List Mgmt. 2022 Trade Thread - Part I

How does one join the inner circle?
Is there some kind of ritual or sacrifice?
It’s just a couple of guys who all get along mate. All with something to add.

StCicatriz is great with WA news.
Mowman and Joffaboy have mates in all the right places.
Moorabbin Ghost is a useless waste of space 😂

I joke.

But to be honest, if we ever added more posters to our little PM.

I’d probably nominate gringo2011

He seemed to lose confidence after the Darcy hit. I'm not sure if he was pulled into line or stopped backing himself but he has been very uneven.

A great line coach could have him playing a great predatory HB role. His kicking is superb when it's on and he's playing with confidence. He seems to have time and space too.
Yeah I think he was over coached to an extent.

But then the same coaching worked for Steele.

Which is why I said development coaching and line coaching will probably be what is flagged in our review.

I was a huge wrap on Sonsie. HUGE.

Plenty of posts on here begging for him 12 months ago.

But we didn’t have a pick to land him without compromising Owens and Windhager.

He clearly fell for a reason aswell. Which is why he wasn’t a first rounder.

Also you said Dragons players. He was from Eastern Rangers.

I would have been happy to use the Nas pick. He was talked about as a top 10 pick. Richmond just arsed it when he slid. Yeah, I didn't really think that through, fair call. There were heaps of good local talent though in Victoria. I said it at the time, I thought Nas was flight risk and it's come to fruition.

It’s just a couple of guys who all get along mate. All with something to add.

StCicatriz is great with WA news.
Mowman and Joffaboy have mates in all the right places.
Moorabbin Ghost is a useless waste of space 😂

I joke.

But to be honest, if we ever added more posters to our little PM.

I’d probably nominate gringo2011

You wouldn't know what you'd got yourself into.

You are like Ben Long.

Find the happy spot and you’ll probably get your golden invite.

Keep being wreckless and you will forever be wasted potential floating through the St Kilda board unfulfilled and curtailed by others.

I’m not sure.
Think Wilkie could play smaller, pushing out a Webster/Paton instead.
Battle will be free to play more as an interceptor on a smaller man as well.

Neither are true key defenders, both are undersized.
Howard is our only true key sized back and played his best footy alongside Carlisle.
Carlisle or Brown. Both played the right role to help Howard

You are like Ben Long.

Find the happy spot and you’ll probably get your golden invite.

Keep being wreckless and you will forever be wasted potential floating through the St Kilda board unfulfilled and curtailed by others.

Playing on the edge is my POD. Take away the elbows and mongrel and I'm premo.

Carlisle or Brown. Both played the right role to help Howard

Brown is more the type we need. Shame McKay wasn't up for trade in a north fire sale. Bloody Clarko. Howard is an inbetweener, not quite a one on one gorilla and not quite an intercepting marking tall. One of those big pure stopper types would be the only thing you'd really upgrade but then the three talls we do have are solid and you probably do have to lose one. Battle and Wilkie are almost locks but then you lose height without Dougal.

To me I'd try Phillips from the VFL and see if we can convert Howard into the Lobb type forward ruck. He's the weakest link at the moment but you probably want to hold on to him in case it doesn't work out.

I don’t want you to take them away.

I want you to avoid using them as the first instance.

You are better than that.

Better than nothing. I am what I am.

Brown is more the type we need. Shame McKay wasn't up for trade in a north fire sale. Bloody Clarko. Howard is an inbetweener, not quite a one on one gorilla and not quite an intercepting marking tall. One of those big pure stopper types would be the only thing you'd really upgrade but then the three talls we do have are solid and you probably do have to lose one. Battle and Wilkie are almost locks but then you lose height without Dougal.

To me I'd try Phillips from the VFL and see if we can convert Howard into the Lobb type forward ruck. He's the weakest link at the moment but you probably want to hold on to him in case it doesn't work out.
Rumours are that McKay is gettable.

McKay would be a dream come true for our defence. Taller than king and plays the exact brick wall stopper role we need to complement our wealth of mid sized interceptors.

Dougal forward means he’d request another trade

Rankine wants to be a crow, he’s silky but I must be missing something. $800,000 x 5 and it will cost them plenty at the trade table.

You take a lot of your older players out and you do lose some depth. Guys like Ryder might have player 10 games in an emergency but now if rucks go down we are playing Heath. Losing guys like Bytle mean that we are a depth mid down and if one of our main mids go down you are chucking a kid in his spot. It does weaken the overall list depth but that's probably better in a few years. I have no probable stepping backwards for a refresh but we seem to have a foot in two directions. De Goey says we are challenging, culling depth is suggesting a refresh.
You say older players but then later mention Bytel.
We are losing no depth at at all with Gears and even with Hanners going really. They never played this year. Not even Paddy. If they’re perpetually injured, that’s not depth Kent possibly the only one of the retirees that could have been considered depth.

Rankine wants to be a crow, he’s silky but I must be missing something. $800,000 x 5 and it will cost them plenty at the trade table.
Fulfilling Potential is what they are dreaming of.

Imagine getting full games consistently out of him.

A lot.

Stuff we don’t have to part with.

Yeah, figured as much. He's a gun but you don't give them away cheap. If Clarko was up for letting him walk you imagine that he'd want a lot coming back.

Are we looking at any other tall backs? I actually think our backline is the least of our worries. A bit more quality and depth through the centre and find a way to get the forward line playing to it's strengths. Transition between lines sill looks all over the shop and the game plan sucks to watch and isn't winning us games.

Most of our issues look like coaching ones IMO.