List Mgmt. 2022 Trade & List Management Thread III

Key Dates:

Friday 07 October at 5.00pm

Close of AFL Restricted Free Agency Offer and Unrestricted Free Agency Period.

Monday 10 October
NAB AFL Draft Nominations open (9am)
AFL Restricted Free Agency Matching Offer 3 Day Period Ends (5pm)

Wednesday 12 October at 7.30pm
AFL Trade Period closes – players and selections

Thursday 03 November at 9.00am
AFL Delisted Player Free Agency Period (1) commences

Wednesday 09 November at 5.00pm

AFL Delisted Player Free Agency Period (1) closes

Friday 11 November at 9.00am

AFL Delisted Player Free Agency Period (2) commences

Tuesday 15 November by 5.00pm

AFL Delisted Player Free Agency Period (2) closes
AFL Trade Period closes – selections only

Monday 21 November by 3.00pm

NAB AFL Draft Nominations close

Monday 28 November at 7.10pm

2022 NAB AFL Draft Round One (Venue TBC)

Father/Son, Academy & NGA and Players Bidding opens.

Tuesday 29 November

AFL Trade Period – selections only (5.45pm to 6.30pm)

2022 NAB AFL National Draft Round two until completion (7pm)

Rookie Upgrade Period opens (10pm)

AFL Delisted Player Free Agency Period (3) commences (10pm)

Rookie Upgrade Period closes (11pm)

AFL Delisted Player Free Agency Period (3) closes (11pm)

Wednesday 30 November

NAB AFL Pre-Season Draft (3pm, online)
NAB AFL Rookie Draft (3.20pm, online)

Thursday 01 December by 4.00pm

Final AFL Club List Lodgement

We need to draft someone ready to go. Mid, late 20s, doesn't need to be a star. Just big and strong who can take a hit and a mark and threaten in the forward line

CCJ could be that guy, but wants to ruck.

CCJ's ruckwork isn't that great, if he just wants to be a ruckman he is going to get a lot of VFL game time.

Goldy's hitout win % (46%), Xerri is (43.4%) and CCJ is (33.8)
CCJ's hitout to advantage % (31.7%), Goldy is (31.1%) and Xerri is (28.2%)

Goldy was 15th for hitout win rate, Xerri is 8 places further back, CCJ is a long way off. The better ruckmen, who are main ruckmen, have about 35-36% hitout to advantage rate. I think he still has a fair bit to go in relation to development, Xerri is most likely going to be our main ruckman going forward so CCJ will need to be useful at more than just rucking.

If anyone has had any doubts the club is putting them in huge red blinking lights everywhere you look. Rawlings in the club video, Rawlings in the club statement, Rawlings on SEN. Painting a picture of a kid who checked out, didn't fit in, hated being here and didn't want to commit. Zurhaar, Comben, Curtis etc on social media - when was the last time a player left a club and his ex team mates obviously potted him? FFS Zurhaar made the discount code for his side hustle "Hornetgone". How much more of a sign do you want?

Posters with long track records of being ITK have said he wasn't well liked. He was unprofessional. He was thicker than a bowl of oatmeal. Dumber than two planks. If he had an original intelligent thought it would die of loneliness. He couldn't get along with CCJ, he couldn't get along with anyone. The closest thing he had to a mate was Curtis who hasnt been able to get in contact with him after he left to go back to SA. He didn't go overseas with the team. He never looked engaged. As much as Port posters have ridiculed it, he's probably just a simple boy who wants to kick footy good and is being taken for a ride by Williams and Francis, who want the golden goose in SA. Whether they instructed him to act like a petulant gronk or whether that's just who he is, I think JHF violates the No Dickhead Policy either way.

He is going to be a gun. Nothing surer, never in question, hyper talented. But we got as much as we could in order to cut our time on the carousel short, and it means we can get Two Good Victorian Boys into the club and start building around people with the right type of character and desire to be here and represent the jumper. We get a notoriously flaky club's 2023 1st to death ride, and Port get the problem of a good player with helicopter parents and a biiiig contract for an 18yo. It will hurt not seeing him bursting out the middle in #6 hitting Chom lace out, but what will look even better is seeing WiPhi do it in #29. Or Tsatas screaming down a wing and putting it down Larkeys throat. Or Sheezel turning on a dime in a forward pocket and slotting a goal and grabbing the jumper.

He never wanted to be here. So let's erase him from our memories and move on, embracing what is to come with whoever we take. Our best draft hand maybe ever unless you count 6/8/14. Let's turn it into something positive

Even King and McKernan hyperventilating into the media ether over us not taking Cadman. I know they're club legends and they've stuck up for us through this all. But all it does it create a negative environment and media landscape where actual garbage men like Ralph (who's beginning to look very ****ing old) can write articles like the one overnight dithering and expressing concern over the club's direction. We are shit and we know it but at the very least we don't have a white anting little SA boy sooking his way past ice baths anymore. Rally behind us. Get on LDU, WiPhi, Larkey, Zurhaar's backs and see how 2023 goes

Wow what a big day. I must admit the old days of just swapping a player or two for another player were much easier to understand.
I look at this trade in the way that JHF left us and we got back in return a top three pick and another player in the range of probably 8-14.
There was no point in keeping a player who didn't want to be with us. At least we found this out early. He will probably see his potential but at the moment that is all it is.
We are in a great position to get two out of our three preferred picks. At the moment we have no idea who that might be. The media is assuming that GWS will pick Cadman but until trade night we have no idea.
I really believe the club has had the best result from a difficult situation. The final result won't be known for a few years yet.

