Preview 2022 Rd 4 Carlton vs Gold Coast Sunday 10th April 4.10PM @ Metricon Stadium

Who will win?

Not with Setters and LOB playing their roles. If one of them falters we could see Walsh/Cerra get a bit more wing time to accommodate Paddy getting a run on-ball. Probably coincides with Kennedy spending a few more of his minutes up forward.
It could work but pushing Walsh too far outside seems to be counter productive. Dow would probably need to find two more levels before I’d be comfortable with that

Agree. We’ve won our first 3 games so the team is obviously jelling very well. Am not against changes, but reluctant to change a winning formula.

A reason to drop someone has to be more than player X had a quiet game or missed a couple of passes, or that player Y had one really good reserves game and must come in.

Sometimes posters calling for a player to be dropped will use the same reason to keep another player in, ie. “player X is doing ok but reserves won’t hurt them, player Y is doing ok but keep him in because it’ll get him to AFL standard.” It’s more favouritism that anything else, hope those days are gone for the MC.

The coaching staff see these players day in, day out. See how they train, understand whether they’re playing their team role. That can be a very different perception to what we see from the stands.

Flip side, 1-2 changes a week to rotate and give others deservedly a chance whom been playing in the 2's is not a bad thing. You'll need about 28-30 players in a successful season who should be able to slot in and play the game style required when they're in. We know McD and Young can slot around another, Durdin and Owies can do their thing, but Motlop sounding deserved a chance, with our midfield depth having a LOB or Setters or one of the Fab 5 need a week off to slot in a Dow, Stocker etc.

Dunno about that - Sexton loves a ground ball, and Plow much more competent in the air. Reckon Sexton would turn him pretty easily. I actually think Williams is the matchup for Sexton where possible (or Saad if he's fit), better at halving the contest on the deck and able to then run off the lazy Sexton on the rebound.

Sexton is pretty crafty in getting into space and on his own out the back.

Plow is a much better lock down defender than Williams who would get caught out on the turn overs potentially.

It could work but pushing Walsh too far outside seems to be counter productive. Dow would probably need to find two more levels before I’d be comfortable with that

Yeah, it'd only be in the scenario where those guys who are performing on the wing get injured or drop their bundle entirely. Nothing wrong with Dow spending 2-3 months carving it up in the ressies though. Hopefully the more confidence he gets with his attacking game, the more time the coaches can spend building up his defensive game to the required level.

Plow is a much better lock down defender than Williams who would get caught out on the turn overs potentially.

All the more reason for Plow to not be the matchup, has a history of losing his man and coughing up cheapies :p

If that ends up being the matchup, I can live with it. Just figure that we struggled after the first quarter because we couldn't get through the Hawks defensive setup - another run-and-carry type in place of Plow might be helpful there. Mind you, GC don't have the same defensive strategy or personnel as Hawthorn, so the slow and steady approach might be better anyway.

I'm a hard taskmaster when it comes to H, but that was up there with his best games. Still the poor decision to fling himself back in the hope of a free rather than attacking the ball at a crucial stage, but twice attacked the ball and took great marks with the vigour expected of a man his size, not to mention the chase. More than bags of goals, I want to see those efforts as his base line. He may be coming of age this season - still only 70 odd games.

LOB isn't an AFL player. We're playing him in the desperate hope that he turns into something. Admittedly, I only skim these days, but the vibe on here towards LOB seems very different to the vibe at the ground and among all the Carlton supporters I know. Opponent must lick his lips lining up on him. Offers very little of value, imo.

Owies isn't an AFL player, but tries hard. Can't believe people are talking about Durdin and Owies as comparable - one has clear AFL traits, the other, unfortunately for him, doesn't. Got nothing against the guy, but it's bewildering to have a player of Martin's quality on the sidelines, by choice, while playing someone on Owies' level.

