List Mgmt. 2022 Trade Thread - Part II

I hate trade week, we’re the dumb kid who heads off to school with all his rare footy cards that gets scalped trading them for all the other kids doubles. Just watch this all end in tears, then we’ll have to read about all the clever things we tried to do that fell through. It’s going to be great watching Clark become the footballer we wish we had, this club will never learn.

Salary Cap space is worth more to GC than another first round pick. Cal Twomey was pretty clear on SEN they want to bundle pick 7 and Brodie purely to get someone to take on his backended salary for the next 2 years. The AFL paved the way for these trades earlier this week last year the Brodie deal needed to look at least somewhat balanced to be ticked off by the AFL that is no longer the case. Now maybe there is a sweetener required but it would be future seconds or thirds not our pick 9.

You would have to think they backended most of his wage to resign King etc. I think we would be shocked how much he is due if they are willing to give up pick 7. It is probably all of the JDG money.

If Bowes is a best 22 player that is a bonus the carrot is the pick 7 we are effectively selling Salary Cap space.

If we go this path it is at least a mini rebuild it will hamstring us for the next two years when we are unlikely to have much room for trades or free agents

The review seems to have concluded like most of us we are not going to contend with the current list and we need to hit the draft as hard as possible
They need future picks. I reckon this might actually happen. Long and future to gc. Clark to north for those future and we get Bowes and pick 7. Win win win

Look at last year we know they overpay badly. Maybe you might ask why long would go to the gc if it wasn’t 4 years on good money. He was rumoured to have interest from other clubs and I’m not sure but I assume we made some offer to keep him.
I'll believe it when I see it from the media.

600k us ridiculous money for a fringe player, but stranger things have happened I suppose

They need future picks. I reckon this might actually happen. Long and future to gc. Clark to north for those future and we get Bowes and pick 7. Win win win
How is trading clark for unders a win?? We have our own future picks for that deal assuming it’s even a slim chance of happening.

I'd take Clark every day and twice on Sundays

Is that how the saying goes? If not ya get my point
That wasn’t my point.

They are literally providing the same level of output.

I’ve already said Clark has the highest ceiling. But it means nothing if he never gets there.

If Bowes back ended deal us as bad as we're lead to believe, I'd take advantage and trade the following to the suns:
Pick 27, 2023 2nd + Long for Bowes + pick 7

Hit this year's draft with two top ten picks. Get Clark/MacKenzie plus Busslinger.

Would rather trade Hill to North for f2 and their non tied f3. Bundle that with Long for 7 and Bowes and FFS KEEP HUNTER CLARK.

Hill is not taking us anywhere near to being a flag contender in the next two years get rid of him to a club that needs older heads.

On SM-G977B using BigFooty.com mobile app

That wasn’t my point.

They are literally providing the same level of output.

I’ve already said Clark has the highest ceiling. But it means nothing if he never gets there.
And if he goes to another club and does reach that ceiling we look like fools unfortunately

Especially if we end up with a few just ok picks for him

I'm not getting too upset about his output when he's had so many injury issues over the last 18 months

Was more than happy with his output prior to injuries

Would rather trade Hill to North for f2 and their non tied f3. Bundle that with Long for 7 and Bowes and FFS KEEP HUNTER CLARK.

Hill is not taking us anywhere near to being a flag contender in the next two years get rid of him to a club that needs older heads.

On SM-G977B using BigFooty.com mobile app
Yes I would rather that to. But north would just trade straight with Gold Coast with there future for pick 7 then

Because it will net is pick seven. That’s a win
How? We don‘t need to trade Clark we have our own future picks to get that deal done. All we’d be doing is giving Clark away and that isn’t a win. Pick 7 which is what Clark was then goes to the draft to try and draft someone as good, yeah nah I’m fine thanks.

The way I’m reading it is Gold Coast have salary cap pressure and Bowes is about to receive a lot of his contract in the last 2 years . Therefore no one would want him at such a high price. We’re talking maybe 800 a year?
They’re willing to throw in pick 7 as they don’t need any more kids. They need experience and cash , cash , cash. So why throw all these picks back at them .
How about just long and grab Bowes and pick 7 .
Worth it if I’m reading it right .
Tell me if I’m not

How? We don‘t need to trade Clark we have our own future picks to get that deal done. All we’d be doing is giving Clark away and that isn’t a win. Pick 7 which is what Clark was then goes to the draft to try and draft someone as good, yeah nah I’m fine thanks.
You don’t think other clubs will be lining up to do this

Jack bowes can’t cover the ground very well. Still a place for him on the list. If we could spread his money across 3-4 years and grab pick 7 that would be a really good deal.

Long to the Suns...
Suns trying to dump salary...

Does it feel like now or never for a Bing move?
It's pretty strange to see the Suns salary dumping whilst also offering Long a four year deal on what I imagine is very good coin.