VFL 2022 VFL R1 v Box Hill (Sun 27-Mar 12.10pm @ Vic Park) [Channel 7]

Particularly as we were pushing up high and thus leaving ourselves with some nasty balls to defend. I thought he was solid. I missed the start though.
How I see it is we have Moore who is the interceptor. We didn’t get a chance to see what Kelly could do in that regard today as we were so undermanned. But he was good at just getting a fist in and bringing it to ground. It may not be flashy but it doesn’t have to be

I sense a lot of OTT euphoria on the back of a surprise win mingled with what appears to be some absolute tripe being thrown at 19 and 20 yo’s. As an aside no one’s numbers are screaming pick me and it looks like our VFL guys had the biggest contributions (Tardrew, Fowler and Jetta). Stats often lie though so this’ll make for an interesting replay!

Reef was a star. Could have easily kicked four. The two he did kick were special. Begg being asked to ruck in his first senior game did very well, they showed at one point on the TV that he had a team high 6 clearances.

Good standard game Sco with some really good signs………no OOT euphoria on my part.

The boys played well

Good standard game Sco with some really good signs………no OOT euphoria on my part.

The boys played well
Not so much what I’m talking about. Rather OTT euphoria re players. Take Poulter and Begg I’m 3 minutes into the replay and Poulter’s had 4 touches so across the rest of the match he’s only had it 15 times which isn’t good enough unless you’re T Brown (😏). Begg is currently rucking against Callow who is long odds to make it and about none to make it as a ruckman. Right now I’m fully expecting to see Johnson doing most of his best work through the ruck…

It was a really good VFL game. Selection wise - Reef put his hand up for a forward spot when one is available, I don't think he's yet got the tank for mid, Callum put his hand up for his brother's inside mid role. Poulter with his hand up for whenever we need another flanker, although I didn't think he was particularly good, but solid.

Noone banging the door down, but a fair few of them showed good signs.

Right now I’m fully expecting to see Johnson doing most of his best work through the ruck…
And you’d be correct. Johnson took a nice mark, but most of this best work was done up the ground. I reckon most players showed patches or in Poulter’s case a nice half. While promising and at times exciting it isn’t going to see them into the senior 22. Great game nonetheless.

Not so much what I’m talking about. Rather OTT euphoria re players. Take Poulter and Begg I’m 3 minutes into the replay and Poulter’s had 4 touches so across the rest of the match he’s only had it 15 times which isn’t good enough unless you’re T Brown (😏). Begg is currently rucking against Callow who is long odds to make it and about none to make it as a ruckman. Right now I’m fully expecting to see Johnson doing most of his best work through the ruck…
God forbid anyone actually being positive about the future.

Out of the AFL listed players there were no real 4 quarter players. Most had patches for a half or so. Reef and Wilson probably the best overall for the longest, but reef faded a bit. Poulter not really seen after halftime. Johnson showed his wares, and def had some good signs of his ability. I think he could be an excellent replacement for Howe.

Macrae was in a bit, but needs to improve his disposal, gave it up a few times.

They’ve shown the talent, but need 4 quarter efforts to earn a call up.

C brown was decent, as he always is in the VFL. There’s 0 point recalling him to seniors, he’s not up to it.

Kelly for mine was out positioned a lot, pushed under to much, and didn’t kill the ball enough. Needs big improvement to make it IMO.

Out of the AFL listed players there were no real 4 quarter players. Most had patches for a half or so. Reef and Wilson probably the best overall for the longest, but reef faded a bit. Poulter not really seen after halftime.

They’ve shown the talent, but need 4 quarter efforts to earn a call up.

C brown was decent, as he always is in the VFL. There’s 0 point recalling him to seniors, he’s not up to it.
The VFL side is a Young One

Correct mate, which is why seniors is a ways off. They need to build tanks, and consistency. It’s a big step up. But there’s good signs in a couple.

There sure are and at least there is some Depth as well in the VFL

Great last quarter. He's a beautiful kick. But I still wouldn't play him forward, as I don't see how he'd get the footy up forward at AFL.
Wilson lacks the pace to be a defender at AFL level and there’s better options ahead of him on a wing. Not sure if he makes it as a forward, but reckon it’s his best chance.

I only managed to watch the first quarter and a half, got it recorded so will try watch later. But some good signs early on there

Regarding Bianco, did he see much midfield time? Or did he play mostly forward all game? If he's going down to VFL level I'd be hoping he's getting solid mid minutes to help his development, I'm not sure he's a long term type for the forward line

He'll get an opportunity at some stage, maybe this week and I wouldn't count him out. He was the best inside mid on either team today - comfortably.

And watching half our team, we've clearly done a lot of work on tackles and ground balls, which were a couple of his weaknesses. Noble is the most obvious example of improvement in both of these areas, but they all appear to be tackling much better. Plus the simpler game plan which doesn't require as effective disposal and simpler decision making should also suit him. So we've got a bloke under new coaches who has had a preseason in a more suited role in a more suited style and has likely put a heap of work into a couple of areas of weakness. He may surprise.

LOL jmac for some people it's all about being top dog, when they aren't in total charge they get personal too.
I’m just happy seeing Noble playing well…

Wilson lacks the pace to be a defender at AFL level and there’s better options ahead of him on a wing. Not sure if he makes it as a forward, but reckon it’s his best chance.
You're probably right in our team. Overall though, I think his most likely AFL role is the one Pendles is currently playing in the seniors - a behind the ball sweeping mid kind of role. Although he looked better in the air a couple of times today than I'd seen from him previously, so maybe he's more likely than I've thought.

VFL 2022 VFL R1 v Box Hill (Sun 27-Mar 12.10pm @ Vic Park) [Channel 7]