Hewett was great, as were JSOS, Doc and Weiters. Liked Setters' game. Charlie and H very exciting. Having watched the replay, Cripps looked genuinely ill pre-game - like he was trying not to vomit almost?? I wonder if there was anything in that bc didn't seem quite his 2022 self, but was still very very good. Happy with Lewis Young - kept it simple but still took a nice mark at one stage, when needed. If he can get his fist on the ball, he has a spot. Will be good to have Saad back - missed his run big time. The momentum swung back our way when Doc took the run down the middle - that was us playing our way. From qtr time until that point, game had been on Hawks' terms and they just stopped our style. With Saad, I doubt they'd have had as much success shutting us down.

Thought Williams and Cerra were a little disappointing - especially Williams. Said it last week as well - love the guy, but he's not the player he was at GWS for us, yet. Does some very good stuff, but the fumbles, not going when it's his turn etc .. didn't used to see that at GWS.

We're very lucky to be 3-0 but we deserve a bit of luck... With wins comes confidence and greater momentum.. I hope. Snag the next couple and we basically can't miss finals.....

The great thing is, we've got a little lucky, but we're only at the absolute beginning of a new game with a new coach. We will get better at that side of things, like changing things up to counter opponents' tactics etc, with time. With more experience together, our approach would have changed when we saw their defence getting on top with the long kicks and we'd have lowered the eyes to find unexpected targets. Stuff to look forward to, not to mention quite a bit of quality on the sidelines atm.

To all the people who bag out LOB...

Why is it LOB isn't an AFL standard player, yet you consider Setterfield a good player?
They both average the same stats, yet LOB kicks more goals :think:

Owies spent half that game lost. Fish had a much bigger impact in a bad game.

Durdin had 6 touches last week and virtually no defensive pressure either

'please'

Owies and Durdin put their bodies on the line every time it is their turn to go. Durdin is far more impactful as an attacking small and Owies is better at executing in general play. I'm totally relaxed about my POV regarding Fisher's current level of performance or lack thereof- he has a few weeks to get his act together - plenty of competition coming through for all the small spots in the forward line.

All the smalls will come under pressure as competition for spots heats up - all of them, but at this stage I have Fisher as the weakest link in the forward line-up by a fair margin. Why? because he can't mark and cant win the ground ball and cant run with rebounding opposition...we need more from him much more.

Unless your talking about the vfl dont think you'll need to worry about sexton. Pretty confident he'll come out of the side for rankine this week

LOB isn't an AFL player. We're playing him in the desperate hope that he turns into something. Admittedly, I only skim these days, but the vibe on here towards LOB seems very different to the vibe at the ground and among all the Carlton supporters I know. Opponent must lick his lips lining up on him. Offers very little of value, imo.

Maybe because the people here are paying closer attention than the randoms at the ground and your mates?

Yes, he's still a work in progress, but if you can't see value in his ability to cover the ground at speed and his ability to hit flat passes up to 50m, then I'm not sure what it is you expect? Even the criticisms of his attack on the ball/man have dried up this season, because all it took was a bit of confidence for him to improve that as well. Have even seen him starting to welcome contact in order to give off to a loose teammate in the last couple of weeks. Literally the only flaw at the moment is consistency - not really a surprise given he was playing Mickey Mouse Covid-reserves football most of the last two seasons.

I don't really see any changes tbh. Maybe Martin in and Fisher as medi-sub.

Saad for Boyd.

Other than these two, happy to let TDK have another run.

Maintaining our structure helps build familiarity and balance. We need to maintain this as much as we can. It also helps build competition for spots as you directly know who you're up against and this is why Williams needs to pull his finger out.

Maybe because the people here are paying closer attention than the randoms at the ground and your mates?

