Autopsy 2023 Rd 13 Another loss. Devoid of headline material

It's worth mentioning he was wearing an ankle brace. He badly rolled it/got stepped on a couple weeks ago and was in fair doubt to play the next week but got up, but has since been in a brace. He's obviously not fit and it's not even hidden. He's probably not helping us right now with this injury, perhaps they were thinking with a bye coming up just play through it for a few weeks then rest at the bye.

He was playing like ass before Parkers dog act. Handing out bog's to his direct opponents like candy.

If Cripps is injured then we need to give him a long rest. Honestly give him a few months to recover mentally more than anything.

If he isn't injured than I hope we drop him for forms sake alone. We are trying to play around Cripps like he is still in brownlow form and it's killed us all season. Personally I think we've looked complete shit house since we brought Walsh in too. Lack of preseason and back issues but we brought him straight back in. Carrying Cripps and Walsh instead of giving others a chance has been a complete disaster.

Rather have had Kennedy as our prime receiver than wasting him at HB because we were trying to accommodate Cripps and Walsh for this long.

At one point yesterday we had both McKay and Curnow on the same wing

McKay marked it and then handballed sideways to Charlie.. they had no one to kick to. This is coaching and poor structure

I find it infuriating how at one point Curnow was leading but Owies stops in front of him which blocked Curnow but neither of them go for the mark. Our smalls seem to be blocking our forward leads better than any defender and somehow they always lead into each others space.

Never seen a team contest each others marks as much as us. We got so many players who won't fill the hole when defending but they'll plug any gaps for the opposition in their d50 no problem.

TDK biggest example of someone who'll squib in d50 to the point Jsos calls him out but he'll gladly cut across Curnow and Mckay no problem.

The only saving grace for me about the Blues lamentable performance is working with a bunch of well and truly disgruntled Eagles fans, so I can give them a mouthful of lip without too many comebacks, their reserves side got hammered by even more which is even nicer for me since I hate them, truth is though we're not much better than the Eagles, most of whom couldn't get a kick in a stampede, maybe we'll make the finals next year.
Right now we are the East Coast Eagles.

Strongly agree. Solid return with minimal prep. People love to pot Jack Martin for the sake of it, its embarrassing to see from our supporters. Nearly all of his issues are with his body and that's really unfortunate for him and us. He was arguably our most important player in the first half and provided something different up forward that we haven't had all year.

Why doesn't Marchbank or Cunningham get slagged off in the same vein as Jack Martin does? They provide even less to our club due to their bodies failing them, which is a shame as well.

I don't get the hate.
It’s because he probably has the most talent out of all of them and it’s just getting wasted on the sidelines.

It
Strongly agree. Solid return with minimal prep. People love to pot Jack Martin for the sake of it, its embarrassing to see from our supporters. Nearly all of his issues are with his body and that's really unfortunate for him and us. He was arguably our most important player in the first half and provided something different up forward that we haven't had all year.

Why doesn't Marchbank or Cunningham get slagged off in the same vein as Jack Martin does? They provide even less to our club due to their bodies failing them, which is a shame as well.

I don't get the hate.
His contract length and renumeration is the basis for the increased scrutiny, particularly compared to the others you have mentioned.
All of them equally frustrating and tantalising at the same time.
Id be trading 2 out of the three, probably worthless in reality. Cunners I would keep.

It’s because he probably has the most talent out of all of them and it’s just getting wasted on the sidelines.

Unfair. Pretty common theme for a lot of players at the club over the last few years not just Jack.

It
His contract length and renumeration is the basis for the increased scrutiny, particularly compared to the others you have mentioned.
All of them equally frustrating and tantalising at the same time.
Id be trading 2 out of the three, probably worthless in reality. Cunners I would keep.
Also not his fault, the club gave him the contract. I don't believe he is even on much per year now? From memory his contract was heavily front loaded because we could afford to do so at the time. Also all 3 are highly talented, probably why the club has persisted with them on the list.

As much as it pains me to say it, we need a rebuild. Not the list. The whole club. Something is wrong when you have such a talented list and they achieve the results they have been getting. Not even the worst teams of all time have scored and kicked such poor scores as we have. There is something fundamentally wrong with Carlton. Cerra is the only player that has improved this year. Think about that. Out of 40 players.

One thing I noticed in the last qtr, Acres got crunched going back with the flight and was hunched over on the ground obviously in some pain. Cripps was right there and didn't help him up or anything, just jogged off like nothing happened.

That stood out to me, would expect a bit more from the captain.
I'm watching the filth now, Hoskin Elliot gets smashed and the whole bloody team runs over to get around him.
Don't know if I'm looking too much I to it but didn't look like great leadership to me.

One thing I noticed in the last qtr, Acres got crunched going back with the flight and was hunched over on the ground obviously in some pain. Cripps was right there and didn't help him up or anything, just jogged off like nothing happened.

