List Mgmt. 2022 Trade Thread - Part II

It's not about being fantastic.
* me, some of you campaigners are like pendulums....

We aren't that good at the moment, but it's not all ******* doldrums that's been sprouted...

It's just negativity after ******* negativity....

We have been one win off finals the last 2 years....people hear a rumour then all of a sudden It's ******* gospel....just calm the * down...

On SM-F711B using BigFooty.com mobile app
Mr. Pot, may I introduce you to Mr. Kettle.

What would be hilarious is if we completed our trifecta of Richmond small forwards and got castagna

KdBxzSY.gif

I disagree
Better player than Long with his hands and kicks goals. Also is tough and shows aggression. We lack that aggression all over the field.
He is also much better than Zak Jones
97% of the players in the competition are better than Jones and probably a handful at VFL level. He hurts us.. Doesn't help us.

Sent from my SM-S908E using Tapatalk

What I meant is that we are coming into a new age of player movement where opportunity and cash are really the only things our club can offer.

Taranto and Hopper coming back to Vic would look at the 10 clubs and rank them.

We don't have an intangible that puts us at the top of any serious variables. We are in a group with North & the Dogs where good players will only come to us if we are already good.

Otherwise we are offering opportunity to players looking for game time (Higgins, Steele) their preferred position (Howard, Jones) or money (Hill, Ryder, Butler, Crouch)

We aren't going to be able to convince a Taranto/Hopper type to play for us for 700k a year. We have to overpay and throw up 900k+ just to get in the conversation.

Teams like Carlton, Richmond, Collingwood & Essendon can have you playing in blockbusters with the biggest crowds, regardless of ladder position.

Hawthorn & Melbourne can do the same when they are up and about.

Geelong have the lure of being a Vic club but with a country lifestyle.

That leaves us, North and the Dogs.

The Dogs salary cap is maxed out and they've not finished top 4 under Bevo. They had a miracle run in 2016 (on the back of a kid they had to pay $1million a year to lure in) and found a way to get there last year on the back of a midfield that technically had them over the salary cap.

If the Pies weren't paying for Trealor they'd be in am even worse position!

Then there's North. Not a destination club at all. They aren't getting any guns for fair market value. Maybe in a couple of years' time, if they are pushing up the ladder on the back of their multiple spoons, they might bring people in to "play for Clarko" but that's the lure of arguably the GOAT coach, rather than the club itself.

When it comes to the VIC teams - We are small market. Right now we would be 8th-10th in terms of destination for these gun players.

If Essendon get their s**t sorted off field then it's between us and North and we offer zero point of difference to them, while they have Clarko.

The AFL is always going to prop us up. That's just the reality of getting 4.5 billion for 9 games a week, but we seem destined to always have smaller crowds, smaller contribution and a smaller appeal to out of contract players.

We will never be the Lakers.

We MIGHT get to be the Clippers sometimes.

We could pray for a drafting miracle to turn us into the Warriors.

But the reality is we are the Sacramento Kings.

It's s**t, but it's true.

I always try to articulate this and you've put it perfectly. We're playing a rigged game. Doesn't mean we can't win, but it's not going to be easy unless we are very smart and we get lucky.

ArtisticRewardingFlyingsquirrel-size_restricted.gif

As a Saints supporter we should all be aware it's never a good thing to look back. Coulda shoulda woulda will drive us crazy. Embrace who we have not lament who might of been.

I've always liked players like Mathieson say what you want but he will give his all for his team and his courageously brave/stupid acts can be the act that lifts the side. Long has very similar qualities which is why I want us to keep him.
giphy.gif

Not sure what to make of Clark, was tracking alright the last couple of years but now not sure where his best position is in our side and the consistent injuries are becoming a worry. He is a trooper though which again gives him extra credits in my books.
steve-carell-no-idea.gif

Acres - sold off - delisted by Freo
Bruce - sold off - lucky if not delisted, dropped for the finals
Newness - sold off - delisted
Hind - sold off - lol, spudarama
Stanley - sold off - ok in a good team, Geelong fans aren't keen
Hickey - sold off - would have kept IMO.

Acres has a 2 year contract offer from Freo

So Dusty's staying at the tiges for next year. If he manages to have a full preseason and then you add Hopper and Taranto, geez, all of a sudden they're flag faves.
I dont know about the flag favs, Im sure many will have them there, but Hopper and Taranto are the core of a bottom 5 side. People will think that "Richmond will develop them" but richmond is still build around a very specific form of footy, and it's not Midfield strength. I may be wrong, and I think they will add to richmond extensively. But im not sure they get Richmond that far.

Richmond have some defensive issues but they made it as far as they did with basically one consistent midfielder in Prestia. Now they’re basically getting another two of him. Taranto and Hopper puts them back into the top 4 I have no doubt about that. Frustrating.

