List Mgmt. 2022 Trade & List Management Thread III

Key Dates:

Friday 07 October at 5.00pm

Close of AFL Restricted Free Agency Offer and Unrestricted Free Agency Period.

Monday 10 October
NAB AFL Draft Nominations open (9am)
AFL Restricted Free Agency Matching Offer 3 Day Period Ends (5pm)

Wednesday 12 October at 7.30pm
AFL Trade Period closes – players and selections

Thursday 03 November at 9.00am
AFL Delisted Player Free Agency Period (1) commences

Wednesday 09 November at 5.00pm

AFL Delisted Player Free Agency Period (1) closes

Friday 11 November at 9.00am

AFL Delisted Player Free Agency Period (2) commences

Tuesday 15 November by 5.00pm

AFL Delisted Player Free Agency Period (2) closes
AFL Trade Period closes – selections only

Monday 21 November by 3.00pm

NAB AFL Draft Nominations close

Monday 28 November at 7.10pm

2022 NAB AFL Draft Round One (Venue TBC)

Father/Son, Academy & NGA and Players Bidding opens.

Tuesday 29 November

AFL Trade Period – selections only (5.45pm to 6.30pm)

2022 NAB AFL National Draft Round two until completion (7pm)

Rookie Upgrade Period opens (10pm)

AFL Delisted Player Free Agency Period (3) commences (10pm)

Rookie Upgrade Period closes (11pm)

AFL Delisted Player Free Agency Period (3) closes (11pm)

Wednesday 30 November

NAB AFL Pre-Season Draft (3pm, online)
NAB AFL Rookie Draft (3.20pm, online)

Thursday 01 December by 4.00pm

Final AFL Club List Lodgement

so I haven’t listened to Brady’s interviews but did he say we’re open to trading pick 3 again?

After a good nights sleep I’m all good with yesterdays happenings, but if pick 3 is up for grabs I’ll spew!
I got the impression for a really good offer. He also mentioned getting future picks. Everyone is rating next years draft a lot higher.

Someone please sell me on Tsatas.
Same. I personally don't rate him. Think he is so hyped due to his stats. He is quick and therefore first to the ball. But from what I've seen he backs out of contests, isn't that strong overhead and isn't the best ball user under pressure. I think we would be making a mistake taking him. Would love to be proven wrong

For all we know GWS may be after Wardlaw to replenish a midfield that’s lost Taranto and Hopper.
We may end up with Cadman and Sheezel.

Exactly that might be the info north know but we don't according to SEN

Knows how to rub it in.
little bit of truth but fair bit of mayo,

Simplisticly stating the grub wanted to crawl back to SA simply on coaching appointments, a whole bigger pic of the scenario has emerged and its a blessing that this rubbish doesn't have to play out for another year. however would have been bold to delve into such issues in his article.

Agree we still need a quality KPF as i reckon there is still heaps of doubt depending on Souva, Chom and CCJ as the backup. Cadman would have mitigated this risk somewhat.

Sheezer reads like he has the foundations to be Robbie Grey or even Brett Alison like if he plays a little bit taller and more of a full time fwd rather than serving midfield minutes. but most importantly he has demonstrated he knows where the goals are.

Wardlaw will be a gun and bolsters an emerging Mid talent pool. but just need to right this pic,

18EsNM17RC-0005.JPG

Same. I personally don't rate him. Think he is so hyped due to his stats. He is quick and therefore first to the ball. But from what I've seen he backs out of contests, isn't that strong overhead and isn't the best ball user under pressure. I think we would be making a mistake taking him. Would love to be proven wrong
He's 4th on my list but the benefits are that he is 6'2 and he accumulates possession. We could use somebody who gets in the right spors to receive.

I think that he can kick well but just opts to slam it on his boot sometimes to gain territory.

so I haven’t listened to Brady’s interviews but did he say we’re open to trading pick 3 again?

After a good nights sleep I’m all good with yesterdays happenings, but if pick 3 is up for grabs I’ll spew!
The only way I can see is doing that is if we feel that tsatas or sheezel are sliding and we can get them at 4,5,6 and improve our hand somehow

From this...
  • Cadman in our top 3
  • We are confident that we'll draft our top 2
  • Doesn't sound like trading pick 3
  • They'll chase Clark but it's unlikely

Yes Cadman may well be in our top 3 but I am confident we don't want him due to other options.
Yep trading of pick 3 was fishing, if someone approached us with an unbelievable offer we'd look at it.

With Zurhaar, Larkey, TT, Curtis, Comben & CCJ I'm not sure we'll draft Sheezel as I believe he is more of a forward.
Could be wrong though.

Okay, so Cadman is in the big 3.

