Autopsy 2023 Rd 13 Another loss. Devoid of headline material

I think the first 15 minutes of the third was a new low benchmark. That was horrendous. We were West Coast-like.

All three areas of the ground are in chaos.

The forwards are dysfunctional, with Owies targeted more than Curnow or McKay. Whether that’s because he’s running to the right spots and they aren’t, or he’s getting in the way, I can’t tell. Nobody is providing ground level pressure. I’m not even sure who forwards 5, 6, 7 were, they were that invisible.

The midfield got smashed by a B-grade outfit missing Parish and Shiel. Diabolical. I’m pretty sure Sam Durham running in off the wing had more centre clearances than Cripps. Cerra the one shining light. He stands out like the proverbial at the moment because he wins it in tight, is mobile and occasionally kicks it to a teammate. TDK got his big chance to shine and shone like a turd covered in burnt hair.

The defence is shattered. They get isolated, they get in each others way. Young is not a total writeoff, but may be the weakest 200cm, 100kg man going around. Kemp shows spark, but is making it up as he goes, and Saad does spectacular things usually because he’s wildly out of position and has to.

And even with all that said, the bitter taste in my mouth, the thing I’m more furious about than anything else, is the fact we rushed Jack Martin back into the side. Selection integrity. He looked like he’d just rolled out of bed, then produced a limp, lazy half before being subbed out. Just what the **** did he deliver in the twos that forced the committee to bring him in?

It’s all going wrong right now. I know it won’t always be so. I think we have GC, Bye, Hawks, Freo - the way we going we could go 0-4 in those. I am all for stability, but if Voss can’t conjure a win soon and a semblance of coherent football, we’re all doomed.

You wouldn't sack him mid season, history says we will start winning not make finals and worsen our draft hand.

We might discover some guys on our list who can play though, and get some confidence.

That is worth more than getting pick 4 as opposed to pick 7.

I think we are so far gone anyway we won’t even get a dead cat bounce.

I think the first 15 minutes of the third was a new low benchmark. That was horrendous. We were West Coast-like.

All three areas of the ground are in chaos.

The forwards are dysfunctional, with Owies targeted more than Curnow or McKay. Whether that’s because he’s running to the right spots and they aren’t, or he’s getting in the way, I can’t tell. Nobody is providing ground level pressure. I’m not even sure who forwards 5, 6, 7 were, they were that invisible.

The midfield got smashed by a B-grade outfit missing Parish and Shiel. Diabolical. I’m pretty sure Sam Durham running in off the wing had more centre clearances than Cripps. Cerra the one shining light. He stands out like the proverbial at the moment because he wins it in tight, is mobile and occasionally kicks it to a teammate. TDK got his big chance to shine and shone like a turd covered in burnt hair.

The defence is shattered. They get isolated, they get in each others way. Young is not a total writeoff, but may be the weakest 200cm, 100kg man going around. Kemp shows spark, but is making it up as he goes, and Saad does spectacular things usually because he’s wildly out of position and has to.

And even with all that said, the bitter taste in my mouth, the thing I’m more furious about than anything else, is the fact we rushed Jack Martin back into the side. Selection integrity. He looked like he’d just rolled out of bed, then produced a limp, lazy half before being subbed out. Just what the * did he deliver in the twos that forced the committee to bring him in?

It’s all going wrong right now. I know it won’t always be so. I think we have GC, Bye, Hawks, Freo - the way we going we could go 0-4 in those. I am all for stability, but if Voss can’t consume a win soon and a semblance of coherent football, we’re all doomed.

Their run on in the 3rd was iirc going at something ridiculous like 8 disposals per goal. And when the opposition records nearly double the number of tackles in the game, that’s just white flag territory.

We might discover some guys on our list who can play though, and get some confidence.

That is worth more than getting pick 4 as opposed to pick 7.

I think we are so far gone anyway we won’t even get a dead cat bounce.
Maybe two pronged but it's just very Groundhog Day when it seems the problem lies elsewhere rather than sacking another coach.
I'm all for trying new players though.

