List Mgmt. 2022 Trade Thread - Part I

What?
Premo is like a classy small forward.
You’re more a 2010 Stevie baker in the back pocket.

Steven Baker with out the elbows would have been running the water bottles. My point exactly. Premo is a bit Jack Billings. Has class but he's a bit soft. Get him to take a few campaigners out on the way through and he's a weapon.

Rankine wants to be a crow, he’s silky but I must be missing something. $800,000 x 5 and it will cost them plenty at the trade table.

He was so dominant as a junior that they had to move him to the other side at half time to make it a fair contest. His ceiling is like an upmarket Acker. In a great side where he could use his showmanship and the crowd energy has him humming he really could be anything. He'll put bums on seats.

I'd pay it if I was them. The upside is massive.

Fulfilling Potential is what they are dreaming of.

Imagine getting full games consistently out of him.
Massive gamble on a forward who’s a part time mid. I remember him as just a class above at u/18 level but this is going to cost them an A grade mid price.

He was so dominant as a junior that they had to move him to the other side at half time to make it a fair contest. His ceiling is like an upmarket Acker. In a great side where he could use his showmanship and the crowd energy has him humming he really could be anything. He'll put bums on seats.

I'd pay it if I was them. The upside is massive.
I’m wary gringo he‘s young but lacks desperation imo.

Jesus, I hope we aren't up for another 5 years of bottoming out. I'm tired as it is. I don't know if I can be *ed waiting. I'll be in a nursing home before we play finals again at this rate of momentum.

Still better than just sticking to the no plan plan I guess.
We finished a game of of the finals.
I think even the most optimistic supporter can see there's plenty of list and game day improvements that can be made.
Being debt free is going to enable us to start being in the market for the best football staff we can get to support the coach.
The list has improved every year that Gags has been here in my opinion. I don't see any reason that won't continue.

It’s just a couple of guys who all get along mate. All with something to add.

StCicatriz is great with WA news.
Mowman and Joffaboy have mates in all the right places.
Moorabbin Ghost is a useless waste of space 😂

I joke.

But to be honest, if we ever added more posters to our little PM.

I’d probably nominate gringo2011
You forgot Rors, our NSW rep.

gringo can join but can only be negative in the forum not the PM's :D :D

I reckon his salary off our books is possibly more of a win for what the club may want to do - and whom they want to get in the future - than a pick.
It's all conjecture at the moment at the moment anyway. For now he is still a Saint.
He is contracted. Clarko is openly chasing him.
We don't need his salary off the books.
We have the whip hand here and I hope we use it. Otherwise he stays - which in itself is not terrible.

I would say we'd absolutely want a pick. Something we can use to hopefully trade up to improve our draft hand.

We need to be really clear where we are at now and in a few years before we go all chips in on him or it has the potential to be another * up. At least we don't have to pay up picks this time but we want to get him for the right reasons.
Good thing the review is happening now then, before we commit to anything.

Who’d have the cap space and picks to get that deal done ?.
Us, straight swap with Hill. He would be on 500k maybe, so an extra 400 in the kick to get DeGoey and another FA, a fix to the FB position and still have a full hand of picks

St Kilda List Changes 2023

KNOWN OUTS:

GEARY

RYDER

KENT

HANNEBERY

KYLE*

There’s 4 senior spots and a rookie to fill automatically through the draft. We have 9, 27, 45, 81 plus rookie picks. That’s a starting point I think.

Now we can look at the rest of our list.

• Matthew Allison is inexplicably signed until 2024 (I think) so he stays.
  • Ryan Byrnes can barely kick the ball but is worth nothing and Ratten probably sees a bit of himself in him. Guaranteed another go round.
  • Bytel finishes the year strong again but in the reserves. Again, worth nothing in trade, young enough to hold for another go. I do like his hands in close though.
  • Long? Inspired season. He’s one we should really keep. Which as we all know, he probably makes his way off the list somehow. Would be retaining though.
  • Joyce!? But who else is there!!! Have to retain until someone better usurps.
  • Lienert? He can actually kick the thing!!!! Must keep for another year.
  • Wood? Showed enough and isn’t worth anything to anyone else. Keep for another.
  • Paton? Hmm. Keep but jeez one bloke who should not be passing the ball by foot.
  • Highmore? Seems like he can seriously play football. Keep unless he (likely) wants to move.
  • Connelly? Delist and re rookie. One more go 😜
  • Campbell? Big monster is a good backup, go again.
  • Heath and Peris long term prospects, retain
  • Hayes - signed on
  • Adams? Probably delist but didn’t get any sort of look at it. Retain for one more

Who’s left??