That stood out to me, would expect a bit more from the captain.
I'm watching the filth now, Hoskin Elliot gets smashed and the whole bloody team runs over to get around him.
Don't know if I'm looking too much I to it but didn't look like great leadership to me.
We’re a very soft team

As much as it pains me to say it, we need a rebuild. Not the list. The whole club. Something is wrong when you have such a talented list and they achieve the results they have been getting. Not even the worst teams of all time have scored and kicked such poor scores as we have. There is something fundamentally wrong with Carlton. Cerra is the only player that has improved this year. Think about that. Out of 40 players.

Cerra the only one playing consistently high AFL level footy.

Plenty have gone backwards. Cripps was the driving force last year and taking out a Brownlow medalist and replacing him with whatever this version of Cripps is (mediocre VFL player) has been devastating.

Hewett has been nowhere near his level of last year and Kennedy has been ok but probably mismanaged.

And Walsh is paying for that missed preseason.

That is the engine room and it is pretty horrible reading.

Cerra is the only player that has improved this year. Think about that. Out of 40 players.

I was saying this last night. We’ve increased our number of development coaches to four. 50% (!!!) of our assistant coaches are development-specific and there’s been a distinct lack of development. It’s truly baffling.

put an argument forward.

Saying we can't sack another coach is facile in the extreme....

The argument is that 1) there is no clear replacement. 2) he needs better assistants including a senior assistant with coaching experience.

3) the rule changes to open up the game have worked against us. Our midfield is now too slow, Voss inherited a slow midfield. Cerra was a good acquisition.

4) we’ve tried sacking the coach 4 times. We haven’t tried sticking fat and working out some of the other issues.

5) with every coach we sack it’s harder to attract talented coaches. Why would you want to roll your once chance at a senior coach at Carlton if they’ll sack you at the first sign of trouble?

The argument is that 1) there is no clear replacement. 2) he needs better assistants including a senior assistant with coaching experience.

3) the rule changes to open up the game have worked against us. Our midfield is now too slow, Voss inherited a slow midfield. Cerra was a good acquisition.

4) we’ve tried sacking the coach 4 times. We haven’t tried sticking fat and working out some of the other issues.

5) with every coach we sack it’s harder to attract talented coaches. Why would you want to roll your once chance at a senior coach at Carlton if they’ll sack you at the first sign of trouble?
Regarding point 5 I think many would love the chance to coach Carlton … nothing to lose … think about it every coach we sack has waltzed into an assistant role … so there’s only upside for any incumbent because if he succeeds he’s the saviour of a powerhouse club if he doesn’t he goes back into the system as an assistant …

1. Appoint someone as interim coach for the remainder of 2023 - reckon Pyke would have an exit clause... Voss has shown less than zero that he can take us to a premiership - or anywhere close frankly.
2. Hansen has a terrific pedigree, the others meh.
3. Our midfield is fine when they're getting their hands on the footy. Win the ball, use it well, the 'speed' discussion disappears - Cripps is likely injured or hampered, Voss reluctant to give others (Dow, Kennedy, even Cerra at times) ample time in the guts. Then Walsh struggling. Hewett worse than Walsh.
4. Previous sackings are irrelevant if it has become clear the incumbent is a dud. That is the case sadly.
5. Disagree, potential coaches know the list is laden with talent, whether or not we have a few 'holes'. All teams have a few holes....9 weeks of garbage (really since Rd 1) is well past "the first signs of trouble"....miles past.

All Voss’s mates in the media defending him no matter what. They don’t care how bad it is for Carlton.

I havent jumped on the sack Voss wagon but this is something I have definitely noticed a lot in comparison to other struggling coaches.

The difference between the media's hunt of Teague v Voss is chalk and cheese imo. Voss is actually performing much worse right now.

I've thought we actually played a lot more of an attacking style of play for the last few weeks. Yes they've made mistakes ( a shyte load of them) but thats going to happen when you change a game plan mid season.( I know I'll get some flack for this ) BUt at least it shows that Voss is trying to change things up. The basic skills we are showing are bloody deplorable, if we can correct this with this ne attacking style if play I think we could actually win 5/6 of our remaining games.

i have been thinking this for a few weeks. I honestly think we are 17th best side, and that only because of the dire position WCE are in because of injury. At least they have that excuse.

It hurts to watch the Kangas bloom and the dawks reveal so many good young players while we are in the doldrums. Our young players just aren't up to it it seems... where are our breakthrough young'uns?

Somewhere between SOS's 2016-2019 drafting/trading and Austin's 2020-2022 trades (R1 for Saad and net zero return for Setterfield, SPS and Stocker.) Thankfully Cerra is young enough to justify the spend.

On paper, best list we've had in ages - pity paper isn't where the game is played.

I watched the 2011 Elim the other day - what a time. What a talented team. Sad that's our peak over the last 22 years.

So much to fix at Carlton and so much urgency to do it soon because we've invested capital (picks, list spots) in older players instead of the draft. Delusional.

Voss is a problem, but he ain't the main one. Time for another reset/reprogram/rebuild before Tassie roll in? Or else it'll mean more decades in the wilderness....

Clear all the decks necessary Cook, or we are toast for a long time to come. Coaches, players, administrators - all on the table.

Autopsy 2023 Rd 13 Another loss. Devoid of headline material