If anyone has had any doubts the club is putting them in huge red blinking lights everywhere you look. Rawlings in the club video, Rawlings in the club statement, Rawlings on SEN. Painting a picture of a kid who checked out, didn't fit in, hated being here and didn't want to commit. Zurhaar, Comben, Curtis etc on social media - when was the last time a player left a club and his ex team mates obviously potted him? FFS Zurhaar made the discount code for his side hustle "Hornetgone". How much more of a sign do you want?

Posters with long track records of being ITK have said he wasn't well liked. He was unprofessional. He was thicker than a bowl of oatmeal. Dumber than two planks. If he had an original intelligent thought it would die of loneliness. He couldn't get along with CCJ, he couldn't get along with anyone. The closest thing he had to a mate was Curtis who hasnt been able to get in contact with him after he left to go back to SA. He didn't go overseas with the team. He never looked engaged. As much as Port posters have ridiculed it, he's probably just a simple boy who wants to kick footy good and is being taken for a ride by Williams and Francis, who want the golden goose in SA. Whether they instructed him to act like a petulant gronk or whether that's just who he is, I think JHF violates the No Dickhead Policy either way.

He is going to be a gun. Nothing surer, never in question, hyper talented. But we got as much as we could in order to cut our time on the carousel short, and it means we can get Two Good Victorian Boys into the club and start building around people with the right type of character and desire to be here and represent the jumper. We get a notoriously flaky club's 2023 1st to death ride, and Port get the problem of a good player with helicopter parents and a biiiig contract for an 18yo. It will hurt not seeing him bursting out the middle in #6 hitting Chom lace out, but what will look even better is seeing WiPhi do it in #29. Or Tsatas screaming down a wing and putting it down Larkeys throat. Or Sheezel turning on a dime in a forward pocket and slotting a goal and grabbing the jumper.

He never wanted to be here. So let's erase him from our memories and move on, embracing what is to come with whoever we take. Our best draft hand maybe ever unless you count 6/8/14. Let's turn it into something positive

Even King and McKernan hyperventilating into the media ether over us not taking Cadman. I know they're club legends and they've stuck up for us through this all. But all it does it create a negative environment and media landscape where actual garbage men like Ralph (who's beginning to look very ******* old) can write articles like the one overnight dithering and expressing concern over the club's direction. We are s**t and we know it but at the very least we don't have a white anting little SA boy sooking his way past ice baths anymore. Rally behind us. Get on LDU, WiPhi, Larkey, Zurhaar's backs and see how 2023 goes

Great post 👍

Even King and McKernan hyperventilating into the media ether over us not taking Cadman. I know they're club legends and they've stuck up for us through this all. But all it does it create a negative environment and media landscape where actual garbage men like Ralph (who's beginning to look very ******* old) can write articles like the one overnight dithering and expressing concern over the club's direction. We are s**t and we know it but at the very least we don't have a white anting little SA boy sooking his way past ice baths anymore. Rally behind us. Get on LDU, WiPhi, Larkey, Zurhaar's backs and see how 2023 goes
Can add:
713C22E8-38DE-44F8-99E4-08E59A6DE088.png

so I haven’t listened to Brady’s interviews but did he say we’re open to trading pick 3 again?

After a good nights sleep I’m all good with yesterdays happenings, but if pick 3 is up for grabs I’ll spew!

The day after I'm ready to move on and I'm looking at things with a level head.

The no.1 pick IS overrated. You are just as likely to get the best player in the draft with pick 2 or 3 or even in the top 10. He is even a good chance to be selected in the top 20. Besides its not about recruiting 1 great player to lift this club. Its about recruiting many great players.

So I am happy to get rid of the cancer and significantly improve our draft hand this year and next. Remember we only had 1 pick in the top 50. That was a recipe for disaster. Now we have 4 picks inside the top 50 and a good chance of bringing in 2 or 3 quality players as well as cooper.

Plus trading in Log and Tuck under the circumstances has been a massive get. Log in particular fills our biggest need and has a high ceiling.

At the end of the day its all about how well you recruit. Something we haven't done well enough since the 90's. Hopefully our last 2-4 drafts and our next 2 drafts turn things around. And then we can start hitting the FA market.

P.S. If there are any footy gods, hopefully we snag something significant in the PSD too.

I am glad we ended up with 2 + FF instead of 8 + FF and other flotsam. I think having 2 of Sheezel/Wardlaw/Tsatas and an extra first round next year gives us two really strong talented kids going into next year.

I like Cadman as well but for whatever reason our club doesn't rate him as highly.

I will lose my s**t if we trade 3 down.

We prob do rate him but maybe closer to 5-7 like tuomey not as a pick 1

6728A9DF-E639-4915-98A3-E2263C2B2CB8.gif

List Mgmt. 2022 Trade & List Management Thread III