Was he tagged tonight? He can’t run, either he is inj and being selfish and still playing or we have 5yrs of a really big contract for a bloke who won’t get a game unless we stay bottom 4.
It looks like rib issues to me, after a close up on TV during the game. The guy gets smashed every game. He is the only one that can win a physical contest with our mob.
What I cant understand is our lightweights are slow and unskilled. Very few times is a carlton player first to the ball. And if they are they will often be wrestling with a team mate. Then the timing is off for any disposals. Enter the loopy slow handball, the kicks to a 3 on 1, and the oppo has a quick rebound and the grass statues avoid any manning up unless we are in attack.
Is there any explanation on how we are always outnumbered, never manned up in defence, and never 1 on 1 in the forward line.

7 out of bummers 13 goals resulting from free kicks and 8 good chances with 2 posters out of our 16 points.

We need to tidy up on discipline in defence and execution up forward, and get something going in the midfield, and address selection integrity, and work out what’s going on in player development, and look hard at recruiting and list management, and find and develop some on field leaders, and work on basic skills, especially goal kicking, and build fitness and injury-resilience across the list, plus get a lot fitter and faster, whilst getting better strength in the contest, and just ultimately develop a recognisable game style that players are bought into.

Slight edit.

Legitimate question, does anyone know if this photo from Ikon Park is from this morning or just an old photo? It's doing the rounds on socials.

View attachment 1710836

Must of been Marlion Pickett making an attempt on our premiership cups but they were on display at the g. You can tell from the nicely placed fire hydrant inside the window.

Not only don’t they tackle, we refuse to put body on the opponent. If you can’t get to the guy to stop the run at least put body on them to take them out of the chain, not let them run around like stray dogs.

What body? Jack Martins calves anyone? LOBs haircut?

And yet Voss allowed it to continue. Didnt make a change. Young was 5 metres behind Wright all night. Terrible coaching allowing that to go on all night without trying something different.
It was totally baffling...although one thing we have learned is that Voss is a stubborn individual.

For mine, there was a fairly straightforward rotation when things were going totally pear shaped. Young was stinking it up on Wright, and JSOS was absolutely getting slaughtered as the back up ruck. Weideman was also pretty useless up forward for them.

JSOS goes back to cover Weideman, Weiters to Wright, and Young released to play forward/ruck - ie get him the **** out of defence. It wouldn't have turned the game, but seemed a fairly obvious/simple rotation to plug the holes where we were getting smashed.

Just a side note to all of this - and if someone could help me out.....why would we announce Pitto being out a day or so before match day, giving them time to readjust their game plan and bring Phillips in - knowing we have zero back up ruck options. I thought it would have been wiser to leave it until both sides have to submit their final team sheets.....but maybe I'm missing something here.

Midfield pantsed in the third, inaccurate set shot for goal resulting in no scoreboard pressure early in the game.

We have two and a half forwards including Owies, Motlop virtually unsighted in dangerous positions, Martin sighted for about ten minutes.

Cripps and Walsh with no effective impact on the game (Wouldn’t have a problem flicking these two out of the team at the moment but wont happen obviously).

While the desire to speed up play was obvious execution pretty much destroyed any gains they may have got from it.

Hey Tim Clarke, give Paddy ******* Dow a full game ffs and I would love to hear from anyone who could tell me how playing him would make us worse at this point.
Martin did more in a 15 minute spurt than Mots, Durdin have done in 2 months (yes, i know Durdin is injured now).

Should have kicked three.

Decent return for him after a long absence.

Martin did more in a 15 minute spurt than Mots, Durdin have done in 2 months (yes, i know Durdin is injured now).

Our small forwards are completely and utterly non effective have been saying this since last season this year they’ve gone to new levels of crapola … Martin is pure class if his body can hold up and then throw cunners back in there and we have some skilled classy users but we need about another 6 of these types that are also durable …

Voss has to take a fair share of the blame.

Why was there no one deep?