Yes, he's still a work in progress, but if you can't see value in his ability to cover the ground at speed and his ability to hit flat passes up to 50m, then I'm not sure what it is you expect? Even the criticisms of his attack on the ball/man have dried up this season, because all it took was a bit of confidence for him to improve that as well. Have even seen him starting to welcome contact in order to give off to a loose teammate in the last couple of weeks. Literally the only flaw at the moment is consistency - not really a surprise given he was playing Mickey Mouse Covid-reserves football most of the last two seasons.
He is still a little timid out there - but that will go with experience and game time. Worth persisting with IMO.

OK, so after a ripper game first up, Rowell has asked Dew for defensive jobs in the last couple of games.
Wondering Walsh, Cripps, Kennedy, Cerra or Hewett (who likely will have Touk).
Thinking he may be up against it. Might be the opportune time for an early SuperCoach trade…

(Supercoachers for the record, first time in history running just over top thousand, after 40k plus last year, have 350k to upgrade him to a premo I don’t have)

Would have liked to have seen him be a bit more bold with the ball. We really had the chance to ice the game in the last of only he and LOB took shots. I think he stays purely for the ability to rotate as an outside mid.

At some point Motlop will come in - I think Owies is the most vulnerable. I really like Owies - works hard, tough. However, only 2 goals from three games is a slow start. If Motlop comes in and starts bagging two goals a game with the same forward pressure then I think it’s Owies. Durdin shows too much spark around the goals, is a good mark overhead and exerts heaps of pressure - he was unlucky not to have three goals yesterday.

Everyone plays a role, but the role for goals is that. The bloke who’s a forward and puts them regularly through the big sticks is best value to the team.

Then there’s Honey…. Far out!

It’s really tough to see what is going to happen.
While it's a stat to take in context, Owies is equal 3rd for goal assists in AFL, and standalone 3rd if you include AAMI CS.

He is hitting up teammates in good positions, and I don't think this would be overlooked by coaching staff when considering scoring output.

How was Stocker's VFL game? Likelihood of him coming in?

For who?

He ain't getting a spot in our midfield atm.

Doc and Saad are locks. And while they attract some criticism on here, I think Williams and Newman have the other 2 spots currently...I think both have been solid this year.

Stocker will need to put together a block of good form to force his way in.

I'm torn this week. Such an epic effort to hold on. We lose that game 10/10 times in the past.

Boyd def out. If not for Saad then someone else. Let's hope Saad can play. If no Saad, then Stocker straight in after one week in the vfl. He's basically out best underpressure player other than cripps and walsh. I'd back stocker under pressure more than anyone else and that's the complete opposite to Boyd.

If Saad is good to go, then one more week in vfl for Stocker before replacing unlucky Newman.

If Pittonet fine then I'd give TDK ruck duties in VFL. If Pittonet injured then perfect for TDK. I thought he was good in the ruck and this is where he hopefully becomes our fulltime premiership-winning ruckman. Just not good for our pressure or score with him being forward all day.

I'd prob bring martin in for whoever is dropped here

I think for me it's fisher as well. Durdin/owies are doing so well and love that both get back in defence and pop up when we need. I still think owies makes way for motlop at some point, but who knows when. Same pressure but one can kick from outside 50, the other barely 40. It makes a huge difference inside forward 50 when the opposition understand this risk. Motlop and martin can both create pressure and space even as small forwards and it's important. Will motlop get back in defensive 50 like owies has been doing though.

I just don't know who to replace fisher with. I'd hate to go dow and for him to be stuck on HFF not providing any defensive pressure and not using his centre bounce skills. Has anyone seen if he's improved his defensive run in VFL or is he just see ball get ball still?

So its a tough one, but I think I give Fish one more week. But if Dow dominates again next week and fisher doesn't impact then we swap them in round 5 and see what Dow provides on the HFF and swapping in the middle.

So really, im as confused as ever! Love watching us at the moment though. Great work Vossy!

For who?

He ain't getting a spot in our midfield atm.

Doc and Saad are locks. And while they attract some criticism on here, I think Williams and Newman have the other 2 spots currently...I think both have been solid this year.

Stocker will need to put together a block of good form to force his way in.
Newman.