Christ, not even second week of finals yet.

This is going to be a long off-season

Texting Waiting GIF by wtFOCK
Finals time, how excited are we?

St Kilda supporter, be like ……

A82627F4-52EB-474E-8BF4-F8D5FB2B8EC3.gif

None of the players we have today are at the level of those before them.

No Harves. No Roo. No Lenny. No Spud. No Nicky.

Maybe they will one day. But right now none deserve the special place in your heart gringo.

I reckon Sinclair isn't far off that star class these days. If they played him on ball he'd be a star. Ratts plays such a boring brand that it takes away the will to live of anyone watching. No player looks good playing back-foot risk free footy.

The players aren't anything special to us because they are mostly ring ins and other club's trash, we have a enough talent to be playing finals but the footy department are frauds. To me the whole club deserves nothing from us. No passion, no direction and no plan. Our best hope is that the wheels fall off quickly and we can sweep them all out.

Bassat is the most disappointing to me, the others don't give a ****, they turn up to draw wage. He's meant to care but does FA but blabbers on.

Best trade we could do is Ratts out Ross Lyon in. Our standards are woeful.

The only reason he's still here is that extension that some morons ticked off early. He took us from top 4 to looking like a bottom four side in half a season. There is nothing about the way we play under Ratts to even enjoy. It's one of the worst brands of footy to have to sit through even. If you were trying to sabotage a club you'd run it like we do.

We traded Stanley for pick 21.

That was a good trade, however Goddard did not become the player we expected that is just s**t luck with footy.

When evaluating trades we all must separate the pick from the player drafted.

Is it though? Trading Max King for a pick 1 so that you might get a player like Max King in the draft is good trading too then. It's hard to find good players as it is for us so we try to be too clever by selling the good players for picks. List management is about stockpiling talent not winning the trade.

If you sell off a young talent for picks you want to make sure that you nail that pick. You are better to sell of guys in their late 20s for picks that won't be around long term. McEvoy and Stanley trades were unjustifiably dumb. Same with Hunter Clark. We just have to keep persisting and hope he comes good. The chances are that a pick isn't going to come on for 5 years. In the meantime we'll be bobbing on the sea of mediocrity.

ArtisticRewardingFlyingsquirrel-size_restricted.gif

As a Saints supporter we should all be aware it's never a good thing to look back. Coulda shoulda woulda will drive us crazy. Embrace who we have not lament who might of been.

I've always liked players like Mathieson say what you want but he will give his all for his team and his courageously brave/stupid acts can be the act that lifts the side. Long has very similar qualities which is why I want us to keep him.
giphy.gif

Not sure what to make of Clark, was tracking alright the last couple of years but now not sure where his best position is in our side and the consistent injuries are becoming a worry. He is a trooper though which again gives him extra credits in my books.
steve-carell-no-idea.gif
Silverstone, Python and Carell in the one post!
You have excelled yourself!

Hi folks,
I have Bytel in a keeper league. Is he likely to get another contract? If so what are his chances of getting games next season?
Cheers.

Did they get 5? Sydney are always kissed on the dick by the AFL.

5 Out of 22. Then with the picks they should have used, the get other players.

Melbourne Storm never get players gifted to them.
But yeah, they are the greatest and we are total s**t.
Another myth busted.

The only absolute top shelf one so far is Mills with Heeney pretty good too. Gulden and Lizzard look set to become something special if they keeps developing but Sydney develop their talent better that anyone. They have a system that they all understand, their old guys move out for youth, they play team footy etc.

Their greatest asset is that they don't really have piles of elite talent but every player is very clear in their role and goes when it's their turn and work for each other. Geelong and Sydney just do most thing well. I don't think St Kilda is in that same league.

Saints supporter as a kid.

End of discussion

To me he's midfield depth, can play as an inside or outside mid, wins contests and plays hard and with energy. He could fight with Jones and Clark for that last midfield role. He's got personality as well, in a sea of beige he's a showman. Worst case is that he's depth at Sandy.

That's true and there's still time for both of them. Discussion re. Clark is obly because somebody said we'd part if we were given overs for him. There's a price for everyone on the list and for me, a 1st round pick is overs for Clark. Many disagree and that's fine. It would help if he found out where the gym is.
The thing is if there’s one thing about Clark that he doesn’t really need us strength per day. Let me explain. Some guys have an innate core strength/hip strength. Which makes them very tough to tackle regardless of how big/small their muscles are.

Ie
Gresh
GAJ
Dane Swan
Judd (although he was bully too)
Mundy
Burgoyne

You get my point.
Clark is one of them imo. I recall the final against the flogs where he had 4 dogs players hanging on him and still managed to get a grabber kick to Coff.

The issue is very simply injuries. By all accounts his running was very improved in the pre season and IIRC his last pre season game as a mid was a strong one.