KING - signed

BATTLE - signed

SHARMAN - signed

WILKIE - signed

SINCLAIR - signed

STEELE - signed

HOWARD - signed

MARSHALL - signed

HIGGINS - signed

BUTLER - signed

HILL - signed

NWM - signed

OWENS - signed

WINDHAGER - signed

BILLINGS - signed

ROSS - signed

CLARK - signed

COFFIELD - signed

JONES - signed

MEMBREY - signed

WEBSTER - signed

CROUCH - signed

GRESHAM - signed

MCKENZIE - signed

What do we do with that? No one in the list of signed players apart from the obvious top 4-5 we must retain, is worth anywhere near the amount it took to get them in.

Hill for an early 2nd is a pipe dream and a disaster all at once. We’ll probably blow the pick on a 194cm 74kg kid who’s just started playing footy anyway. May as well keep the bloke.

Is anyone interested in Ross for a 2nd round pick? Had one hell of a season and we’re expecting Owens windhager and Bytel to play more mid time? Who would even consider it? Pretty unlikely. No one wants Billings Jones Webster and no would want to pay anything decent for Clark or Coffield.

Free agents?

Amon - to hawks

JDG - comes to us, he will be a nightmare, goes elsewhere ironically the saint.

We have pretty much no where to move now and are barreling towards more mediocrity. Oh and we’ve signed the coach on! Great.

Round we go again.

Something I've only just thought about is they said improvement this year would be internal growth from the U25s
Games:
21 - King
20 - Batts
18 - Gresh
10 - Coops
----------------
19 - Pato
18 - Long
17 - Snags
11 - Byrnes
3 - Highmore
----------------
7 - Hunter
0 - Coff
0 - Bytel
----------------
17 - Windy
16 - NWM
6 - Owans

Looking at who improved or went backwards and why tells a story.
The first group improved us but Battle in a new position, Gresh back from long term injury, and Coops off SFA games and played forward and back. Credit to them, but I wouldn't have had these 3 at the top of the probables list preseason.

The second group either plateaued or went backwards.
Pato gets a pass for his injury, but Snags seems to have had the spark knocked out of him. Long was good IMHO, but under utilized and no great gains. Byrnes and Highmore failed to progress.

Group 3, Hunts, Coff and Bytel all injured for basically the whole season. I had these 3 as the top improvers this year. This was the bullet to the head.

Group 4 has been fantastic, but can you call it improvement as a whole. 8 out of 12 (excluding the rookies) gave us zero or negative improvement and nothing from Hunts, Coff and Bytel.
Byrnes and Highmore are the only ones with no excuse and likely to be gone.

And so we wait for 2023 and hope injuries don't **** us again.

This, we probably need to accept he is the lockdown guy, his disposal and decision making is also terrifying to think about if we make him an interceptor.

We also all seem to forget that Coff was doing a wonderful job as the intercept/distributor a couple years back and before his knee was looking like he had a breakout pre season.

Howard and Battle as the key posts. Wilkie Third tall and Coff the intercept (with Sincs, Jones, Hill/whoever) rebounding. Last defender spot is up for grabs, hopefully Paton gets back to his best.

Best part, all relatively young.
Unless Battle becomes like a Steven May type, I can't see that backline being a premiership 1

Was just thinking this morning, do we think the Ben King pipe dream will ever come to fruition in the future? Or it’s a definite off the cards these days. Would be pretty crazy if they were both 25y.o leading our FWD line, would be unstoppable.

Sam Edmund said today on SEN that parts of the playing group has lost trust in Hill on field by the end of the season.

Seems like the relationship is over with Hill.

I think he's another casualty of the work rate over everything else mantra at the club. You can't ask 21 players to work their arses off and then have a golden child on the outside who has different rules. Narkle's Helmet has been big on needing a game plan that is about more than hard work. Other sides have moved beyond that and prefer strategy and system over grunt. Even the best sides have had grunt but along side structure. Ross had us playing very systems driven footy with a fundamental work rate behind it as does Sydney. We seem to be all out effort but not much finesse or game plan this year.