Dr Spaceman
Premium Gold
Realistically we should be burning the place down
FFS, we’ve just built the joint.
Talk about being financially irresponsible Gringo
Realistically we should be burning the place down
Darcy Gardiner copping too much flack here.
Had a down couple of weeks (injured?), and got some heat from the commentary team, so everyone has jumped on the bandwagon and is off him now.
He's a solid lock down player and would be one of the easiest picks for Bris each week. That's why Bris- a prelim team- is trying to keep him.
26yo 192cm lock down BP with 150 games AND comes without trading a pick, cash only. Take your blinkers off, we need more talent like Dizz Gardiner.
On Pixel 6a using BigFooty.com mobile app
I don't know what you are getting at.
Sure, i was a little clumsy calling it 0.8 winners per pick and not 0.8 chance of a winner per pick.
But my point remains whatever you want to call it- not calling it 'chance' is just semantics- doesn't change anything.
0.8 strikerate for top 10 is way higher (almost triple) than the 0.3 rate for picks 11-58 + zone + fs.
If you want to be pedantic:
Top 10 strikerate:
23 years of drafts = 230 top 10 picks total.
Brownlow medal winners from top 10 in 23 years = 8
8 / 230 = 0.035 winners per pick.
Vs
Picks 11-58 + fs + zoned strikerate
23 years of drafts = at least 1,150 picks total in the range picks 11 to 58 + zoned + fs.
Brownlow medal winners from pick range 11-58 + zone + fs in 23 years = 15
15 / 1150 = 0.013 winners per pick.
No matter which way you express it- the story is the same.
Stats say there is nearly 3 times more chance of drafting a brownlow winner with a top 10 pick than with one in pick range 11-58 + fs + zoned.
Insurance jobFFS, we’ve just built the joint.
Talk about being financially irresponsible Gringo
I would be trading out an ageing Best 20-25 each year to get this done, correct. This year that's Hill (deal permitting), next year TBC.You would be trading out a best 22 each year to do this and at the same time trading for nobody of note to retain your picks
Remind me which contracted player Gags has sold low? Oh that right you can't.
More outright garbage shitposting. You really have an issue with reality.
Oh and Hill definitely wants to leave.So from a very very good source. Hunter was surprised the learn the club are exploring trading him and wasn't happy about it but the club are definitely looking into moving him.
Hate to hear that.
Sent from my SM-S908E using Tapatalk
Well Gardiner is no world-beater but he's proven. 150 games at a Top finalist team, he's got runs on the board.I rate him and want him but our recruiters have to agree he has the nous to play on the taller forwards and have the same impact in the full back position. The position we need filled.
Ethan Phillips and Gardiner are our best options for what we have to pay. Leaning to the former with his height.
GT also had a few generational footballers at his disposal....of and John Beveridge...Is that Premo? He's got some points but eating away depth and players on the cusp of playing good footy is not good management and the side is playing some of the ugliest boring footy in the game. There is heaps wrong and that attitude of just shrugging your shoulders and accepting mediocrity is why we don't really change even when nothing works.
Lethlean has been at the club as long as GT had in charge of the side. GT took us from the bottom of the ladder to the top. Lethlean has kept us in stasis. We are operating in such a slow pace we are almost not moving. Collingwood has rebuilt and played off once since we played them in a GF, rebuilt and are close again. Dogs twice in the same period.
Realistically we should be burning the place down but we've become so conditioned to mediocrity and not performing we excuse everything they do. There is real potential for us to go either way. I hate being told to sit down and shut up as well.
GT also had a few generational footballers at his disposal....of and John Beveridge...
But let's not let the facts get in the way of a good story
On SM-F711B using BigFooty.com mobile app
That makes no sense. He’s obliged to honour it in that he’s obliged to hang around the club and go to training. But what if he phones it in, trains poorly, doesn’t play well, fakes injuries, whatever? Way worse for morale having a guy like that around, let alone earning a motza.
So from a very very good source. Hunter was surprised the learn the club are exploring trading him and wasn't happy about it but the club are definitely looking into moving him.
Hate to hear that.
Sent from my SM-S908E using Tapatalk
I was merely demonstrating the time frames involved using GT as a prop. We are moving slowly. I would like to find our new JBevo..... I want a gun recruiter.
