• trade back in with a future second for someone else

• only take MM and keep the other spot for PSD/rookie

Results are only viewable after voting.

Our draft haul:

Pick 17 - Max Michalanney (matched F/S)
Pick 43 - Billy Dowling
Pick 50 - Hugh Bond

Rookie Pick 5 - Andrew McPherson (re-listed)
Rookie Pick 21 - Paul Seedsman (re-listed)

Who traded out of the super draft next year?

No one would trade out of the super draft? Well, no one did, so I guess that's true.

This year - most of the early picks changed hands. That never happens.

The talk from Twomey was that we offered our future first for a pick for Humphrey or Phillipou. No comment on whether we may have expected something else included. Certainly no suggestion from him that we offered more than the pick.

Just a rumour that we had a gentle nibble at maybe getting Phillipou if someone responded at our price - no doubt so we can keep an iron in the first for the future.
Don’t mind this post as they say laughing is healthy

What isn't a fact in what was posted?

Lots of teams traded their early picks this year - 5 of the first 7.

None did for next year.

There's rumours that maybe clubs offered picks from next year, but nothing actually happened.

I guess we won't know the truth. We can only know what actually occurred.

None did for next year.

There's rumours that maybe clubs offered picks from next year, but nothing actually happened.

3 clubs offered a future 1st on draft night , all got rejected

Top 11 picks were hard to budge

Let’s wait until round 10 but I bet plenty of the top 11 on draft nught playing good footy by then even though it’s a long game

There's no proof of the first statement, though.

All we know is what actually happened - picks 1, 2, 3, 5 and 7 were all traded.

It is a long game, though. Hard to know.how we'll feel in six months.

And i will also bet there is the usual fanfare about the top 10 of the 2023 draft then too and teams that held their picks will be happy they did...

None did for next year.

so you're saying that at the trade table there was demand for early 2022 picks but not so much 2023 picks?

There's no proof of the first statement, though.

All we know is what actually happened - picks 1, 2, 3, 5 and 7 were all traded.

It is a long game, though. Hard to know.how we'll feel in six months.
Why is it so hard for you to admit you got it very wrong.
We certainly had heavy interest in Mattaes contrary to your beliefs unfortunately a deal could not be had.

Time you moved on like the club and everyone else.

And i will also bet there is the usual fanfare about the top 10 of the 2023 draft then too and teams that held their picks will be happy they did...
Yep no doubt

Some genuine disappointment we couldn’t get in a position to get Phillipou but there should be some good things for us in the 2023 draft and maybe we can use a 2024 1st to either move up or have multiple picks and help get the things our list needs

Yep no doubt

Some genuine disappointment we couldn’t get in a position to get Phillipou but there should be some good things for us in the 2023 draft and maybe we can use a 2024 1st to either move up or have multiple picks and help get the things our list needs
Trade not draft?

Why is it so hard for you to admit you got it very wrong.
We certainly had heavy interest in Mattaes contrary to your beliefs unfortunately a deal could not be had.

Time you moved on like the club and everyone else.
Mate, I'm not sure why you keep getting so upset about this.

All I'm ever saying is let's not get too carried away with rumours and guesses, when we have facts and actions right there.

I'm not for a second doubting that you and Matric did hear things, just as I'm not doubting Volbeat and the person I heard from.

But whispers aren't the same thing as evidence. The evidence was a lot of teams traded in and out of the first 7 picks, but not many were able to get an early pick next year.

There's always lots of chat. But a lot of it is just bullshitting around - the truth is in the action taken.

Mate, I'm not sure why you keep getting so upset about this.

All I'm ever saying is let's not get too carried away with rumours and guesses, when we have facts and actions right there.

I'm not for a second doubting that you and Matric did hear things, just as I'm not doubting Volbeat and the person I heard from.

But whispers aren't the same thing as evidence. The evidence was a lot of teams traded in and out of the first 7 picks, but not many were able to get an early pick next year.

There's always lots of chat. But a lot of it is just bullshitting around - the truth is in the action taken.
This is getting embarrassing

Why is it hard to understand whilst we were interested in Phillipou, we were never going to land him once pick #5 was traded for Rankine.

Yet, the circle work continues....

???

Which bit?

Was it where I said "let's look at the actual facts of what happened, and maybe give that more weight than the rumours"?

I think it's a bit worrying how quickly you've leapt on internet rumours as somehow being facts, Jeff.
3 late interviews to Ports 0 including one with Nicks

Confirmation from source in analytics

Confirmation from Metric system

Confirmation from Twomey

Yeah nah

Confirmation from Twomey

Yeah nah
And at least 2 face to face meetings with Nathan Van Berlo later in the season.

Confirmation from Twomey

Yeah nah
So - rumours that we met with him (probably true, any less would be gross negligence). Some internet posters who have a rumour we like him. And a journalist who suggested we floated the idea of a future pick for him or Humphrey.

Meanwhile - we already had the assets to get him and we didn't make ANY effort to keep them. That's what we actually did.

Why didn't we? Did we not think anything else could get Rankine? Port managed to get JHF and somehow didn't have to give up an asset they needed, in Giorgiades.

We didn't even try to keep pick 5. I think either we didn't have any other options to get Rankine (which seems very unlikely), we only decided we liked Phillipou late (which seems very incompetent), or we actually think he's a risky proposition and we want to have a bit each way. Seem interested enough that we can keep an iron in the fire, so we can potentially attract him to the club if he comes good.

The last version seems most likely, because it's both backed up by the rumours and the actions.

Did we have any more interest in him than a normal first round prospect? If it's normal practice to interview these guys a few times and float a few trades without going hard then it's a nothing story really
Yes we did 3 meetings with his father/family and his management Sports Minded/Ned Costello in the final few weeks leading up to the draft and multiple with Van Berlo during the season.

So we haven't done that for anyone else either in this draft or previous drafts?

Only with draftees we're very keen on obviously, 3 times in less than a month, the last less than a week before the draft.

One of the players we drafted only had 2 meetings, once at the Combine in which he didn't test and one more between then and the draft.

I doubt it, seeing how we didn't care to retain our first in the Rankine deal, and Phillipou would have been a known quantity at that point. I suspect this is just the equivalent of us offering Martin a godfather deal years ago. Doing just enough to say we tried as some PR management.

Bingo

Same as us supposedly offering the farm for JHF, but then when he was actually on the table we didn't pony up enough. Once again Port found a way.

When Geelong wanted Dangerfield and Henderson did they take one and walk away? No, they gave us 1 first-rounder and shoved some junk down our gullet. Somehow it was our problem their eyes were bigger than their wallet.

You could've split one of our first-rounders into two and given a first and junk to GC. Then 2x firsts plus a second back for Phillipou. Or get your foot in the door for Bowes early and push GC to make him part of the Rankine trade before it went to the open market.

Our weak, uncreative drafting/trading team strikes again.

You could've split one of our first-rounders into two and given a first and junk to GC. Then 2x firsts plus a second back for Phillipou. Or get your foot in the door for Bowes early and push GC to make him part of the Rankine trade before it went to the open market.

Our weak, uncreative drafting/trading team strikes again.

Or.......maybe we couldnt do that? GC have to accept the deal. Not all players/managers are willing to screw over the club they're leaving and go though the pre season draft. For all you know part of the deal of Rankine accepting our contract was that GC got fair compensation.

What was fair about us only getting one first-rounder for Dangerfield?

What isn't fair about a later first and more for a small forward?

List Mgmt. 2022 AFL Draft Discussion