He said if they pick Cadman then we'll have two left that we like.
Makes sense. That was always my take, I think we need to be prepared to be happy with whichever 2 are left because no matter what we assume there is no guarantee GWS take anyone we want. In theory live trading still available as well.

Draft FOMO: Why next year could be a hell ride for Roos​

Jon Ralph

North Melbourne believes it maximised its return for Jason Horne-Francis, but Jon Ralph has his doubts. Next season will be a roller-coaster ride for Kangaroos fans.

Last year's number one pick Jason Horne-Francis and Junior Rioli are officially Port Adelaide players, while GWS now has the top selection for this year's draft.

Greater Western Sydney moved heaven and earth as part of Monday’s mega trade to secure the No.1 pick that will allow them to draft the brilliant left-footed Darley key position star.

North Melbourne believed the decision to cut their losses, in effect turning two high picks (Horne-Francis and this year’s No.1) into picks two, three and a Port Adelaide future first-rounder, was a no-brainer.

With a list that probably needs six-eight more players, why not take two brilliant midfielders and then secure the Power 2023 first rounder to ensure they can cash in on an even stronger draft?

The problem for North Melbourne fans — and former players slowly getting used to mediocrity — is that all of a sudden they have a huge case of FOMO.

Their next 12 months could be a hell ride watching the bloke they overlooked dominate, the bloke who left them turn into a star and the extra pick they received from Port Adelaide shrink by the week.

An exercise in turning Horne-Francis’ departure into a vast trade fortune seems to have turned into them getting 75 cents on the dollar.

The Roos said on Monday they had maximised their return by securing the extra first-round selection next year as they turned Horne-Francis and pick No.1 into selections two and three this year.

But they already had pick No.1 this year.

They could have played hardball with Port Adelaide to secure their pick No.8 and another top-12 selection for Horne-Francis.

They could then have traded for the Eagles’ pick No.2, giving them the top two picks in November’s draft without having to hand the first overall selection to the Giants.

If they missed on a Port Adelaide future first-rounder so be it, because they would have dominated this draft without the risk they missed on the best player by handing over the first live pick after the Lions matched a bid for Will Ashcroft.

Roos fans will genuinely fear Cadman turning into the hybrid of Jeremy Cameron and Harry McKay that recruiters believe he could be.

They will wonder why the Roos are so worried about taking key position players like Logan McDonald when blind Freddy can see they need another key position forward.

North Melbourne will point to the hit-or-miss strike rate of key position talls taken in the top 10 in recent years — think Denver Grainger Barrass or Fisher McAsey or Jack Lukosius.

But the problem for Roos fans is two-fold.

In theory the decision could be inspired if Cadman struggles early and the Roos get instant gratification from a pair like the explosive mid George Wardlaw and brilliant mid-forward Harry Sheezel, with two first rounders to come next year.

But a club that used to pull the wool over the eyes of rivals with heists on stars like Wayne Carey and John Longmire doesn’t exactly have the track record to be trusted in recent years.
Roos fans have grown used to watching some of these trades with their hands over their eyes, barely able to peek through their fingers.

Instead of taking the tall-small combination premiership star David King called for as he declared the Roos had been “dudded” on Fox Footy on Monday night, Roos fans will watch in 2023 aware Cadman has the tools to take the competition by storm.

They spend the year having handed Jason Horne-Francis to the Power, aware on his home turf he could emerge as a future champion of the game.

And if Port Adelaide roars up the ladder after this year’s dismal campaign their future first-rounder linked to the Power only diminishes in quality.

So it is up to Clarkson, or whoever runs their program next year, to ensure the development program is absolutely elite and turns their No. 2 and 3 picks into the stars they should be.

That they ensure Nick Larkey and Cam Zurhaar and Callum Coleman-Jones and Charlie Comben and Jacob Edwards turn into the key position force that means the Roos didn’t need Cadman.

And more to the point, that the Roos get their house in order and stop going through coaches as a yearly event so players like Horne-Francis don’t bolt at the first opportunity.

Is this the same Jon Ralph who was pushing us to take 8 + F1 + a 3rd rounder for JHF? Then updated the 3rd rounder to Bonner and said it would clinch the deal?

But somehow 2 + F1 + change is now no good?

This stupid cross-eyed campaigner has always hated us.

To those that know these things how good is next year’s draft in terms of KPF prospects?
Yes.

Nate Caddy, Archer Reid, Logan Morris all look good.

Harley Reid (Mid/Utility), who I believe is 186cm already, also showed in the Metro V Country game that he can be an extremely damaging deep forward. Will be interesting if he keeps growing.

List Mgmt. 2022 Trade & List Management Thread III