to. He did have a very mediocre national champs.

One transaction isn't the market, especially when it was made by a team that has made some extraordinary errors in trading.

I'm still not sure how you justify the idea that pick 23 in a bad draft is the same valued asset as pick 20 in a good one?

Sometimes one club manages to improve their position through a trade, and I think we did that.
Again we all know why they did the trade to remove risk

the 100% certainty that next year is better and that norths pick is better than 23 is not known. there are going to be a few shit teams next year... might turn out well might not

Sometimes different picks have different values to different clubs. Sometimes clubs take what they can get, or pay what they have to a particular club who wants to deal. There is no "efficient market" for draft picks.

I agree.

I actually think there needs to be a line above which more movement kicks in.

For example, at $450k:

• Your salary becomes public
  • You can be traded during your contract
  • You have different FA rights

(Regarding the salary thing, I've worked for non profits and mamber based organisations where senior staff had their salaries makde public in annual reports. I think it's reasonable to expect that at a certain level).
WRT "public" salary, it doesn't have to even be publicly public, just commercial-in-confidence, but available to clubs at a restricted level, so clubs know exactly where players sit so they can make appropriate offers.

Hard to fathom why this young fella Kobe Ryan has slipped down the ratings so far given his stellar form over the last 2 years across all 4 levels U18's both as an underager in 2021 and a top ager this season, SANFL Reserves and League this season and at the Nationals.

An absolute running machine that never takes a backward step at the contest, good overhead for his size, versatility re on field roles he can play, reasonable skills all round, a very team orientated player.

Not slow, great agility just a naturally gifted footballer that gives his all. Could it be his size 183cm 73kg still a bit light but a year or two in the gym should fix that, kicking can be a tad inconsistent at times but certainly not bad by any means. Later in the Draft/Rookie surely we'd have a look?

Hard to fathom why this young fella Kobe Ryan has slipped down the ratings so far given his stellar form over the last 2 years across all 4 levels U18's both as an underager in 2021 and a top ager this season, SANFL Reserves and League this season and at the Nationals.

An absolute running machine that never takes a backward step at the contest, good overhead for his size, versatility re on field roles he can play, reasonable skills all round, a very team orientated player.

Not slow, great agility just a naturally gifted footballer that gives his all. Could it be his size 183cm 73kg still a bit light but a year or two in the gym should fix that, kicking can be a tad inconsistent at times but certainly not bad by any means. Later in the Draft/Rookie surely we'd have a look?
Yeah with our need for a tall ruck KPP type player and able to get bargain like Ryan just hope Crows make a hard decision with payout to delist someone or retire Seedsman who unfortunately never going to be same player again if ever able to get back on football field.
Whilst like Ryan just feel that Poulter worth a late or rookie pick.

Sometimes different picks have different values to different clubs. Sometimes clubs take what they can get, or pay what they have to a particular club who wants to deal. There is no "efficient market" for draft picks.
Yes, I think it is this. The AFC clearly wants draft picks in 2023 more than in 2022; not even/just because 2023 is seen as a "better" draft, but because of our list situation with so many players coming out of contract next year, we want to be able to hit that draft and/or trade players in. North, on the other hand, apparently (I haven't looked at their list situation) want to hit this year's draft. Both clubs get what they want.

It feels like there's been a lot of reports of Hewett sliding, and perhaps there is information we're not privy to. He did have a very mediocre national champs.
funny he also had the best individual game I reckon I saw at champs against vic metro but then was average in other games, was ok against SA

there are question marks on his defensive stuff and general positioning off the ball, maybe its also his incosnsistency and prep

Still, he has enough going for him to be a clear top 30 pick if not top 20

All these under the radar or slipping down the list South Australians sound like a good opportunity for Port at 33 (sad to say).
I’d say they will be all in a key defender , will be some decent options eg Van Es , Adams , McCallum

Most of the available SA guys will be taken after 33 IMO other than Phillipou , and possibly J Ryan and Barnett

I’d say they will be all in a key defender , will be some decent options eg Van Es , Adams , McCallum

Most of the available SA guys will be taken after 33 IMO other than Phillipou , and possibly J Ryan and Barnett
Think South's Kyle Marshall could at least get a rookie shot, if not this year sometime in the future.

Would we have to offload a player/make an available list spot BEFORE the draft if we wanted to trade back in via our two future 2nds?

Seemingly not, as rookie list upgrades/downgrades occur after the main draft. It would force us to downgrade someone to the rookie list.

I wouldn't expect us to trade back into this draft tbh, not unless something exceptional happens.

List Mgmt. 2022 AFL Draft Discussion