Trading Clark is crazy as is this narrative that he should look like mr universe, is injury prone etc. He was smashed against Adelaide, posters should maybe have a read about the severity and ongoing problems, nerve damage, lack of feeling. Then he did a shoulder in a heavy collision after being picked by his captain etc to break out last year.Selling off Hunter Clark for anything less than pick 7 is moving sideways or backwards unless we absolutely arse a star. The further you move away from pick 1 the less likely the player will be a star. He is at an age where we should see what he's got. He's exactly the type of trade out that can embarrass us later on.
I'm 100% into keeping all our high picks to use at the draft and always have been but if you are not getting overs for what you are losing and pay high for everything you bring in you are where we are now. gags has been a pretty bad at everything apart from keeping the TPP down.
If you turn Ben Long into a second rounder that's good management. He wants out, we aren't playing him in a way that benefits us or him and we are dealing with a side with bulk second rounders and no fans.
Draft hand is one of those things that you want when rebuilding, but the good sides get pieces from all over the place. We don't need to eat five sandwiches because we skipped lunch yesterday. Just get our drafting back on track and stop throwing the ones we do have away.
Heeney.What are some past examples of when this 'very very good source' was right about anything?
They key words you used is “what if”.
He’s a professional footballer and is being handsomely rewarded. None of us really know what is happening within the inner sanctum and the club will make a decision based on facts we do not know.
If the club believes Hill is professional, and has a lot to offer going forward, then we aren’t a distressed seller. Sure, if the deal is right, then we trade.
Otherwise we sit tight and others convince us to trade.
Haven't Collingwood done the same?I reckon just about every player we have moved on in his time has been given away or moved on cheaply. Guys like Bruce, Dunstan, Newnes, Hickey, Acres, Savage, Steven, McCartin etc are either delisted or sold for unders. To have reaped no trade capital for so many players is part of the reason why we have had to buy in so many with the picks that usually get used to draft the next generation.
Some were probably never going to get much but most were just cut free. If they are out of contract when they go it just is part of his job too. Other sides sell their average players for something even if it's a token.
Heeney.
Excellent work, love a bit of data analytics.
Be interested in top 5 too, that's where the real cream is. Once you get past 5 then it's more hit and miss. I thought our 7 and 8 picks in 2018 were on very safe side and are showing as that.
I really don’t think we should be upset that no one wants to come to us. Going after disgruntled players from other teams and offering them overs is what we’ve been doing for years and it’s why Zak Jonesis one of the highest paid on our list.PLAYERCARDSTART3Zak Jones
- Ht
- 182cm
- Wt
- 84kg
- Pos.
- Mid
CareerSeasonLast 5
- D
- 4star
- K
- 4star
- HB
- 5star
- M
- 3star
- T
- 5star
- CL
- 4star
- D
- 4star
- K
- 4star
- HB
- 4star
- M
- 3star
- T
- 4star
- CL
- 5star
- D
- 2star
- K
- 1star
- HB
- 4star
- M
- 1star
- T
- 4star
- CL
- 3star
PLAYERCARDEND
We should be happy if a couple want out and we get picks to go to the draft.
I would argue that he's had two games where he has.He also had 25 and 3 in a 30-point loss against West Coast in his tenth game.
Billings has tragically never been able to recapture just how good he looked in his first 50 games but as I've been saying in this thread, Hunter Clark has never had a game that he tore apart like that in his first 50 games where he was the deciding factor.
It's really disappointing because his hands are unbelievably clean and he's the best ambidextrous kick in the competition. The skills are there for him to be great, but he hasn't captured it.
DMd you. Was told to keep it quiet. But thought you guys should know what I was told.What are some past examples of when this 'very very good source' was right about anything?
I agree with this. I reckon people who watch on TV are the ones who grizzle about game plans but our midfield pick and choose their efforts sometimes. It's obvious at the ground And not even the captain, who I love, is immune from that. They're a massive part of the problem. In fact, they might even just about be our only problem.I don't think our backline is actually that poor, our midfield let the ball just waltz in there. It wasn't the amount of times it was down there that hurt us but how little pressure was on the kicker going inside 50.
Unfortunately 200cm athletic KPDs don't grow on trees though Lewis Hayes could be close potentially to our 2nd in the draft and wouldn't mind trading up for him (provided that we aren't overpaying drastically).