So many times our players bombed at goal from long range because there was no one there!
When you keep an extra around the ball, the idea is you use the extra to hold someone clear to go over the zone, as opposed to kicking into an outnumbered situation.

I found Voss' reaction to the Cripps not being right during the presser very interesting, I am no body language expert, but seemed to bristle & placed the onus back on Cripps to improve.
But also went to the trouble of making it clear he would back the captain in. He also went to the trouble of stating what this Club means to Crippa.

I found Voss' reaction to the Cripps not being right during the presser very interesting, I am no body language expert, but seemed to bristle & placed the onus back on Cripps to improve.
Cripps had issues 2 years ago, he had a back problem but kept playing. He was a liability a lot of the time. It is doing no one any favours playing injured.

If he is injured, rest him. If he is out of form or not putting in effort, drop him.

Either way - don't play him and let him get his body/mind right for a couple of weeks, and see what others have to offer - e.g. if Dow gets continuity and does okay he may have trade value at end of year or stay at the club. As it stands Dow leaves the club and we get nothing.

and 2 frees (Harry,s run down tackle in the goal square and the throw) well within kicking distance for us.
But clearly H didn't tackle that Essendon flog in the GS, or it must have been a free kick, right? So another one for the 'no-one tackles' count. You can't get a tackle count for a tackle which the umpire declared didn't happen.

Cause umpires are never biased, incompetent or incorrect, are they?

Martin had 3 shots on goal in a half for 1.2. In terms of “output” our 2nd best fwd, Charlie with 2.4 was only one better.

It’s a spud fwd line, hence why after playing bugger all lead up footy and being subbed earlier he was still ok! Where are the “exciting” options to keep him out??

This shocking fwd line has us now in reach of bottom 2 territory, a compromised Jack Martin waltzes into that fwd line and if he holds together, will only improve from here on

How many of the little things do we get wrong?

E Curnow picked purely as a tagger. None of the better teams pick a pure tagger anymore. Worst still Merrett moves forward in the second half and Curnow doesn’t go with him - or take an alternative role. Do we not put anytime into scenario planning during the week?

For the second time in four weeks, we’ve been gamed by late changes to opposition teams ruck set ups - leaving Silvagni to compete against real ruckmen. Opposition teams know they can move the ball against our midfield even with an additional tall. Why do we telegraph to the opposition our plans through selection?

MCripps/Walsh/Kennedy/Docherty midfield mix. Hasn’t worked for weeks. Where’s the x-factor option to change the mix? C Curnow, Kemp, Saad for a 10 minute burst?

Silvagni is too small to play KPP/Ruck and too slow to play third tall. Skills are ordinary.

Motlop no scoreboard impact and no tackles. Cottrell is terrible. Acres’ kicking and decision-making is below standard.

These are not new issues but are not being resolved. We seem incredibly stubborn with selection and positioning.

Yes we have a game plan but it’s blatantly obvious there’s only one plan. Condense the play, create contests and improve field position.
It’s not working because the opponents let us win possession but ensure pressure is sufficient to create turnovers. In the unusual circumstance that we break from stoppage, we are faced with one clear play: McKay or Curnow are on the wing/half forward and are the hit up options, leaving no forwards in the F50 or taking low percentage shots from 40m plus. There’s no other forward system. None.

How many times do we hit up a player 10-30m out from goal? The game plan simply doesn’t support this on a regular basis.

Our defensive systems are unpicked by a lack of intent and know how. Young is incredible feeble and has no confidence in himself.

Kemp us some talent but is still learning down back - gets exposed too often and is better suited elsewhere.

Our pressure and tackling in the first quarter last night was high level. We owned the ball for the first 20 minutes of the second quarter.

We tapped out after that.

There’s a difference between individuals ‘trying’ and a team committed to grinding the opposition into submission. This is the biggest concern in my opinion.

Lowest tackle count in eight years tells me players are not keeping each other accountable to standards.

That’s why I have him in the team for the next game. At least he knows where to be in our f50.

Autopsy 2023 Rd 13 Another loss. Devoid of headline material